Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 24, 2014

Jessica Valenti: IMG Full Frontal Feminism Revisited



It is arguably the worst and best time to be a feminist. In the years since I first wrote Full Frontal Feminism, we've seen a huge cultural shift in... Continue »
  1. $11.90 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
12 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z
7 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

Through Black Spruce

by

Through Black Spruce Cover

ISBN13: 9780143116509
ISBN10: 0143116509
All Product Details

 

Awards

2008 Giller Prize Winner

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A haunting novel about identity, love, and loss by the author of Three Day Road

Will Bird is a legendary Cree bush pilot, now lying in a coma in a hospital in his hometown of Moose Factory, Ontario. His niece Annie Bird, beautiful and self-reliant, has returned from her own perilous journey to sit beside his bed. Broken in different ways, the two take silent communion in their unspoken kinship, and the story that unfolds is rife with heartbreak, fierce love, ancient blood feuds, mysterious disappearances, fires, plane crashes, murders, and the bonds that hold a family, and a people, together. As Will and Annie reveal their secretsathe tragic betrayal that cost Will his family, Annieas desperate search for her missing sister, the famous model Suzanneaa remarkable saga of resilience and destiny takes shape. From the dangerous bush country of upper Canada to the drug-fueled glamour of the Manhattan club scene, Joseph Boyden tracks his characters with a keen eye for the telling detail and a rare empathy for the empty places concealed within the heart. Sure to appeal to readers of Louise Erdrich and Jim Harrison, Through Black Spruce establishes Boyden as a writer of startling originality and uncommon power.

Synopsis:

This work from the author of "Three Day Road" finds Will Bird, a legendary Cree bush pilot, lying in a coma. His niece has returned from her own perilous journey to sit beside his bed. Broken in different ways, the two take silent communion in their unspoken kinship.

Synopsis:

A haunting novel of love, identity, and loss-from the internationally acclaimed author of Three Day Road

Beautifully written and startlingly original, Through Black Spruce takes the considerable talents of Canadian novelist Joseph Boyden to new and exciting heights. This is the story of two immensely compelling characters: Will Bird, a legendary Cree bush pilot who lies comatose in a remote Ontario hospital; and Annie Bird, Will's niece, a beautiful loner and trapper who has come to sit beside her uncle's bed. Broken in different ways, the two take silent communion in their unspoken kinship, revealing a story rife with heartbreak, fierce love, ancient feuds, mysterious disappearances, murders, and the bonds that hold a family, and a people, together. From the rugged Canadian wilderness to the drug-fueled glamour of the Manhattan club scene, this is thrilling, atmospheric storytelling at its finest.

About the Author

Joseph Boyden's first novel, Three Day Road, published in eleven languages, was selected for the Today show book club and was a finalist for Canada's Governor General's Award for Fiction.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

Terence Garth, January 19, 2012 (view all comments by Terence Garth)
Boyden is an exceptional storyteller. He writes with a voice that convinces you he is a First Nations writer. Through Black Spruce follows from Boyden's earlier success, Three Day Road. His characters are each lost in their own way, struggling to be found, and to find each other. Intersecting storylines rebound between northern Ontario bush country and the Manhattan modeling and club scene. Boyden's narrative style allows some chapters to stand alone as set pieces, perfected short stories within the novel form. A great read from an astounding writer.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Rami Schandall, January 19, 2012 (view all comments by Rami Schandall)
This was my favourite book I read in 2011. The characters are rich and full, the sense of landscape and the contrasts between a northern life and big city life were so vividly depicted. The writing is confident and full of compassion and humor, humanizing the terrible violence that the plot centers around. Beautiful, insightful depiction of contemporary aboriginal characters.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143116509
Author:
Boyden, Joseph
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Mass Market
Publication Date:
20100231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
8.38x5.50x.79 in. .66 lbs.
Age Level:
17-17

Other books you might like

  1. Three Day Road Used Trade Paper $6.95
  2. The Elegance of the Hedgehog
    Used Trade Paper $8.95
  3. Lark and Termite
    Used Hardcover $7.50
  4. Holidays on Ice
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  5. Mercy
    Used Trade Paper $1.50
  6. Sing Them Home: A Novel
    Used Hardcover $4.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Through Black Spruce New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.00 In Stock
Product details 368 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143116509 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , This work from the author of "Three Day Road" finds Will Bird, a legendary Cree bush pilot, lying in a coma. His niece has returned from her own perilous journey to sit beside his bed. Broken in different ways, the two take silent communion in their unspoken kinship.
"Synopsis" by ,
A haunting novel of love, identity, and loss-from the internationally acclaimed author of Three Day Road

Beautifully written and startlingly original, Through Black Spruce takes the considerable talents of Canadian novelist Joseph Boyden to new and exciting heights. This is the story of two immensely compelling characters: Will Bird, a legendary Cree bush pilot who lies comatose in a remote Ontario hospital; and Annie Bird, Will's niece, a beautiful loner and trapper who has come to sit beside her uncle's bed. Broken in different ways, the two take silent communion in their unspoken kinship, revealing a story rife with heartbreak, fierce love, ancient feuds, mysterious disappearances, murders, and the bonds that hold a family, and a people, together. From the rugged Canadian wilderness to the drug-fueled glamour of the Manhattan club scene, this is thrilling, atmospheric storytelling at its finest.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.