Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 8, 2014

Peter Mendelsund: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Water Music by Peter Mendelsund



We "see" when we read, and we "see" when we listen. There are many ways in which music can create the cross-sensory experience of this seeing...... Continue »
  1. $11.87 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Children's- Poetry Collections
1 Hawthorne Children's- Poetry

This title in other editions

The Oxford Book of Children's Verse in America

by

The Oxford Book of Children's Verse in America Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Compiled by the award-winning poet and author of children's books, Donald Hall, this delightful anthology follows in the tradition of Iona and Peter Opie's classic Oxford Book of Children's Verse. Hall brings together poems written specifically for children and also those written for anyone and enjoyed by children and adults alike. He presents over two hundred fifty poems written by over one hundred different American poets--including anonymous works, ballads, and recitation pieces--that range from the Calvinist verses of the seventeenth century to the fabulous nonsense poems of the present.

Drawing on literally thousands of sources--including Sunday School magazines, Christmas annuals for children, and such wonderful children's periodicals as St. Nicholas and Youth's Companion--Hall gives the modern reader a rich sampling of many poems never before anthologized. He includes everyone's favorites, from Clement Clarke Moore's "A Visit from St. Nicholas" (a.k.a. "The Night Before Christmas") to the classic lines of Longfellow and Whittier. Along with Sarah Josepha Hale's famous poem, "Mary's Lamb," we find poetry by Emily Dickinson, Mary Mapes Dodge, Palmer Cox, Sarah Orne Jewett, Laura E. Richards, and Gelett Burgess. He also covers the twentieth-century with verse by T.S. Eliot, Edna St. Vincent Millay, Langston Hughes, Ogden Nash, Dr. Seuss (Theodore Geisel), and Randall Jarrell, just to name a few. Hall concludes with the poetry of present-day writers such as Shel Silverstein and Nancy Willard.

A testament to a captivating tradition in American literature, this anthology will encourage many hours of nostalgic browsing and reading aloud to children.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Iona and Peter Opie's Oxford Book of Children's Verse comes this anthology by the award-winning poet and children's book author Donald Hall. Bringing together "poems written for children and also poems written for anybody which children have enjoyed," the book includes anonymous works, ballads, and recitation pieces, beginning with the Calvinist verses of the seventeenth century.

Hall has collected poems from Sunday School magazines, Christmas annuals for children, and children's periodicals such as St. Nicholas and Youth's Companion. Many marvelous writers, some no longer remembered, wrote almost every month for these nineteenth and twentieth century publications. In addition to the expected names of Longfellow and Whittier, we find Sarah Josepha Hale ("Mary Had a Little Lamb"), Mary Mapes Dodge (creator of Hans Brinker), and Palmer Cox (with his marvelous Brownies). Twentieth century authors abound: Ogden Nash, T.S. Eliot, John Updike, Theodore Roethke, to name just a few. The book concludes with the fabulous nonsense of present-day writers like Shel Silverstein and Nancy Willard.

About the Editor:

Donald Hall's many books include The Oxford Book of American Literary Anecdotes, Kicking the Leaves, and Ox-Cart Man, which won the Caldecott Medal for children's literature.

Synopsis:

A collection of American poems written for children or traditionally enjoyed by children, by such authors as Longfellow, Poe, Eugene Field, Langston Hughes, Dr. Seuss, and Jack Prelutsky.

About the Author

Donald Hall is the author of many books, including The Oxford Book of American Literary Anecdotes, Kicking the Leaves, The Man Who Lived Alone, Ox-Cart Man, Anecdotes of Modern Art (co-written with Pat Corrington Wykes), and the forthcoming Old and New Poems.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780195035391
Editor:
Hall, Donald
Publisher:
Oxford University Press, USA
Editor:
Hall, Donald
Author:
Hall, Donald
Location:
New York :
Subject:
General
Subject:
Anthologies (multiple authors)
Subject:
American poetry
Subject:
Children's poetry, American
Subject:
Poetry : General
Subject:
Literature/English | Poetry | Anthologies
Subject:
American poetry (collections)
Subject:
Children's poetry
Copyright:
Series:
Oxford Books of Verse
Series Volume:
no. 2
Publication Date:
19850431
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
4 line illus.
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
8.73x5.84x1.31 in. 1.29 lbs.
Age Level:
09-12

Other books you might like

  1. Brown Angels: An Album of Pictures... New Trade Paper $7.99
  2. Monster Goose Used Trade Paper $4.50
  3. The 20th Century Children's Poetry... Used Hardcover $7.50
  4. The Dog from Arf! Arf! to Zzzzzz Used Hardcover $6.50
  5. A Child's Introduction to Poetry:...
    Used Hardcover $8.95
  6. The Mona Lisa Caper Used Hardcover $7.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Poetry » Collections
Children's » Poetry » General
History and Social Science » Politics » General
History and Social Science » World History » General

The Oxford Book of Children's Verse in America Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.50 In Stock
Product details 368 pages Oxford University Press - English 9780195035391 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Iona and Peter Opie's Oxford Book of Children's Verse comes this anthology by the award-winning poet and children's book author Donald Hall. Bringing together "poems written for children and also poems written for anybody which children have enjoyed," the book includes anonymous works, ballads, and recitation pieces, beginning with the Calvinist verses of the seventeenth century.

Hall has collected poems from Sunday School magazines, Christmas annuals for children, and children's periodicals such as St. Nicholas and Youth's Companion. Many marvelous writers, some no longer remembered, wrote almost every month for these nineteenth and twentieth century publications. In addition to the expected names of Longfellow and Whittier, we find Sarah Josepha Hale ("Mary Had a Little Lamb"), Mary Mapes Dodge (creator of Hans Brinker), and Palmer Cox (with his marvelous Brownies). Twentieth century authors abound: Ogden Nash, T.S. Eliot, John Updike, Theodore Roethke, to name just a few. The book concludes with the fabulous nonsense of present-day writers like Shel Silverstein and Nancy Willard.

About the Editor:

Donald Hall's many books include The Oxford Book of American Literary Anecdotes, Kicking the Leaves, and Ox-Cart Man, which won the Caldecott Medal for children's literature.

"Synopsis" by , A collection of American poems written for children or traditionally enjoyed by children, by such authors as Longfellow, Poe, Eugene Field, Langston Hughes, Dr. Seuss, and Jack Prelutsky.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.