Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | April 11, 2014

Paul Laudiero: IMG Shit Rough Draft



I was sitting in a British and Irish romantic drama class my last semester in college when the idea for Shit Rough Drafts hit me. I was working... Continue »
  1. $9.07 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Mystery- Pacific Northwest

Other titles in the Venus Diamond Mysteries series:

The Good Diamond: A Pacific Northwest Mystery (Venus Diamond Mysteries)

by

The Good Diamond: A Pacific Northwest Mystery (Venus Diamond Mysteries) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The chase begins when U.S. Fish and Wildlife Agent Venus Diamond is summoned by local authorities to the scene of a bloody ambush: Eight men are dead and one woman is missing from one of Canada's prestigious diamond mines. Along with the woman, presumed to be a hostage, one of the world's priceless diamonds, the 384-carat Lac de Lune, has disappeared.

The rare blue diamond was recently mined from the Zone Mine Big Jim Hardy and his little mine on the map in the diamond industry. But now Big Jim is dead and he left one word behind: Venus.

Stolen before it could be cut and shown to the world, the priceless diamond leaves a trail for Venus to follow, as a ruthless killer methodically eliminates the people helping him steal, smuggle, cut, and sell the most valuable diamond in the world.

The Good Diamond is a rollicking, fast-paced crime novel that promises to intrigue fans and newcomers alike.

Review:

"The title of Moody's turgid seventh book in her Venus Diamond series (after 2003's Medusa) refers not to her protagonist but to the real thing. Good diamonds are those mined, processed and sold by legitimate dealers, as opposed to blood diamonds, which are extracted by slave labor, smuggled through a shadowy international channel known as the tube and traded for illegal guns. All along the sequence, blood diamonds are paid for in blood. Venus's position as an undercover agent for the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service normally pits her against those who threaten the animals on federal lands. Here she's brought into the world of diamond smuggling when the prospector who found a 350-carat blue diamond in Canada's Northwest Territories is murdered and writes her name in his blood at the scene. Fans of the series know to expect complex plots, and they won't be disappointed. New readers may not be so forgiving, for little of Venus's usually admirable personality manages to squeeze through the dense plot layers. While the inside view of the diamond cutter's world is fascinating, this book cries out for the same kind of treatment as diamonds: someone needs to cut away the rough parts and polish the rest." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"You will not be bored by this book. It is filled with interesting diamond lore, and it clips along, jumping with often comic cunning among its various plots." Paul Skenazy, The Washington Post Book World

Review:

"Great outdoor adventure and a plucky heroine; for fans of Nevada Barr and Jessica Speart." Library Journal

Review:

"A bit of an odd duck within a series that usually appeals directly to the Nevada Barr crowd, this one nevertheless offers an insider's look at a fascinating subject." Booklist

Review:

"Fans of the series know to expect complex plots, and they won't be disappointed. New readers may not be so forgiving, for little of Venus's usually admirable personality manages to squeeze through the dense plot layers." Publishers Weekly

Synopsis:

The chase begins when U.S. Fish and Wildlife Agent Venus Diamond is summoned by local authorities to the scene of a bloody ambush: Eight men are dead and one woman is missing from one of Canada's prestigious diamond mines. Along with the woman, presumed to be a hostage, one of the world's priceless diamonds, the 384-carat Lac de Lune, has disappeared.

The rare blue diamond was recently mined from the Zone Mine Big Jim Hardy and his little mine on the map in the diamond industry. But now Big Jim is dead and he left one word behind: Venus.

Stolen before it could be cut and shown to the world, the priceless diamond leaves a trail for Venus to follow, as a ruthless killer methodically eliminates the people helping him steal, smuggle, cut, and sell the most valuable diamond in the world.

The Good Diamond is a rollicking, fast-paced crime novel that promises to intrigue fans and newcomers alike.

About the Author

Writer, photographer, and former East Africa bush guide, Skye Moody lives at Wits End on Seattle's Alki Beach. This is her seventh mystery novel in the Venus Diamond Series.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780312324155
Subtitle:
A Pacific Northwest Mystery
Author:
Moody, Skye Kathleen
Publisher:
Minotaur Books
Location:
New York
Subject:
Animals
Subject:
Northwest, pacific
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Women Sleuths
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Subject:
Government investigators
Subject:
Black bear
Subject:
Diamond smuggling.
Subject:
Women environmentalists.
Subject:
Diamond, Venus
Copyright:
Edition Description:
1st St. Martin's Minotaur ed.
Series:
Venus Diamond Mysteries
Series Volume:
No. 7
Publication Date:
August 2004
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
8.26x5.78x1.17

Other books you might like

  1. City of Suspects Sale Trade Paper $4.50
  2. Dead Whales Tell No Tales Used Trade Paper $6.95
  3. Flinch New Trade Paper $12.75
  4. The Cutting Room Used Hardcover $4.95
  5. Murder at Yaquina Head Used Trade Paper $8.95
  6. The Breaker Used Mass Market $2.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » Pacific Northwest

The Good Diamond: A Pacific Northwest Mystery (Venus Diamond Mysteries) Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.95 In Stock
Product details 368 pages St. Martin's Minotaur - English 9780312324155 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "The title of Moody's turgid seventh book in her Venus Diamond series (after 2003's Medusa) refers not to her protagonist but to the real thing. Good diamonds are those mined, processed and sold by legitimate dealers, as opposed to blood diamonds, which are extracted by slave labor, smuggled through a shadowy international channel known as the tube and traded for illegal guns. All along the sequence, blood diamonds are paid for in blood. Venus's position as an undercover agent for the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service normally pits her against those who threaten the animals on federal lands. Here she's brought into the world of diamond smuggling when the prospector who found a 350-carat blue diamond in Canada's Northwest Territories is murdered and writes her name in his blood at the scene. Fans of the series know to expect complex plots, and they won't be disappointed. New readers may not be so forgiving, for little of Venus's usually admirable personality manages to squeeze through the dense plot layers. While the inside view of the diamond cutter's world is fascinating, this book cries out for the same kind of treatment as diamonds: someone needs to cut away the rough parts and polish the rest." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "You will not be bored by this book. It is filled with interesting diamond lore, and it clips along, jumping with often comic cunning among its various plots."
"Review" by , "Great outdoor adventure and a plucky heroine; for fans of Nevada Barr and Jessica Speart."
"Review" by , "A bit of an odd duck within a series that usually appeals directly to the Nevada Barr crowd, this one nevertheless offers an insider's look at a fascinating subject."
"Review" by , "Fans of the series know to expect complex plots, and they won't be disappointed. New readers may not be so forgiving, for little of Venus's usually admirable personality manages to squeeze through the dense plot layers."
"Synopsis" by ,
The chase begins when U.S. Fish and Wildlife Agent Venus Diamond is summoned by local authorities to the scene of a bloody ambush: Eight men are dead and one woman is missing from one of Canada's prestigious diamond mines. Along with the woman, presumed to be a hostage, one of the world's priceless diamonds, the 384-carat Lac de Lune, has disappeared.

The rare blue diamond was recently mined from the Zone Mine Big Jim Hardy and his little mine on the map in the diamond industry. But now Big Jim is dead and he left one word behind: Venus.

Stolen before it could be cut and shown to the world, the priceless diamond leaves a trail for Venus to follow, as a ruthless killer methodically eliminates the people helping him steal, smuggle, cut, and sell the most valuable diamond in the world.

The Good Diamond is a rollicking, fast-paced crime novel that promises to intrigue fans and newcomers alike.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.