Magnificent Marvel Supersale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | March 13, 2015

    Kent Russell: IMG Kent Russell's Playlist for I Am Sorry to Think I Have Raised a Timid Son



    I don't listen to music while I write. Frankly, I don't see how anyone can. Since all style is rhythm, and since I cannot write anything that's as... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$25.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Travel- France
1 Beaverton Travel- Featured Titles
1 Remote Warehouse Travel- France
8 Remote Warehouse Maps- General

Paris Underground: The Maps, Stations, and Design of the Metro

by

Paris Underground: The Maps, Stations, and Design of the Metro Cover

 

Staff Pick

In 1986, during my freshman year of high-school French class, "Madame" put Xeroxed copies of the Paris metro on each of our desks. After conjugating the verb etre, we spent the rest of the period learning how to navigate the Paris metro through its iconic map. Madame asked us the fastest way to travel from the Eiffel Tower to Notre Dame, and then on to Montmartre for a café crème. Once we got the hang of it, it was extremely easy to navigate various routes for wherever we wanted to go with our "Carte Orange." All we needed was a plane ticket and we'd be set!

So, imagine my glee when I spotted Mark Ovenden's newest map book, Paris Underground: The Maps, Stations, and Design of the Metro. Mark Ovenden is a map-geek extraordinaire. Paris Underground has more than 1,000 full-color maps, diagrams, and photographs of its famous subway system, and explains its evolution from the 1900 opening of the first line, to today's modern transit service. This book is utterly delightful and fascinating.
Recommended by Carole R., Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Recommended by The New York Times Book Reviewand#160; ["This handsomely designed volume makes a case for the diagrams...provoking many 'aha moments.'"]

A collection of the most important ideas, theories, and concepts of all time

100 Diagrams That Changed the World is a fascinating collection of the most significant plans, sketches, drawings, and illustrations that have influenced and shaped the way we think about the world. From primitive cave paintings to Leonardo da Vinciand#8217;s Vitruvian Man to the complicated DNA helix drawn by Crick and Watson to the innovation of the iPod, they chart dramatic breakthroughs in our understanding of the world and its history. Arranged chronologically, each diagram is accompanied by informative text that makes even the most scientific breakthrough accessible to all.and#160;

Beautifully illustrated in full color, this book will not only inform but also entertain as it demonstrates how the power of a single drawing can enhance, change, or even revolutionize our understanding of the world. With its iconic images and powerful explanations, 100 Diagrams That Changed the World is perfect for readers of The History of the World in 100 Objects, and is the ideal gift for anyone interested in culture, history, science, or technology.and#160;

and#160;

Synopsis:

In this follow-up to the sensational "Transit Maps of the World," Ovenden now turns his attention to the famous Paris transit system with its inimitable Art Nouveau inspired stations and Art Deco signs.

Synopsis:

A completelyand#160;updated and expanded edition of the cult bestseller, featuring subway, light rail, and streetcar maps from New York to Nizhny Novgorod

and#160;

Transit Maps of the World is the first and only comprehensive collection of historical and current maps of every rapid-transit system on earth. In glorious, colorful graphics, Mark Ovenden traces the cartographic history of mass transitand#151;including rare and historic maps, diagrams, and photographs, some available for the first time since their original publication.and#160;

Now expanded with thirty-sixand#160;more pages, 250and#160;city maps revised from previous editions, and listings given from almost a thousand systems in total, thisand#160;is the graphic designerand#8217;s newand#160;bible, the transport enthusiastand#8217;s dream collection, and a coffee-table essential for everyone whoand#8217;s ever traveled in a city.

Synopsis:

Recommended by The New York Times Book Reviewand#160; ["This handsomely designed volume makes a case for the diagrams...provoking many 'aha moments.'"]

A collection of the most important ideas, theories, and concepts of all time

100 Diagrams That Changed the World is a fascinating collection of the most significant plans, sketches, drawings, and illustrations that have influenced and shaped the way we think about the world. From primitive cave paintings to Leonardo da Vinciand#8217;s Vitruvian Man to the complicated DNA helix drawn by Crick and Watson to the innovation of the iPod, they chart dramatic breakthroughs in our understanding of the world and its history. Arranged chronologically, each diagram is accompanied by informative text that makes even the most scientific breakthrough accessible to all.and#160;

Beautifully illustrated in full color, this book will not only inform but also entertain as it demonstrates how the power of a single drawing can enhance, change, or even revolutionize our understanding of the world. With its iconic images and powerful explanations, 100 Diagrams That Changed the World is perfect for readers of The History of the World in 100 Objects, and is the ideal gift for anyone interested in culture, history, science, or technology.and#160;

and#160;

