Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Interviews | September 2, 2014

    Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



    David Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.50
List price: $14.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Travel Writing- Latin America

More copies of this ISBN

Mexico in Mind: An Anthology (Vintage Departures)

by

Mexico in Mind: An Anthology (Vintage Departures) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Two centuries of writers drawn to Mexico—from D. H. Lawrence, John Steinbeck, Jack Kerouac, and Tennessee Williams to Salman Rushdie, Anita Desai, and Sandra Cisneros

This scintillating literary travel guide gathers the work of great writers celebrating Mexico in poetry, fiction, and nonfiction. Ranging from 1843 to the present, Mexico in Mind offers a remarkably varied sampling of English-speaking writers impressions of the land south of the border.

John Reed rides with Pancho Villa in 1914; Graham Greene defends Mexicos priests; Langston Hughes describes a bullfight; Jack Kerouac and William Burroughs find Mexico intoxicating; Alice Adams visits Frida Kahlos house; Ann Louise Bardach meets the mysterious Subcommandante Marcos face to face. Fictional accounts are equally vivid, including poems by Muriel Rukeyser, Archibald Macleish, and Sandra Cisneros, short stories by Katherine Anne Porter and Ray Bradbury, and excerpts from John Steinbecks The Pearl, Tennessee Williams Night of the Iguana, and Salman Rushdies The Ground Beneath Her Feet. From the bustle of Mexico City to coffee planations in remote Chiapas, from Mayan ruins to the markets at Oaxaca, the scenes evoked in this anthology reflect the rich variety of the place and its history, sure to enchant vacationers, expatriates, and armchair travelers everywhere.

Alice Adams • Ann Louise Bardach • Ray Bradbury • William S. Burroughs • Frances Calderón de la Barca • Ana Castillo • Sandra Cisneros • Anita Desai • Erna Fergusson • Charles Macomb Flandrau • Donna Gershten • Graham Greene • Langston Hughes • Fanny Inglehart • Gary Jennings • Diana Kennedy • Jack Kerouac • D. H. Lawrence • Malcolm Lowry • Archibald Macleish • Rubén Martínez • Tom Miller • Katherine Anne Porter • John Reed • Luis Rodriguez • Richard Rodriguez • Muriel Rukeyser • Salman Rushdie • John Steinbeck • Edward Weston • Tennessee Williams

Review:

"The 31 Anglophone writers from myriad genres collected in this anthology look to Mexico for adventure, refuge and revelation. Finn, who edited Cuba in Mind for Vintage's In Mind travel series, covers a number of eras and niches from unexpected angles: she has Harvard patrician Charles Macomb Flandrau (1871-1938) writing a letter home from a Chiapas coffee plantation; 19th century American adventuress Fanny Chambers Gooch Ingelhart writes of piñata whacking from her Saltillo adobe; a section from Graham Greene's Another Mexico (1939) describes seasickness unforgettably. More recent pieces from Richard Rodriguez, Ana Castillo and Salman Rushdie tackle identity, self-fashioning and myth with a few pages each. Finn's thoughtful organization allows readers to contemplate a discussion about market day between D.H. Lawrence, who feels the centavos are 'an excuse' for an 'intermingling of voices, a threading together of different wills,' and British culnarinian Diana Kennedy, more practical, who describes the counter at the market devoted to five varieties of cazón, or dogfish. In her introduction, Finn writes: 'Each of my visits to Mexico has been unsatisfying to me in the sense that I just want to go back and see more.' Her anthology has the same effect." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

In the tradition of "Italy in Mind" and "Cuba in Mind" comes a richly varied anthology of fiction, travel writing, and poetry by a stunning array of great writers in English who have been beguiled by Mexico over the centuries.

About the Author

Maria Finn is the editor of the anthology Cuba in Mind (Vintage, 2004) and author of a memoir about falling in love and marrying her cab driver in Havana, Cuba. She has written for Audubon, Saveur, Metropolis, The New York Times, and the Los Angeles Times, among many other publications. She has an MFA in Creative Writing from Sarah Lawrence College and has published literary work in magazines such as Gastronomica, The Chicago Review, New Letters, and Exquisite Corpse. She has lived and worked in Alaska, Guatemala, and Spain, and traveled extensively in Latin America.

