We Need Diverse Ya Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | June 15, 2015

    Matthew Quick: IMG Portia Kane's '80s Metal Mix



    Two of Love May Fail's main characters, Portia Kane and Chuck Bass — now in their early 40s — still love the metal music that was... Continue »
    1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Love May Fail

      Matthew Quick 9780062285560

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Photography- Sexy Books

Beach

by

Beach Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of Robert Mapplethorpe and Tom Bianchi, Beach celebrates both the male nude and the pleasures of friendship on a summer's day.

David Morgan's remarkable photographs of the male figure have been appearing in New York City for over a decade-on posters and party invitations, prints and greeting cards, as well as in various magazines.

Now Morgan has brought his camera to the beach and focussed it on young men at play, gamboling among the elements, enjoying the sun, sand and sea, while embodying Whitman's "dear love of comrades" with a panache that would have delighted old Walt. These pictures have a sunny sexuality and a sly humor, while exuding a simple joy at being alive and on the beach on a perfect summer day.

The companion story by Ernesto Mestre-Reed captures in remarkable language the lyricism and physical joy that irradiate Morgan's photographs, making Beach a contrapuntal celebration of the magic circle of male camaraderie.

About the Author

Since 1975 David Morgan has been a commercial photographer in New York City where his images of the male figure soon made him famous, his images for the 2(x)ist underwear ad campaign were enormously successful. His photographs have appeared on calendars, greeting cards, and posters and in the book Basic Training: A Fundamental Guide to Fitness for Men (St. Martin's Press 1998).

Ernesto Mestre-Reed, the author of The Lazarus Rumba, lives in Brooklyn, NY.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780312265588
Essay:
Mestre-Reed, Ernesto
Author:
Mestre-Reed, Ernesto
Author:
Morgan, David
Publisher:
St. Martin's Press
Location:
New York
Subject:
Individual Photographer
Subject:
Gays
Subject:
Portraits
Subject:
Portrait photography
Subject:
Photography, erotic
Subject:
Subjects & Themes - Portraits
Subject:
Subjects
Subject:
Themes, Portraits
Edition Number:
1st ed.
Series Volume:
[6]
Publication Date:
20001012
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Includes 100 quadrotone photos
Pages:
128
Dimensions:
10.33x8.39x.74 in. 1.71 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Assuming the Position: A Memoir of... Used Trade Paper $8.00
  2. Collecting salt & pepper shaker series New Trade Paper $18.75
  3. Basic Training: A Fundamental Guide... Used Hardcover $2.50
  4. Magnificent Universe Used Hardcover $19.95

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Photography » Locked Case
Arts and Entertainment » Photography » Sexy Books

Beach Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 128 pages MACMILLAN PUBLISHING SERVICES - English 9780312265588 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.