Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 20, 2014

Julie Schumacher: IMG Dear Professor Fitger



Saint Paul, August 2014 Dear Professor Fitger, I've been asked to say a few words about you for Powells.com. Having dreamed you up with a ball-point... Continue »
  1. $16.07 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Dear Committee Members

    Julie Schumacher 9780385538138

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Self Help- General
2 Burnside Self Help- General
25 Local Warehouse Self Help- General
25 Remote Warehouse Self Help- General

The Element: How Finding Your Passion Changes Everything

by

The Element: How Finding Your Passion Changes Everything Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The New York Times bestselling author of The Element gives readers an inspirational and practical guide to self-improvement, happiness, creativity, and personal transformation

Sir Ken Robinson’s TED talk video and groundbreaking book, The Element, introduced readers to a new concept of self-fulfillment through the convergence of natural talents and personal passions. The Element has inspired readers all over the world and has created for Robinson an intensely devoted following. Now comes the long-awaited companion, the practical guide that helps people find their own Element. Among the questions that this new book answers are:

• How do I find out what my talents and passions are?

• What if I love something I’m not good at?

• What if I’m good at something I don’t love?

• What if I can’t make a living from my Element?

• How do I do help my children find their Element?

Finding Your Element comes at a critical time as concerns about the economy, education and the environment continue to grow. The need to connect to our personal talents and passions has never been greater.  As Robinson writes in his introduction, wherever you are, whatever you do, and no matter how old you are, if you’re searching for your Element, this book is for you.

Review:

"This holistic view of human potential, educational reform, and self-realization is illustrated with stories of famous and everyday people who overcame obstacles to discover their Element." Library Journal

Review:

"After the first page, you have to abandon your ego and look for your own gifts and graces." Warren Bennis, author of On Becoming a Leader: The Leadership Classic

Review:

"A brilliant and compelling look at creativity, and the path to succeed in the global world of tomorrow." Harry Lodge, co-author of Younger Next Year

Synopsis:

Robinson presents the theme of creativity and innovation in away that makes you want to go out and make your dreams a reality... "[The Element] is a book that lightens and lifts the minds and hearts of all who read it." Susan Jeffers, Ph.D.

Synopsis:

Raise the bar to become the best version of you—and have fun doing it

As a cognitive neuroscientist, anthropologist, and entrepreneur, Bob Deutsch has spent a lifetime studying people. What he has found is that most of us set the bar too low in our lives, both personally and professionally. We choose not to pursue our greatest ambitions because we feel we are incapable of reaching them. But he has also found that we are each born with the fundamental abilities to live the full, creative, dynamic life we dream about.

These are our five inner resources: Curiosity, Openness, Sensuality, Paradox, and Self-Story. In this compelling book, Deutsch shows us how to access and use them to open our lives to unimagined possibilities. Filled with great stories and interviews with inspiring people, including Wynton Marsalis, Richard Feynman, and Anna Quindlen, The 5 Essentials will appeal to readers of The Element and The Tools. It opens the door to a way of being more alive than you have ever been.

Synopsis:

The New York Times bestselling author of The Element gives readers an inspirational and practical guide to self-improvement, happiness, creativity, and personal transformation

Sir Ken Robinson’s TED talk video and groundbreaking book, The Element, introduced readers to a new concept of self-fulfillment through the convergence of natural talents and personal passions. The Element has inspired readers all over the world and has created for Robinson an intensely devoted following. Now comes the long-awaited companion, the practical guide that helps people find their own Element. Among the questions that this new book answers are:

• How do I find out what my talents and passions are?

• What if I love something I’m not good at?

• What if I’m good at something I don’t love?

• What if I can’t make a living from my Element?

• How do I do help my children find their Element?

Finding Your Element comes at a critical time as concerns about the economy, education and the environment continue to grow. The need to connect to our personal talents and passions has never been greater.  As Robinson writes in his introduction, wherever you are, whatever you do, and no matter how old you are, if you’re searching for your Element, this book is for you.

About the Author

Dr. Ken Robinson is a leading force in the development of creativity and human resources and an internationally recognized expert. In 2000, he was voted Business Speaker of the Year by over 200 European companies.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143116738
Author:
Robinson, Ken
Publisher:
Penguin Books
With:
Aronica, Lou
Author:
Robinson, Ph. D.
Author:
Aronica, Lou
Author:
Robinson, Ph.D., Ken
Author:
Deutsch, Bob
Author:
Robinson, Ken, Ph. D.
Subject:
Personal Growth - General
Subject:
Self-Help : General
Subject:
Success
Subject:
Creativity
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20091231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
b/w photos throughout
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1 lb
Age Level:
17-17

Other books you might like

  1. Free Play: Improvisation in Life and Art
    Used Trade Paper $9.50
  2. Play: How It Shapes the Brain, Opens... New Trade Paper $17.00
  3. In Defense of Childhood: Protecting... New Trade Paper $15.25
  4. A Whole New Mind: Why Right-Brainers...
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  5. The Other Side
    New Hardcover $16.99

Related Subjects


Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » Creativity
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » General

The Element: How Finding Your Passion Changes Everything New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.00 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143116738 Reviews:
"Review" by , "This holistic view of human potential, educational reform, and self-realization is illustrated with stories of famous and everyday people who overcame obstacles to discover their Element."
"Review" by , "After the first page, you have to abandon your ego and look for your own gifts and graces."
"Review" by , "A brilliant and compelling look at creativity, and the path to succeed in the global world of tomorrow."
"Synopsis" by , Robinson presents the theme of creativity and innovation in away that makes you want to go out and make your dreams a reality... "[The Element] is a book that lightens and lifts the minds and hearts of all who read it." Susan Jeffers, Ph.D.
"Synopsis" by ,
Raise the bar to become the best version of you—and have fun doing it

As a cognitive neuroscientist, anthropologist, and entrepreneur, Bob Deutsch has spent a lifetime studying people. What he has found is that most of us set the bar too low in our lives, both personally and professionally. We choose not to pursue our greatest ambitions because we feel we are incapable of reaching them. But he has also found that we are each born with the fundamental abilities to live the full, creative, dynamic life we dream about.

These are our five inner resources: Curiosity, Openness, Sensuality, Paradox, and Self-Story. In this compelling book, Deutsch shows us how to access and use them to open our lives to unimagined possibilities. Filled with great stories and interviews with inspiring people, including Wynton Marsalis, Richard Feynman, and Anna Quindlen, The 5 Essentials will appeal to readers of The Element and The Tools. It opens the door to a way of being more alive than you have ever been.

"Synopsis" by ,
The New York Times bestselling author of The Element gives readers an inspirational and practical guide to self-improvement, happiness, creativity, and personal transformation

Sir Ken Robinson’s TED talk video and groundbreaking book, The Element, introduced readers to a new concept of self-fulfillment through the convergence of natural talents and personal passions. The Element has inspired readers all over the world and has created for Robinson an intensely devoted following. Now comes the long-awaited companion, the practical guide that helps people find their own Element. Among the questions that this new book answers are:

• How do I find out what my talents and passions are?

• What if I love something I’m not good at?

• What if I’m good at something I don’t love?

• What if I can’t make a living from my Element?

• How do I do help my children find their Element?

Finding Your Element comes at a critical time as concerns about the economy, education and the environment continue to grow. The need to connect to our personal talents and passions has never been greater.  As Robinson writes in his introduction, wherever you are, whatever you do, and no matter how old you are, if you’re searching for your Element, this book is for you.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.