Signed Edition Sweepstakes
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 30, 2014

Brian Doyle: IMG The Rude Burl of Our Masks



One day when I was 12 years old and setting off on my newspaper route after school my mom said will you stop at the doctor's and pick up something... Continue »
  1. $13.27 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    Children and Other Wild Animals

    Brian Doyle 9780870717543

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.50
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z

The Black Flower: A Novel of the Civil War

by

The Black Flower: A Novel of the Civil War Cover

ISBN13: 9780312265076
ISBN10: 0312265077
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $5.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of Cold Mountain and The Killer Angels. Published in hardcover by a small press in Baltimore after being dug out of the slush pile by a discerning editor, The Black Flower is one of the most moving Civil War novels since Michael Shaara's The Killer Angels.

As John Bell Hood's Army of Tennessee literally disappears in a hail of cannon and rifle fire from the Union Army's entrenchments, young rifleman Bushrod Carter vividly imparts the Confederate charge and its deadly consequences. After he is brought to a makeshift hospital, Carter comes under the care of a young southern woman named Anna, who, even in the midst of battle and defeat, manages to find ways to express her love. Written with reverent attention to historical accuracy, The Black Flower is a powerful reminder that the war that divided America will not vanish quietly into the pages of history.

Review:

"I recommend it highly." Shelby Foote

Review:

"Powerful and elegiac....Readers will be reminded of Stephen Crane, of Faulkner's Civil War stories, and of John Brown's Body." Michael Kenney, The Boston Globe

Review:

"This is powerful medicine, concentrated emotion. I finished it in one long draught, thinking as I read of Crane, Hemingway, Mailer, and Faulkner...but realizing at the end that it was altogether original." Ernest B. Ferguson, author of Ashes of Glory and Chancellorville 1863

Synopsis:

The Black Flower is the gripping story of a young Confederate rifleman from Mississippi named Bushrod Carter, who serves in General John Bell Hood's Army of Tennessee during the Civil War battle that takes place in Franklin, Tennessee, in November 1864. Written with reverent attention to historical accuracy, the book vividly documents the fear, suffering, and intense friendships that are all present on the eve of the battle and during its aftermath. When Bushrod is wounded in the Confederate charge, he is taken to a makeshift hospital where he comes under the care of Anna, who has already lost two potential romances to battle. Bushrod and Anna's poignant attempt to forge a bond of common humanity in the midst of the pathos and horror of battle serves as a powerful reminder that the war that divided America will not vanish quietly into the page of history.

Synopsis:

When a young Confederate rifleman named Bushrod Carter is wounded and taken to a makeshift hospital, he comes under the care of Anna, who has already lost two potential romances to battle. Bushrod and Anna's attempt to forge a bond in the midst of pathos and horror is a powerful reminder that the war that divided America will not vanish quietly into pages of history.

About the Author

Howard Bahr was born in Meridian, Mississippi. From 1982 to 1993 he was curator of Rowan Oak, the William Faulkner homestead and museum in Oxford, Mississippi. Since 1993 he has taught English at Motlow State Community College in Tullahoma, Tennessee. His new novel is The Year of the Jublio (Henry Holt).

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 4 comments:

MK Karni, August 21, 2012 (view all comments by MK Karni)
I just loved this book. Howard Bahr's prose is beautiful.
The story of the battle of Franklin, Tennessee in 1864 towards the end of the US Civil War is a true event. It's a blood bath for the Confederate Army and the novel takes place at the home of the McGavock family. Their house was used as a makeshift hospital.
The story is all fiction, but the author brings everything to life in such vivid detail in the midst of all the suffering of the battle and its aftermath.
Highly recommended.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
ttbrader, January 14, 2010 (view all comments by ttbrader)
Not normally the type of book I'd read, I thought, but once I started it, I found that it certainly is the kind of book I'd read: beautiful, insightful prose; scenes and characters that stay with you; details that break your heart. (There's a scene detailing the 'journey' of a wasp that is amazing!)

The subtitle ("A Novel of the Civil War") is limiting. Though the futile, wasteful aftereffects of the battle are shown in horrific detail (it's a wonder all of the soldiers didn't go insane), it's much, much more than a novel of the Civil War. It's a story of true friendships, of persevering and of loving and remaining human despite unimaginable pain and fear.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Robert Wilkinson, January 1, 2010 (view all comments by Robert Wilkinson)
I normally eschew novels, and this usually includes Civil War fiction. However, I stumbled on to this novel when I noted the first publisher and what I thought was an odd selection for this publisher.
To my very pleasant surprise this book was a true
"sleeper." It had the characteristics of what I expect in a first class novel. Most impressive was the description of the skirmishes. One of the few books that I have read which gives a vivid sense of what is experienced in such clashes . It was published at the same time as another Civil War novel. The latter drew much more attention, accolades, and was adapted for the screen. I find "The Black Flower" to be a far superior novel in many respects. In a book review in one of the major literary supplements, the reviewer wrote a similar impression.
I believe it can share the same shelf with Civil War novels of a caliber such as "Killer Angels."
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 4 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780312265076
Subtitle:
A Novel of the Civil War
Author:
Bahr, Howard
Publisher:
Picador
Location:
New York :
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Historical
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
History
Subject:
United states
Subject:
War
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
Civil war, 1861-1865
Subject:
Southern states
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
Soldiers
Subject:
Love stories
Subject:
War stories
Subject:
War & Military
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st Picador USA ed.
Edition Description:
Picador USA
Series Volume:
no. HCFA-10120
Publication Date:
20000505
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
8.27 x 5.49 x 0.73 in

Other books you might like

  1. This House of Sky Landscapes of a... Used Trade Paper $5.50
  2. Survival in Auschwitz: The Nazi...
    Used Trade Paper $3.95
  3. Reservation Road Used Hardcover $4.50
  4. The Year of Jubilo: A Novel of the... Used Trade Paper $4.50
  5. Chant of Jimmy Blacksmith Used Trade Paper $6.50
  6. Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman Used Mass Market $1.00

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Military

The Black Flower: A Novel of the Civil War Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.50 In Stock
Product details 272 pages Picador USA - English 9780312265076 Reviews:
"Review" by , "I recommend it highly."
"Review" by , "Powerful and elegiac....Readers will be reminded of Stephen Crane, of Faulkner's Civil War stories, and of John Brown's Body."
"Review" by , "This is powerful medicine, concentrated emotion. I finished it in one long draught, thinking as I read of Crane, Hemingway, Mailer, and Faulkner...but realizing at the end that it was altogether original."
"Synopsis" by ,
The Black Flower is the gripping story of a young Confederate rifleman from Mississippi named Bushrod Carter, who serves in General John Bell Hood's Army of Tennessee during the Civil War battle that takes place in Franklin, Tennessee, in November 1864. Written with reverent attention to historical accuracy, the book vividly documents the fear, suffering, and intense friendships that are all present on the eve of the battle and during its aftermath. When Bushrod is wounded in the Confederate charge, he is taken to a makeshift hospital where he comes under the care of Anna, who has already lost two potential romances to battle. Bushrod and Anna's poignant attempt to forge a bond of common humanity in the midst of the pathos and horror of battle serves as a powerful reminder that the war that divided America will not vanish quietly into the page of history.

"Synopsis" by , When a young Confederate rifleman named Bushrod Carter is wounded and taken to a makeshift hospital, he comes under the care of Anna, who has already lost two potential romances to battle. Bushrod and Anna's attempt to forge a bond in the midst of pathos and horror is a powerful reminder that the war that divided America will not vanish quietly into pages of history.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.