Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 22, 2014

Nick Harkaway: IMG The Florist-Assassins



The three men lit up in my mind's eye, with footnotes. They were converging on me — and on the object I was carrying — in a way that had... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Tigerman

    Nick Harkaway 9780385352413

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$12.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside - Bldg. 2 Nature Studies- General

Remarkable Creatures: Epic Adventures in the Search for the Origins of Species

by

Remarkable Creatures: Epic Adventures in the Search for the Origins of Species Cover

ISBN13: 9780151014859
ISBN10: 015101485x
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $12.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

An award-winning biologist takes us on the dramatic expeditions that unearthed the history of life on our planet.

**  National Book Award Finalist **

Just 150 years ago, most of our world was an unexplored wilderness. Our sense of its age was vague and vastly off the mark, and much of the knowledge of our own species history was a set of fantastic myths and fairy tales. In the tradition of The Microbe Hunters and Gods, Graves, and Scholars, Sean Carroll leads a rousing voyage that recounts the most important discoveries in two centuries of natural history: from Darwins trip around the world to Charles Walcotts discovery of pre-Cambrian life in the Grand Canyon; from Louis and Mary Leakeys investigation of our deepest past in East Africa to the trailblazers in modern laboratories who have located a time clock in our DNA.

Review:

"It's unclear whether the title refers to the daring naturalist/explorers Carroll depicts or the creatures whose remains they found. In this thoroughly enjoyable book, Carroll (Endless Forms Most Beautiful), a molecular biologist at the University of Wisconsin, provides vignettes of some of the fascinating people who have made the most significant discoveries in evolutionary biology. He starts with some of the experiences and insights of great explorers like Alexander von Humboldt, Charles Darwin, Alfred Russel Wallace and Henry Walter Bates, then turns his attention to paleontologists who searched for the fossil evidence to support the new theory of evolution. Among them are Eugne Dubois's discovery of Java Man; Charles Walcott's discovery of the Burgess Shale and the evidence it provided for the Cambrian explosion; and Neil Shubin's recent discovery in arctic Canada of Tiktaalik, the intermediary 'between water- and land-dwelling vertebrates.' Carroll closes with studies of human evolution, from Louis and Mary Leakey to the advances of Linus Pauling and Allan Wilson, which indicated that Neanderthals were cousins of Homo sapiens rather than direct ancestors. While there's little that's new here, Carroll does weave an arresting tapestry of evolutionary advancement. Photos, maps." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

An award-wining biologist explores the dramatic expeditions that unearthed the history of life on Earth--from the epic journeys of pioneering naturalists to the breakthroughs making headlines today.

Synopsis:

An award-wining biologist takes us on the dramatic expeditions that unearthed the history of life on our planet.

Just 150 years ago,most of our world was an unexplored wilderness.Our sense of how old it was? Vague and vastly off the mark. And our sense of our own species history? A set of fantastic myths and fairy tales. Fossils had been known for millennia, but they were seen as the bones of dragons and other imagined creatures.

In the tradition of The Microbe Hunters and Gods, Graves, and Scholars, Sean Carrolls Remarkable Creatures celebrates the pioneers who replaced our fancies with the even more amazing true story of how our world evolved.

Carroll recounts the most important discoveries in two centuries of national history — from Darwins trip around the world to CharlesWalcotts discovery of pre-Cambrian life in the Grand Canyon; from Louis and Mary Leakeys investigation of our deepest past in East Africa to the trailblazers in modern laboratories who have located a time clock in our DNA. Join him in a rousing voyage of discovery, from the epic journeys of pioneering naturalists to the breakthroughs making headlines today.

About the Author

SEAN B. CARROLL is professor of molecular biology and genetics and an investigator with the Howard Hughes Medical Institute at the University of Wisconsin. He is the author of The Making of the Fittest and Endless Forms Most Beautiful: The New Science of Evo Devo, a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize and a best science book of the year in Discover magazine and USA Today.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Denise Morland, March 22, 2009 (view all comments by Denise Morland)
In Remarkable Creatures Sean Carroll takes you on a ride through the history of biology and the development of the theory of evolution. He uses the stories of many fascinating and intrepid explorers to guide us all the way from the discovery of many new species all the way through paleontology to DNA mapping. The book includes a lot of heavy-duty science with very complete descriptions of how the theory of evolution developed and the fossil records that helped support it. Interspersed are the stories of the many explorers and scientists who often risked everything to find the answers to some of the most compelling questions in biological studies. Carroll shares with us their triumphs, but also their romances, family lives, and struggles, showing us the whole picture.

