The Super Fun Kids' Graphic Novel Sale

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores

    Recently Viewed clear list

    The Powell's Playlist | September 25, 2015

    Caitlin Doughty: IMG Caitlin Doughty's Playlist for Smoke Gets in Your Eyes

    The soundtrack perfectly suited to facing your own mortality. ("My Way," "Wind beneath My Wings," and other popular funeral songs need not apply.)... Continue »
    1. $11.17 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

Qualifying orders ship free.
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
25 Remote Warehouse World History- General
2 Remote Warehouse Travel- France

This title in other editions

The Secret Life of the Seine


The Secret Life of the Seine Cover

ISBN13: 9780306810749
ISBN10: 0306810743
All Product Details


Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Mort Rosenblum, a celebrated foreign correspondent, invites us aboard his fifty-four-foot launch tied up in the center of Paris and introduces us to the characters who share his life along the river, ranging from eccentric movie stars and reclusive novelists to barge families just scraping by. He then hauls in the bow line for an unforgettable tour of the river itself from its source to its mouth. The Secret Life of the Seine is a love story between man and boat and the river that they live on, a discourse on the sensual beauty of France and the art of living well. In the tradition of A Year in Provence, Under the Tuscan Sun, and Paris to the Moon, here is what Garry Trudeau called "a moveable feast [with] a top speed of five knots—fast enough for fun, languid enough for dreaming. Take a trip you'll never take: This is what books are for."


From the author of A Goose in Toulouse, the lush and personal tale of a journey along the Seine, guiding the reader through history and the heart of France

About the Author

Mort Rosenblum, a special correspondent for the Associated Press and former editor-in-chief of the International Herald Tribune, is the author of Mission to Civilize, Back Home, Who Stole the News?, and, most recently, A Goose in Toulouse and Other Culinary Adventures in France. He lives in Paris.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Paul McFarland, July 22, 2007 (view all comments by Paul McFarland)
One of the best travel books I have read. A five-knot voyage down the central river of France. The book is filled with the facts and history of the river and is bound together with a wonderful story of a journey of a lifetime. This would be the way to see France. However, since few of us are going to make this trip, you must read this book.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

Rosenblum, Mort
Da Capo Press
Cambridge, MA
Boats and boating
River life
Seine River Valley
World History-General
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Series Volume:
Publication Date:
8.25 x 5.5 in 12 oz

Other books you might like

  1. The Book Thief
    Used Trade Paper $6.50
  2. The Heart Can Be Filled Anywhere on... Used Trade Paper $8.50
  3. Anatomy of restlessness :selected... Used Hardcover $4.50
  4. Sixpence House
    Used Hardcover $8.50
  5. Motoring with Mohammed: Journeys to... Used Trade Paper $5.95
  6. The Summer of My Greek Taverna: A Memoir Used Trade Paper $9.50

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Europe » France » Provinces
History and Social Science » World History » European History General
History and Social Science » World History » General
Travel » Europe » France
Travel » Travel Writing » France
Travel » Travel Writing » General

The Secret Life of the Seine New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.50 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Da Capo Press - English 9780306810749 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
From the author of A Goose in Toulouse, the lush and personal tale of a journey along the Seine, guiding the reader through history and the heart of France
  • back to top


Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at