Minecraft Adventures B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays, Recipes | August 19, 2015

    Cara Nicoletti: IMG Ramona Quimby Yogurt-Marinated Chicken Thighs



    Note: Join us at Powell's Books at Cedar Hills Crossing on Wednesday, September 16, for an author event with Cara Nicoletti. As a kid, I read for... Continue »
    1. $19.60 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.95
List price: $15.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Cooking and Food- Gastronomic Literature
2 Burnside Cooking and Food- Food Writing
1 Hawthorne Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

Blue Plate Special: An Autobiography of My Appetites

by

Blue Plate Special: An Autobiography of My Appetites Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A Miami Herald Favorite Book of the Year

From acclaimed novelist Kate Christensen, Blue Plate Special is a mouthwatering literary memoir about an unusual upbringing and the long, winding path to happiness.

“To taste fully is to live fully.” For Kate Christensen, food and eating have always been powerful connectors to self and world—“a subterranean conduit to sensuality, memory, desire.” Her appetites run deep; in her own words, she spent much of her life as “a hungry, lonely, wild animal looking for happiness and stability.” Now, having found them at last, in this passionate feast of a memoir she reflects upon her journey of innocence lost and wisdom gained, mistakes made and lessons learned, and hearts broken and mended.

   In the tradition of M. F. K. Fisher, Laurie Colwin, and Ruth Reichl, Blue Plate Special is a narrative in which food—eating it, cooking it, reflecting on it—becomes the vehicle for unpacking a life. Christensen explores her history of hunger—not just for food but for love and confidence and a sense of belonging—with a profound honesty, starting with her unorthodox childhood in 1960s Berkeley as the daughter of a mercurial legal activist who ruled the house with his fists. After a whirlwind adolescent awakening, Christensen strikes out to chart her own destiny within the literary world and the world of men, both equally alluring and dangerous. Food of all kinds, from Ho Hos to haute cuisine, remains an evocative constant throughout, not just as sustenance but as a realm of experience unto itself, always reflective of what is going on in her life. She unearths memories—sometimes joyful, sometimes painful—of the love between mother and daughter, sister and sister, and husband and wife, and of the times when the bonds of love were broken. Food sustains her as she endures the pain of these ruptures and fuels her determination not to settle for anything less than the love and contentment for which she’s always yearned.

   The physical and emotional sensuality that defines Christensen’s fiction resonates throughout the pages of Blue Plate Special. A vibrant celebration of life in all its truth and complexity, this book is about embracing the world through the transformative power of food: it’s about listening to your appetites, about having faith, and about learning what is worth holding on to and what is not.

Synopsis:

A delectable memoir about the transformative power of food, Blue Plate Special is a deeply personal narrative in which food becomes the vehicle for exploring a life. Here, novelist Kate Christensen tells her own story, from her unorthodox childhood in 1960s Berkeley as the daughter of a legal activist who ruled the house with his fists to her extraordinary success as a PEN/Faulkner Award-winning author. Hungry not just for food, but for love and a sense of belonging, Christensen writes honestly about her struggle to find the contentment she has always yearned for. A beautifully written account of a knockabout life, full of sorrows, pleasures—and, of course, food—Blue Plate Special is a delicious reading experience.

Synopsis:

Kate Christensen is the author of six novels, including The Astral. The Great Man won the 2008 PEN/Faulkner Award. She has published reviews and essays in numerous publications, such as the New York Times Book Review, Bookforum, O, Elle, and Gilt Taste. She writes an occasional drinks column called With a Twist for The Wall Street Journal. She lives in Portland, Maine. Her blog can be accessed at: http://katechristensen.wordpress.com

 

About the Author

US

Product Details

ISBN:
9780307951106
Author:
Christensen, Kate
Publisher:
Anchor Books
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20140531
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
7.98 x 5.16 x 0.75 in 0.62 lb

Other books you might like

  1. North and South (Vintage Classics)
    New Trade Paper $9.95
  2. One Man's Meat Used Trade Paper $9.00

Related Subjects

Biography » Cooking
Biography » General
Cooking and Food » Food Writing » Gastronomic Literature
Cooking and Food » Food Writing » General
Cooking and Food » General
Featured Titles » Biography
Featured Titles » Literature
Featured Titles » New Arrivals » Nonfiction
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Blue Plate Special: An Autobiography of My Appetites Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.95 In Stock
Product details 368 pages Anchor Books - English 9780307951106 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , A delectable memoir about the transformative power of food, Blue Plate Special is a deeply personal narrative in which food becomes the vehicle for exploring a life. Here, novelist Kate Christensen tells her own story, from her unorthodox childhood in 1960s Berkeley as the daughter of a legal activist who ruled the house with his fists to her extraordinary success as a PEN/Faulkner Award-winning author. Hungry not just for food, but for love and a sense of belonging, Christensen writes honestly about her struggle to find the contentment she has always yearned for. A beautifully written account of a knockabout life, full of sorrows, pleasures—and, of course, food—Blue Plate Special is a delicious reading experience.
"Synopsis" by , Kate Christensen is the author of six novels, including The Astral. The Great Man won the 2008 PEN/Faulkner Award. She has published reviews and essays in numerous publications, such as the New York Times Book Review, Bookforum, O, Elle, and Gilt Taste. She writes an occasional drinks column called With a Twist for The Wall Street Journal. She lives in Portland, Maine. Her blog can be accessed at: http://katechristensen.wordpress.com

 

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

       
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.