Mega Dose
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse SF- FILM/TV/MEDI

Slayer Slang: A Buffy the Vampire Slayer Lexicon

by

Slayer Slang: A Buffy the Vampire Slayer Lexicon Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In its seven years on television, Buffy the Vampire Slayer has earned critical acclaim and a massive cult following among teen viewers. One of the most distinguishing features of the program is the innovative way the show's writers play with language: fabricating new words, morphing existing ones, and throwing usage on its head. The result has been a strikingly resonant lexicon that reflects the power of both youth culture and television in the evolution of American slang. Using the show to illustrate how new slang is formed, transformed, and transmitted, Slayer Slang is one of those rare books that combines a serious explanation of a pop culture phenomena with an engrossing read for fans of the show, word geeks, and language professionals. Michael Adams begins his book with a synopsis of the program's history and a defense of ephemeral language. He then moves to the main body of the work: a detailed glossary of slayer slang, annotated with actual dialogue and recorded the style accepted by the American Dialect Society. The book concludes with a bibliography and a lengthy index, a guide to sources (novels based on the show, magazine articles about the show, and language culled from the official posting board) and an appendix of slang-making suffixes. Introduced by Jane Espenson, one of the show's most inventive writers (and herself a linguist), Slayer Slang offers a quintessential example of contemporary youth culture serving as a vehicle for slang.

In the tradition of The Physics of Star Trek, Slayer Slang is one of those rare books that offers a serious examination a TV cult phenomenon appealing to fans and thinkers alike.

A few examples from the Slayer Slang glossary:

bitca n [AHD4 bitch n in sense 2.a + a] Bitch 1997 Sep 15 Whedon When She Was Bad "[Willow:] 'I mean, why else would she be acting like such a b-i-t-c-h?' [Giles:] 'Willow, I think we're all a little old to be spelling things out.' [Xander:] 'A bitca?'"

break and enterish adj [AHD4 sv breaking and entering n + -ish suff in sense 2.a] Suitable for crime 1999 Mar 16 Petrie Enemies "I'll go home and stock up on weapons, slip into something a little more break and enterish." [B]

carbon-dated adj [fr. AHD4 carbondating + -ed] Very out of date 1997 Mar 10 Whedon Welcome to the Hellmouth "[Buffy:] 'Deal with that outfit for a moment.' [Giles:] 'It's dated?' [Buffy:] 'It's carbon-dated.'"

cuddle-monkey n [AHD4 cuddle v + monkey n in sense 2, by analogy fr. RHHDAS (also DAS3 and NTC) sv cuddle bunny 'an affectionate, passionate, or sexually attractive young woman'] Male lover 1998 Feb 10 Noxon Bewitched, Bothered, and Bewildered "Every woman in Sunnydale wants to make me her cuddle-monkey." [X]

Book News Annotation:

An authoritative lexicon, with examples, to the popular program Buffy the Dragon Slayer, whose heroine twisted popular language into snappy, idiosyncratic forms and created new words out of old ones. Nearly the first half of the volume is devoted to analysis of the creation and microhistory of the series' language, as well as the fleeting nature of slang. Annotation (c)2003 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Synopsis:

In its seven years on television, "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" has earned acclaim and a cult following among teen viewers. Using the show to illustrate how new slang is formed and transmitted, "Slayer Slang" is one of those rare books that combines a serious explanation of a pop culture phenomena with an engrossing read for fans of the show.

Synopsis:

In its seven years on television, Buffy the Vampire Slayer earned critical acclaim and a massive cult following among teen viewers. One of the most distinguishing features of the show is the innovative way its writers play with language--fabricating new words, morphing existing ones, and throwing usage on its head. The result has been a strikingly resonant lexicon that reflects the power of both youth culture and television in the evolution of American slang. Using the show to illustrate how new slang is formed, transformed, and transmitted, Slayer Slang is one of those rare books that combines a serious explanation of a pop culture phenomenon with an engrossing read for Buffy fans, language mavens, and pop culture critics. Noted linguist Michael Adams offers a synopsis of the program's history, an essay on the nature and evolution of the show's language, and a detailed glossary of slayer slang, annotated with actual dialogue. Introduced by Jane Espenson, one of the show's most inventive writers (and herself a linguist), Slayer Slang offers a quintessential example of contemporary youth culture serving as a vehicle for slang.

About the Author

Michael Adams is Professor of English, Albright College, Reading, Pennsylvania and the editor of Dictionaries: The Journal of the Dictionary Society of North America.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780195160338
Subtitle:
A Buffy the Vampire Slayer Lexicon
Introduction:
Slayer, Vampire
Introduction:
Espenson, Jane
Author:
Adams, Michael
Author:
null, Michael
Foreword:
Espenson, Jane
Publisher:
Oxford University Press
Location:
Oxford
Subject:
Vocabulary
Subject:
Linguistics | The English Language
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Series Volume:
107-248
Publication Date:
20030703
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
9.56x6.42x1.08 in. 1.39 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Sunnydale... Used Hardcover $10.50
  2. Popular Culture and Philosophy #4:... Used Mass Market $5.95
  3. Buffy the Vampire Slayer Watcher's... Used Trade Paper $5.95
  4. Reading the Vampire Slayer (04 Edition) Used Trade Paper $11.00
  5. Yu-GI-Oh! Duelist ... Used Trade Paper $4.95
  6. Gossip Girl #08: Nothing Can Keep Us...
    Used Trade Paper $4.95

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Film and Television » TV Programs
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Film, Television, and Media Tie Ins

Slayer Slang: A Buffy the Vampire Slayer Lexicon Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.50 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Oxford University Press - English 9780195160338 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In its seven years on television, "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" has earned acclaim and a cult following among teen viewers. Using the show to illustrate how new slang is formed and transmitted, "Slayer Slang" is one of those rare books that combines a serious explanation of a pop culture phenomena with an engrossing read for fans of the show.
"Synopsis" by , In its seven years on television, Buffy the Vampire Slayer earned critical acclaim and a massive cult following among teen viewers. One of the most distinguishing features of the show is the innovative way its writers play with language--fabricating new words, morphing existing ones, and throwing usage on its head. The result has been a strikingly resonant lexicon that reflects the power of both youth culture and television in the evolution of American slang. Using the show to illustrate how new slang is formed, transformed, and transmitted, Slayer Slang is one of those rare books that combines a serious explanation of a pop culture phenomenon with an engrossing read for Buffy fans, language mavens, and pop culture critics. Noted linguist Michael Adams offers a synopsis of the program's history, an essay on the nature and evolution of the show's language, and a detailed glossary of slayer slang, annotated with actual dialogue. Introduced by Jane Espenson, one of the show's most inventive writers (and herself a linguist), Slayer Slang offers a quintessential example of contemporary youth culture serving as a vehicle for slang.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.