Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | December 1, 2014

    Edward O. Wilson: IMG Edward O. Wilson: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$15.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Mystery- A to Z
25 Local Warehouse Mystery- A to Z
25 Remote Warehouse Mystery- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

Hell Is Empty (Walt Longmire Mysteries)

by

Hell Is Empty (Walt Longmire Mysteries) Cover

ISBN13: 9780143120988
ISBN10: 0143120980
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Walt faces an icy hell in this New York Times bestseller from the author of The Cold Dish and As the Crow Flies, the seventh novel in the Walt Longmire Mystery Series, the basis for LONGMIRE, the hit A&E original drama series.

Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love this seventh novel from Craig Johnson, the New York Times bestselling author of The Cold Dish and As the Crow Flies. Well-read and world-weary, Sheriff Walt Longmire has been maintaining order in Wyoming's Absaroka County for more than thirty years, but in this riveting seventh outing, he is pushed to his limits.

Raynaud Shade, an adopted Crow Indian rumored to be one of the country's most dangerous sociopaths, has just confessed to murdering a boy ten years ago and burying him deep within the Bighorn Mountains. Walt is asked to transport Shade through a blizzard to the site, but what begins as a typical criminal transport turns personal when the veteran lawman learns that he knows the dead boy's family. Guided only by Indian mysticism and a battered paperback of Dante's Inferno, Walt braves the icy hell of the Cloud Peak Wilderness Area, cheating death to ensure that justice — both civil and spiritual — is served.

The Walt Longmire mystery series is the basis for Longmire, the hit original drama series from A&E.

Review:

“With Hell is Empty, Craig Johnson delivers an action-packed Western thriller, rife with evocative setting and literary allusion. This seventh novel featuring wise-cracking Sheriff Walt Longmire creeps stealthily out of the corral with an increasingly tense setup.” The Boston Globe

Review:

“Series fans and readers who enjoy C.J. Box and other authors of Western mysteries will be enthralled by this electrifying and intense work; a triumph.” Library Journal (starred review)

Review:

“Stellar….When [Raynaud] Shade, who’s headed for death row in Utah, escapes and takes off into the wilderness with a blizzard threatening, Walt sets off alone on the killer’s trail…Soon Walt is past the point of no return as the snow and ice accumulate on a journey that evokes Dante’s Inferno.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Review:

“For Wyoming Sheriff Walt Longmire, the pursuit of a vicious murderer through a killer ice storm in the Bighorn Moutnains adds up to a cold day in hell….Deft as always.” Kirkus Reviews

Review:

“A muscular story of guns and grit, man against man and man against nature…the characters’ ascent is indeed hellish, pulling them deeper into a hypothermic fever dream where the line between the living and the dead blurs.” ShelfAwareness.com

About the Author

Craig Johnson has a background in law enforcement and education. He lives in Ucross, Wyoming, population 25.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

sharrona, October 11, 2012 (view all comments by sharrona)
The landscape often plays an important role in these stories, especially here. This 7th Longmire book was suspenseful and thought-provoking, but I missed the camaraderie, conflict, and humor among the supporting characters, especially Vic Moretti and Henry Standing Bear. Just my personal preference to follow along with the whole ensemble, but the entire series is excellent and I wouldn't miss a single volume. I wouldn't, however, recommend this as a starting point for anyone just sampling the series!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143120988
Author:
Johnson, Craig
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
20120431
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
26.75 x 14 x 6.25 in 9.7 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Deadlocked (Sookie Stackhouse Novels)
    Used Hardcover $8.50

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » New Arrivals
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

Hell Is Empty (Walt Longmire Mysteries) New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$15.00 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143120988 Reviews:
"Review" by , “With Hell is Empty, Craig Johnson delivers an action-packed Western thriller, rife with evocative setting and literary allusion. This seventh novel featuring wise-cracking Sheriff Walt Longmire creeps stealthily out of the corral with an increasingly tense setup.”
"Review" by , “Series fans and readers who enjoy C.J. Box and other authors of Western mysteries will be enthralled by this electrifying and intense work; a triumph.”
"Review" by , “Stellar….When [Raynaud] Shade, who’s headed for death row in Utah, escapes and takes off into the wilderness with a blizzard threatening, Walt sets off alone on the killer’s trail…Soon Walt is past the point of no return as the snow and ice accumulate on a journey that evokes Dante’s Inferno.”
"Review" by , “For Wyoming Sheriff Walt Longmire, the pursuit of a vicious murderer through a killer ice storm in the Bighorn Moutnains adds up to a cold day in hell….Deft as always.”
"Review" by , “A muscular story of guns and grit, man against man and man against nature…the characters’ ascent is indeed hellish, pulling them deeper into a hypothermic fever dream where the line between the living and the dead blurs.”
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.