Table of Contents

Introduction

LOVE IN MEXICO

Bésame Mucho

Alice Adams

from Mexico: Some Travels and Some Travelers There (1991)

Edward Weston

from The Daybooks of Edward Weston (1923)

Katherine Anne Porter

“The Martyr” (1923)

Muriel Rukeyser

“Evening Plaza, San Miguel” (1944)

Ray Bradbury

“Calling Mexico” (1950)

John Steinbeck

from The Pearl (1945)

Luis Rodriguez

“The Old Woman of Mérida” (2005)

SIGHTS, SOUNDS, AND TASTES

Fiesta del Pueblo

Frances Calderón de la Barca

from Life in Mexico (1843)

Fanny Chambers Gooch Inglehart

from Face to Face with the Mexicans (1887)

Charles Macomb Flandrau

from Viva Mexico! (1908)

D. H. Lawrence

from Mornings in Mexico (1927)

Diana Kennedy

from My Mexico (1998)

Tom Miller

from “Searching for the Heart of La Bamba,” in Jack Rubys Kitchen Sink (2000)

REVOLUTIONARY ENCOUNTERS

¡Que Viva Mexico!

Archibald MacLeish

from Conquistador (1932)

John Reed

from Insurgent Mexico (1914)

Anita Desai

from The Zigzag Way (2004)

Graham Greene

from Another Mexico (1939)

Ann Louise Bardach

from “Mexicos Poet Rebel” (1994)

DOWN AND OUT IN MEXICO

Desperados

Tennessee Williams

from Night of the Iguana (1961)

Malcolm Lowry

from Under the Volcano (1947)

Jack Kerouac

from “Mexico Fellaheen” (1960)

William S. Burroughs

from Junky (1953)

Donna M. Gershten

from Kissing the Virgins Mouth (2000)

ICONS AND IDENTITY

Patria and Pilgrims

Richard Rodriguez

from Days of Obligation (1992)

Ana Castillo

“My Mothers México” (1994)

Rubén Martínez

from Crossing Over (2001)

Sandra Cisneros

“You Bring Out the Mexican in Me” (1994)

RITUAL AND MYTH

Día de los Muertos and Beyond

Erna Fergusson

from Fiesta in Mexico (1934)

Langston Hughes

from The Big Sea (1940)

Gary Jennings

from Aztec (1980)

Salman Rushdie

from The Ground Beneath Her Feet (1999)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780307274885
Author:
Finn, Maria
Publisher:
Vintage Books USA
Editor:
Dominguez, Maria Finn
Editor:
Maria Finn
Author:
Maria Finn
Author:
Dominguez, Maria Finn
Subject:
General
Subject:
Mexico
Subject:
Essays & Travelogues
Subject:
American literature
Subject:
English literature
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Vintage Departures Original
Publication Date:
20060631
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
7.88x5.80x.56 in. .44 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Immoveable Feast: A Paris Christmas... Used Trade Paper $3.95
  2. No Country for Old Men
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  3. Portland Noir (Akashic Noir)
    Used Trade Paper $9.95
  4. Jewelry of our time :art, ornament,... Used Hardcover $17.95
  5. Loving Frank: A Novel
    Used Hardcover $3.95
  6. The Road
    Used Trade Paper $6.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Travel » North America » Mexico
Travel » Travel Writing » General
Travel » Travel Writing » Latin America

Mexico in Mind: An Anthology (Vintage Departures) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.50 In Stock
Product details 256 pages Vintage Books USA - English 9780307274885 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "The 31 Anglophone writers from myriad genres collected in this anthology look to Mexico for adventure, refuge and revelation. Finn, who edited Cuba in Mind for Vintage's In Mind travel series, covers a number of eras and niches from unexpected angles: she has Harvard patrician Charles Macomb Flandrau (1871-1938) writing a letter home from a Chiapas coffee plantation; 19th century American adventuress Fanny Chambers Gooch Ingelhart writes of piñata whacking from her Saltillo adobe; a section from Graham Greene's Another Mexico (1939) describes seasickness unforgettably. More recent pieces from Richard Rodriguez, Ana Castillo and Salman Rushdie tackle identity, self-fashioning and myth with a few pages each. Finn's thoughtful organization allows readers to contemplate a discussion about market day between D.H. Lawrence, who feels the centavos are 'an excuse' for an 'intermingling of voices, a threading together of different wills,' and British culnarinian Diana Kennedy, more practical, who describes the counter at the market devoted to five varieties of cazón, or dogfish. In her introduction, Finn writes: 'Each of my visits to Mexico has been unsatisfying to me in the sense that I just want to go back and see more.' Her anthology has the same effect." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of "Italy in Mind" and "Cuba in Mind" comes a richly varied anthology of fiction, travel writing, and poetry by a stunning array of great writers in English who have been beguiled by Mexico over the centuries.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.