We Need Diverse Ya Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | June 29, 2015

    Roger Hobbs: IMG Soundtrack of Macau: Roger Hobbs's Playlist for Vanishing Games



    My new novel, Vanishing Games, is a heist thriller set in the gambling city of Macau, China. I lived there briefly while researching the book and... Continue »
    1. $18.17 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Vanishing Games

      Roger Hobbs 9780385352642

    spacer

On Order

$22.50
New Trade Paper
Currently out of stock.
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse Anthologies- General

Paris Metro Tales

by

Paris Metro Tales Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Following Helen Constantine's highly successful Paris Tales, Paris Metro Tales offers 22 remarkable short stories set throughout Paris--all connected by the underground tunnels of its famed Metro.

The journey begins at the Gare du Nord, stops at 20 underground stations along the way, and ends at Lamarck-Caulaincourt, each story corresponding to one of the 20 arrondissements of Paris. Readers are invited to find their way through the underground, changing trains when necessary and imaginatively emerging to read a story it its original setting. The stories range from the 15th-century account of the miraculous Saint Genevieve, patron saint of Paris, through tales by favorite writers such as Zola, Simenon, Balzac, and Maupassant. Though connected by the metro, the subjects of these short stories vary widely: from Martine Delerm's gripping narrative of the last hours of Modigliani's mistress to Gérard de Nerval's rich evocation of the bustling market in Les Halles in the 1850s, Colette's unlikely involvement in a traffic accident near the Opéra, and Boulanger's fine description of a blackly funny experience in Père Lachaise. In addition to writers well known to the English-speaking world, this collection also includes French authors whose work deserves wider attention, including Frédéric Fajardie, Martine Delerm, Marie Desplechin, Paul Fournel, and Claude Dufresne. Each story is illustrated with a black-and-white photograph and the book includes a map and suggested itinerary through the metro system.

Perfect for fans of Paris Tales, connoisseurs of French fiction, and all short story enthusiasts, Paris Metro Tales offers rare glimpses of the darker side of the "City of Light."

About the Author

Helen Constantine has published three volumes of translated stories, Paris Tales, French Tales, and Berlin Tales, and is currently editing a series of City Tales for OUP. She is married to the writer David Constantine and with him edits the international magazine Modern Poetry in Translation.

Table of Contents

Introduction

Gare du Nord, Jacques Reda

Saint-Julien-le-Pauvre, Julien Green

Summer Rain, Marie Desplechin

Refined, Daniel Boulanger

A Little Accident, Colette

If it were Sunday, Annie Saumont

Facino Cane, Honore de Balzac

Rue des Larmes, Frederic Fajardie

Story, Paul Fournel

There or Elsewhere, Martine Delerm

Saint Genevieve, Jacques de Voragine

Expomodigliani.com, Martine Delerm

Minuet, Guy de Maupassant

Snow, Emile Zola

La Halle, Gerard de Nerval

Confronting the Present, Andree Chedid

The Cab, Theodore de Banville

The Little Restaurant at Ternes, Georges Simenon

Romance in the Metro, Claude Dufresne

The Neighbour in the Rue de Jarente, Cyrille Fleischman

The Landlady, Guy de Maupassant

La Butte Montmartre, Gerard de Nerval

Notes on the Metro

Notes on the Stories

Notes on the Authors

Selected Further Reading

Publisher's Acknowledgements

Map of metro

Product Details

ISBN:
9780199579808
Author:
Constantine, Helen
Publisher:
Oxford University Press, USA
Author:
null, Helen
Subject:
Continental european
Subject:
Literature/English | World Literature | France
Subject:
Anthologies-General
Publication Date:
20110531
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Numerous b/w photographs
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
5.1 x 7.7 x 0.7 in 0.781 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Lincoln's Men: The President and His... Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. Transit Maps of the World
    Used Trade Paper $14.50
  3. Waltzing with a dictator :the... Used Hardcover $5.50
  4. Labyrinths of Iron: A History of the... Used Hardcover $5.95
  5. Railway Maps of the World Used Hardcover $12.95
  6. From Colony to Superpower: U.S.... Used Trade Paper $13.95

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Anthologies » European Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Anthologies » General
Fiction and Poetry » Anthologies » International
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Medical Specialties

Paris Metro Tales New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$22.50 Backorder
Product details 256 pages Oxford University Press, USA - English 9780199579808 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.