About the Author

Mark Ovenden is a British writer and broadcaster. He gained entry to a graphic design course by submitting a reworking of the London tube map. After working in journalism and media, he published his first book, Transit Maps of the World.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143116394
Author:
Ovenden, Mark
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Editor:
Pepinster, Julian
Editor:
Lloyd, Peter B.
Author:
Ashworth, Mike
Author:
Pepinster, Julian
Author:
Lloyd, Peter B.
Author:
Christianson, Scott
Subject:
Maps & Road Atlases
Subject:
Public Transportation
Subject:
Europe - France
Subject:
Travel - France
Subject:
Railroads - Pictorial
Subject:
World
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20091031
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
4-color throughout
Pages:
224
Dimensions:
9.5 x 10.88 in 1 lb
Age Level:
17-17

Other books you might like

  1. True Compass: A Memoir
    Used Hardcover $5.95
  2. Lords of the Sea: The Epic Story of... Used Trade Paper $8.50
  3. A Fine Romance: Jewish Songwriters,... Used Hardcover $6.95
  4. The First Tycoon: The Epic Life of... Used Hardcover $12.95
  5. May Day (Art of the Novella) Used Trade Paper $6.00
  6. Under the Dome
    Used Hardcover $7.50

Related Subjects


History and Social Science » Europe » France » Picture Books
Science and Mathematics » Featured Titles in Tech » Computers
Transportation » Automotive » General
Travel » Atlases » General
Travel » Europe » France
Travel » Featured Titles
Travel » Maps » Maps and Road Atlases

Paris Underground: The Maps, Stations, and Design of the Metro New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$25.00 In Stock
Product details 224 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143116394 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

In 1986, during my freshman year of high-school French class, "Madame" put Xeroxed copies of the Paris metro on each of our desks. After conjugating the verb etre, we spent the rest of the period learning how to navigate the Paris metro through its iconic map. Madame asked us the fastest way to travel from the Eiffel Tower to Notre Dame, and then on to Montmartre for a café crème. Once we got the hang of it, it was extremely easy to navigate various routes for wherever we wanted to go with our "Carte Orange." All we needed was a plane ticket and we'd be set!

So, imagine my glee when I spotted Mark Ovenden's newest map book, Paris Underground: The Maps, Stations, and Design of the Metro. Mark Ovenden is a map-geek extraordinaire. Paris Underground has more than 1,000 full-color maps, diagrams, and photographs of its famous subway system, and explains its evolution from the 1900 opening of the first line, to today's modern transit service. This book is utterly delightful and fascinating.

"Synopsis" by , In this follow-up to the sensational "Transit Maps of the World," Ovenden now turns his attention to the famous Paris transit system with its inimitable Art Nouveau inspired stations and Art Deco signs.
"Synopsis" by ,
A completelyand#160;updated and expanded edition of the cult bestseller, featuring subway, light rail, and streetcar maps from New York to Nizhny Novgorod

and#160;

Transit Maps of the World is the first and only comprehensive collection of historical and current maps of every rapid-transit system on earth. In glorious, colorful graphics, Mark Ovenden traces the cartographic history of mass transitand#151;including rare and historic maps, diagrams, and photographs, some available for the first time since their original publication.and#160;

Now expanded with thirty-sixand#160;more pages, 250and#160;city maps revised from previous editions, and listings given from almost a thousand systems in total, thisand#160;is the graphic designerand#8217;s newand#160;bible, the transport enthusiastand#8217;s dream collection, and a coffee-table essential for everyone whoand#8217;s ever traveled in a city.

"Synopsis" by ,
Recommended by The New York Times Book Reviewand#160; ["This handsomely designed volume makes a case for the diagrams...provoking many 'aha moments.'"]

A collection of the most important ideas, theories, and concepts of all time

100 Diagrams That Changed the World is a fascinating collection of the most significant plans, sketches, drawings, and illustrations that have influenced and shaped the way we think about the world. From primitive cave paintings to Leonardo da Vinciand#8217;s Vitruvian Man to the complicated DNA helix drawn by Crick and Watson to the innovation of the iPod, they chart dramatic breakthroughs in our understanding of the world and its history. Arranged chronologically, each diagram is accompanied by informative text that makes even the most scientific breakthrough accessible to all.and#160;

Beautifully illustrated in full color, this book will not only inform but also entertain as it demonstrates how the power of a single drawing can enhance, change, or even revolutionize our understanding of the world. With its iconic images and powerful explanations, 100 Diagrams That Changed the World is perfect for readers of The History of the World in 100 Objects, and is the ideal gift for anyone interested in culture, history, science, or technology.and#160;

and#160;

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.