Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 17, 2014

    Merritt Tierce: IMG Has My Husband Read It?



    My first novel, Love Me Back, was published on September 16. Writing the book took seven years, and along the way three chapters were published in... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$15.95
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Science Fiction and Fantasy- A to Z
13 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z
24 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

The Gone-Away World

by

The Gone-Away World Cover

 

Staff Pick

This literary debut features the pre- and post-apocalyptic, plenty of kung fu, anti-corporate subplots, and its fair share of mimes. It's an epic that stuns and delights with its absurdities and profundities. Part cautionary tale of apocalyptic war (featuring a new type of bomb that makes things literally "go away") and part buddy adventure, The Gone-Away World is for anyone who enjoys a good romp. It has a tendency to wander a bit, and the author is not afraid to use his words, but it never fails to amuse. Also, ninjas are involved.
Recommended by Adam S., Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A hilarious, action-packed look at the apocalypse that combines a touching tale of friendship, a thrilling war story, and an all out kung-fu infused mission to save the world. Gonzo Lubitch and his best friend have been inseparable since birth. They grew up together, they studied martial arts together, they rebelled in college together, and they fought in the Go-Away War together. Now, with the world in shambles and dark nightmarish clouds billowing over the wastelands, they have been tapped for an incredibly perilous mission. But they quickly realize that this assignment is not all it seems, and before it is over they will have encountered everything from mimes, ninjas, and pirates to one ultra-sinister mastermind, whose only goal is world domination. Unlike anything else, The Gone-Away World is a remarkable literary debut that will be remembered and rediscovered for years to come.

Review:

“A flat-out ferociously good novel....Reads like a surrealist smashup of Pynchon and Pratchett, Vonnegut and Heller.” Austin Chronicle

Review:

“Harkaway delivers plenty of action and surprises....Likely to be this season’s major conversation-starter.” San Francisco Chronicle

Review:

“A gripping, satirical, postapocalyptic war epic populated with mimes, ninjas, bureaucrats, chimera, and gun-toting nerds.” New York Magazine

Review:

"Very funny and hugely entertaining....And brilliant. Read it." Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

Review:

"Bewilders, amazes, entertains....[A] Catch-22 for the 21st century...a work of extraordinary imagination and charisma...genius" The New York Observer

Review:

"Fantasy meets apocalypse meets allegory meets bildungsroman in an exuberant, bulging first novel." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"Vivid and exciting. Harkaway manages to meld a vision of war more germane to today's world, and take it to its most horrifying, apocalyptic conclusion." Charleston City Paper

About the Author

Nick Harkaway was born in Cornwall in 1972. He studied philosophy, sociology, and politics at Clare College, Cambridge, and then worked in the film industry. The Gone-Away World is his first novel. He lives in London with his wife.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 4 comments:

Sarah Lippek, November 11, 2014 (view all comments by Sarah Lippek)
A rip-roaring yarn, in the tradition of Brazil and Tank Girl. Scrappy underdogs, conspiracies within conspiracies, evil megacorp henchmen....well-drawn, laugh-out-loud funny, and yeah, heartwarming.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
jlreed7, January 2, 2013 (view all comments by jlreed7)
I didn't see that coming, and I mean that in the best possible way. I laughed, I cried, I recommended it to everybody and have bought it for a lucky few. An odd beginning, which can make you feel a little displaced, but since it's set in an alternate earth that's not a bad thing. You'll find your feet soon enough, and get them knocked out from under you again. I loved this book. Thanks Nancy Pearl, for continuing to recommend it. I'm in your debt.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
MrsMoore, August 5, 2012 (view all comments by MrsMoore)
Tell us about Nick Harkaway's "The Gone-Away World", Mrs. Moore. Gosh! It's got sex (the nice kind, not the dirty kind), violence (not too graphic), mimes, evil ninjas, corporate malfeasance, political satire, mutants, bromance, true love, a dreadful childhood, a halcyon childhood, pretty nurses, a glimpse of heaven, exploding sheep, filthy dive bars, clean dive bars, muscular warriors, muscular trucks, incredibly intelligent women, kind old ladies, wise teachers, secret societies, armageddon, vast conflagrations, a wondrous number of subtle references to other books, all wrapped up in a wodehousian sense of humor. It's one of those rare books where the author stays humble in the background and lets the story tell itself. In a nutshell, it's really, really my kind of book.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 4 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780307389077
Author:
Harkaway, Nick
Publisher:
Vintage Books USA
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Fantasy fiction
Subject:
Science fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Vintage Contemporaries
Publication Date:
20090831
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
592
Dimensions:
8 x 5.13 x 1.27 in 1 lb

Other books you might like

  1. On Beauty Used Book Club Paperback $2.50
  2. The Bible: A Biography (Books That... Used Trade Paper $6.50
  3. Tripods #01: When the Tripods Came Used Trade Paper $5.00
  4. Tripods #03: The City of Gold and Lead Used Mass Market $3.50
  5. Buddha Used Trade Paper $5.50
  6. The Last Week: What the Gospels... Used Trade Paper $7.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z

The Gone-Away World New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$15.95 In Stock
Product details 592 pages Vintage Books USA - English 9780307389077 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

This literary debut features the pre- and post-apocalyptic, plenty of kung fu, anti-corporate subplots, and its fair share of mimes. It's an epic that stuns and delights with its absurdities and profundities. Part cautionary tale of apocalyptic war (featuring a new type of bomb that makes things literally "go away") and part buddy adventure, The Gone-Away World is for anyone who enjoys a good romp. It has a tendency to wander a bit, and the author is not afraid to use his words, but it never fails to amuse. Also, ninjas are involved.

"Review" by , “A flat-out ferociously good novel....Reads like a surrealist smashup of Pynchon and Pratchett, Vonnegut and Heller.”
"Review" by , “Harkaway delivers plenty of action and surprises....Likely to be this season’s major conversation-starter.”
"Review" by , “A gripping, satirical, postapocalyptic war epic populated with mimes, ninjas, bureaucrats, chimera, and gun-toting nerds.”
"Review" by , "Very funny and hugely entertaining....And brilliant. Read it."
"Review" by , "Bewilders, amazes, entertains....[A] Catch-22 for the 21st century...a work of extraordinary imagination and charisma...genius"
"Review" by , "Fantasy meets apocalypse meets allegory meets bildungsroman in an exuberant, bulging first novel."
"Review" by , "Vivid and exciting. Harkaway manages to meld a vision of war more germane to today's world, and take it to its most horrifying, apocalyptic conclusion."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.