Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | June 18, 2014

Daniel H. Wilson: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Daniel H. Wilson



Like many writers, I'm constantly haunting coffee shops with a laptop out and my headphones on. I listen to a lot of music while I write, and songs... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
List price: $8.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
4 Beaverton Children's- Science Fiction and Fantasy
4 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General

This title in other editions

East

by

East Cover

ISBN13: 9780152052218
ISBN10: 0152052216
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Rose has always felt out of place in her family, a wanderer in a bunch of homebodies. So when an enormous white bear mysteriously shows up and asks her to come away with him — in exchange for health and prosperity for her ailing family — she readily agrees. The bear takes Rose to a distant castle, where each night she is confronted with a mystery. In solving that mystery, she loses her heart, discovers her purpose, and realizes her travels have only just begun.

As familiar and moving as Beauty and the Beast and yet as fresh and original as only the best fantasy can be, East is a novel retelling of the classic tale "East of the Sun, West of the Moon," a sweeping romantic epic in the tradition of Robin McKinley and Gail Carson Levine.

Review:

"[A] rich tapestry that will resonate with readers of books such as Robin McKinley's renderings of Beauty and the Beast....[T]he stuff of epic tale telling, replete with high drama and compelling characterizations." Booklist (Starred Review)

Review:

"Pattou's writing pitches readers gracefully between myth and fantasy, inviting those unaccustomed to either genre to explore the frozen world of questing that she has so vividly created." School Library Journal

Review:

"Readers with a taste for fantasy and folklore will embrace Pattou's lushly rendered retelling....Handsomely evoking a landscape filled with castles, trolls, shamans and spellbound princes, the story will exercise its audience's imagination." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"Rose is a sturdy character inside and out...and the pace does pick up in the second half — but only fitfully does this achieve the intensity of feeling or vividness of setting that drives the best of the recent flurry of retold romances." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"The story itself is gripping, endlessly so....Pattou certainly has made a successful fantasy out of a simple fairy tale: each character has a fleshed-out personality and the details of such work as map making and sailing ships among the icebergs come to life as she describes them." KLIATT

Review:

"Related in the alternating point of views of Rose, her father and brother, the Troll Queen, and white bear, this fantasy adventure deserves kudos for creating memorable characters, and soaring beyond the traditional fairy tale." Children's Literature

Synopsis:

A young woman goes to the ends of the earth — and beyond — to rescue the man she loves in this sweeping epic that was named an ALA Notable Book and School Library Journal Best Book of the Year. Includes a reader's guide and author interview.

About the Author

Edith Pattou is the author of two novels to date in the Songs of Eirren series: Hero's Song and Fire Arrow, a Booklist Top Ten Fantasy Novel of the Year, as well as Mrs. Spitzer's Garden, a picture book illustrated by Tricia Tusa. She lives in Columbus, Ohio.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 6 comments:

Zoe Mark, March 30, 2014 (view all comments by Zoe Mark)
This book was recommended to me by a teacher who said that he thought we might like it. I found this book to be very interesting and the whole time I was curious about where the story was going to go. I liked the way the story was told from multiple perspectives, it added context. Rose is the eighth child and she was born to replace her older sister who had died. Rose had always dreamed as a child of an imaginary white bear who she would go on journeys with. When the white bear shows up at her house and asks for her to come with him, she has to make a very hard choice. This book takes place in Norway and incorporates Nordic folklore. Although there were times that were slow, I was curious to find out what Rose would do the whole time. I recommend this book to anyone who is interested in folklore with a modern twist.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
bluedolphin_dancer1, November 12, 2013 (view all comments by bluedolphin_dancer1)
This book is beautifully written, and suitable for all ages. I read it for the first time when I was 8, and am still revisiting it over 6 years later. Edith Pattou weaves an intricate storyline through detailed descriptions of various settings. A story of travel, love, beauty and fantasy, she brings her characters to life in the most extraordinary ways. From the conflicted family she grows up with, from the bear who takes her into a life of wonder. The mother and daughter in the French countryside who show her what her life could have been like, and the gruff, drunk sailer who finds it in his heart to help her. And finally, the climax of the story-I promise it won't disappoint! A wonderful and descriptive book, it will captivate readers of all ages! A great read-aloud book for parents with children around the age of ten.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Cioccolata16, November 16, 2009 (view all comments by Cioccolata16)
Having grown up on the picture-book version of this fairy tale, reading the more complex and mature story that Pattou presents was thoroughly enjoyable. The format of the narrative novel is captivating and it is hard to put the book down once you get pulled in.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 6 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780152052218
Author:
Pattou, Edith
Publisher:
Harcourt Brace and Company
Subject:
Family - General
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Children's 12-Up - Fiction - General
Subject:
Children's 12-Up - Fiction - Fantasy
Subject:
Fairy Tales & Folklore - Single Title
Subject:
Love & Romance
Subject:
Legends, Myths, & Fables - Norse
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Subject:
General-General
Subject:
Children s-General
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st paperback ed.
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
May 1, 2005
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 7 to 12
Language:
English
Pages:
528
Dimensions:
8 x 5.31 x 1.19 in 1.03 lb
Age Level:
12-17

Other books you might like

  1. A Northern Light
    Used Trade Paper $2.25
  2. The Golem's Eye: The Bartimaeus... Used Hardcover $4.50
  3. The Tale of Despereaux
    Used Book Club Paperback $3.50
  4. The City of Ember
    Used Trade Paper $2.95
  5. The Sea of Trolls
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  6. Hero's Song: The First Song of Eirren Used Trade Paper $5.50

Related Subjects

Children's » Concepts » General
Children's » Featured Titles
Children's » General
Children's » Sale Books
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Young Adult » General

East Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details 528 pages Magic Carpet Books - English 9780152052218 Reviews:
"Review" by , "[A] rich tapestry that will resonate with readers of books such as Robin McKinley's renderings of Beauty and the Beast....[T]he stuff of epic tale telling, replete with high drama and compelling characterizations."
"Review" by , "Pattou's writing pitches readers gracefully between myth and fantasy, inviting those unaccustomed to either genre to explore the frozen world of questing that she has so vividly created."
"Review" by , "Readers with a taste for fantasy and folklore will embrace Pattou's lushly rendered retelling....Handsomely evoking a landscape filled with castles, trolls, shamans and spellbound princes, the story will exercise its audience's imagination."
"Review" by , "Rose is a sturdy character inside and out...and the pace does pick up in the second half — but only fitfully does this achieve the intensity of feeling or vividness of setting that drives the best of the recent flurry of retold romances."
"Review" by , "The story itself is gripping, endlessly so....Pattou certainly has made a successful fantasy out of a simple fairy tale: each character has a fleshed-out personality and the details of such work as map making and sailing ships among the icebergs come to life as she describes them."
"Review" by , "Related in the alternating point of views of Rose, her father and brother, the Troll Queen, and white bear, this fantasy adventure deserves kudos for creating memorable characters, and soaring beyond the traditional fairy tale."
"Synopsis" by , A young woman goes to the ends of the earth — and beyond — to rescue the man she loves in this sweeping epic that was named an ALA Notable Book and School Library Journal Best Book of the Year. Includes a reader's guide and author interview.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.