I really enjoyed this book! I learned a lot about biology and especially about paleontology. I loved hearing about the wives and families that often played key roles in discovering important fossils.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780151014859
Subtitle:
Epic Adventures in the Search for the Origins of Species
Author:
Carroll, Sean
Author:
Carroll, Sean B.
Publisher:
Mariner Books
Subject:
History
Subject:
Evolution (Biology)
Subject:
General
Subject:
Life Sciences - Evolution
Subject:
Expeditions & Discoveries
Subject:
Evolution (Biology) -- History.
Subject:
Naturalists - Travel - History
Subject:
History of Science-General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Publication Date:
20091203
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
74 halftones
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1.15 lb

Other books you might like

  1. The Archimedes Codex: How a Medieval...
    Used Trade Paper $8.95
  2. Darwin's Sacred Cause: How a Hatred... Used Hardcover $6.95
  3. The Age of Wonder: How the Romantic...
    Used Trade Paper $10.00
  4. Green Metropolis: Why Living... Used Hardcover $7.95
  5. Hope for Animals and Their World:... Sale Trade Paper $7.98
  6. Bringing It to the Table: On Farming... Sale Trade Paper $7.98

Related Subjects


History and Social Science » World History » General
Science and Mathematics » Biology » Evolution
Science and Mathematics » Biology » General
Science and Mathematics » History of Science » General
Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » General

Remarkable Creatures: Epic Adventures in the Search for the Origins of Species Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$12.50 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (HMH) - English 9780151014859 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "It's unclear whether the title refers to the daring naturalist/explorers Carroll depicts or the creatures whose remains they found. In this thoroughly enjoyable book, Carroll (Endless Forms Most Beautiful), a molecular biologist at the University of Wisconsin, provides vignettes of some of the fascinating people who have made the most significant discoveries in evolutionary biology. He starts with some of the experiences and insights of great explorers like Alexander von Humboldt, Charles Darwin, Alfred Russel Wallace and Henry Walter Bates, then turns his attention to paleontologists who searched for the fossil evidence to support the new theory of evolution. Among them are Eugne Dubois's discovery of Java Man; Charles Walcott's discovery of the Burgess Shale and the evidence it provided for the Cambrian explosion; and Neil Shubin's recent discovery in arctic Canada of Tiktaalik, the intermediary 'between water- and land-dwelling vertebrates.' Carroll closes with studies of human evolution, from Louis and Mary Leakey to the advances of Linus Pauling and Allan Wilson, which indicated that Neanderthals were cousins of Homo sapiens rather than direct ancestors. While there's little that's new here, Carroll does weave an arresting tapestry of evolutionary advancement. Photos, maps." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , An award-wining biologist explores the dramatic expeditions that unearthed the history of life on Earth--from the epic journeys of pioneering naturalists to the breakthroughs making headlines today.
"Synopsis" by ,
An award-wining biologist takes us on the dramatic expeditions that unearthed the history of life on our planet.

Just 150 years ago,most of our world was an unexplored wilderness.Our sense of how old it was? Vague and vastly off the mark. And our sense of our own species history? A set of fantastic myths and fairy tales. Fossils had been known for millennia, but they were seen as the bones of dragons and other imagined creatures.

In the tradition of The Microbe Hunters and Gods, Graves, and Scholars, Sean Carrolls Remarkable Creatures celebrates the pioneers who replaced our fancies with the even more amazing true story of how our world evolved.

Carroll recounts the most important discoveries in two centuries of national history — from Darwins trip around the world to CharlesWalcotts discovery of pre-Cambrian life in the Grand Canyon; from Louis and Mary Leakeys investigation of our deepest past in East Africa to the trailblazers in modern laboratories who have located a time clock in our DNA. Join him in a rousing voyage of discovery, from the epic journeys of pioneering naturalists to the breakthroughs making headlines today.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.