The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lauren Owen: IMG The Other Vampire



It's a wild and thundery night. Inside a ramshackle old manor house, a beautiful young girl lies asleep in bed. At the window, a figure watches... Continue »

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

This title in other editions

Vinnie's Head

by

Vinnie's Head Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From the twisted mind of first-timer Marc Lecard comes a darkly comic and sensational new crime masterpiece, which is quickly drawing comparisons to the best of Carl Hiaasen and Elmore Leonard. Small-time Long Island criminal Johnnie LoDuco gets involved in a credit card scam with his childhood buddy, Vinnie McCloskey-Schmidt, that will make them all rich for life. The only problem is while out fishing one day Johnnie reels in the biggest catch of his life...Vinnies head on the end of the fishing line. Now mafia types, bounty hunters, and Vinnies girlfriend are after him, and Johnnie doesnt have a clue as to why. Plus, they all seem to want Vinnies head, but Johnnie seems to have misplaced it in an ice coolerand if he wants to live he needs to get it back.

Review:

"This fast and funny read is an original take on the bumbling-criminal genre and will appeal to fans of Elmore Leonard and Carl Hiaasen." Booklist

Review:

"Hiaasen's fans may be put off by the profusion of body parts and absence of journalistic finesse, but Lecard has great comic timing, truly twisted characters, and a plot just bizarre enough to keep the pages turning." Library Journal

Review:

"The Rube Goldberg plot is rickety but relentless, and although most ofthe cast is excruciatingly familiar, it's hard to resist dim, sweet Johnnie, especially when he seems about to find true love." Kirkus Reviews

Synopsis:

Lecard's debut novel, a darkly comic whodunit, is quickly drawing comparisons to Carl Hiaasen and Elmore Leonard. After Johnnie reels in the biggest catch of his life--his best friend's Vinnie's head--he finds that Mafia thugs, bounty hunters, and Vinnie's girlfriend are after him.

Synopsis:

Small-time Long Island criminal, Johnnie LoDuco, after giving up a promising career as a smut peddler, gets involved with some friends who rob a convenience store, get caught because they are too stoned to make a getaway, and then pin all the blame on him.  And when his childhood buddy Vinnie bails him out of jail, he agrees to partake in a scam Vinnie has put together that will make them all rich. The only problem is: while out fishing one day Johnnie reels in the biggest catch of his life... Vinnie's head on the end of the fishing line. Now mafia types, bounty hunters, and Vinnie's girlfriend are after him, and Johnnie LoDuco doesn't have a clue as to why. Plus, they all seem to want Vinnie's head, but Johnnie seems to have misplaced it in an ice cooler--and if he wants to live he needs to get it back.

About the Author

MARC LECARD was born and raised on Long Island, New York. He now lives in Oakland, California with his wife, 3,000 books, and a growing collection of obsolete computers. Vinnies Head is his first novel.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780312360214
Publisher:
Minotaur Books
Subject:
Criminals
Author:
Lecard, Marc
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Losers.
Subject:
General Fiction
Publication Date:
20070306
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
8.5 x 5.5 x 0.785 in

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

Vinnie's Head
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 352 pages St. Martin's Minotaur - English 9780312360214 Reviews:
"Review" by , "This fast and funny read is an original take on the bumbling-criminal genre and will appeal to fans of Elmore Leonard and Carl Hiaasen."
"Review" by , "Hiaasen's fans may be put off by the profusion of body parts and absence of journalistic finesse, but Lecard has great comic timing, truly twisted characters, and a plot just bizarre enough to keep the pages turning."
"Review" by , "The Rube Goldberg plot is rickety but relentless, and although most ofthe cast is excruciatingly familiar, it's hard to resist dim, sweet Johnnie, especially when he seems about to find true love."
"Synopsis" by , Lecard's debut novel, a darkly comic whodunit, is quickly drawing comparisons to Carl Hiaasen and Elmore Leonard. After Johnnie reels in the biggest catch of his life--his best friend's Vinnie's head--he finds that Mafia thugs, bounty hunters, and Vinnie's girlfriend are after him.
"Synopsis" by ,
Small-time Long Island criminal, Johnnie LoDuco, after giving up a promising career as a smut peddler, gets involved with some friends who rob a convenience store, get caught because they are too stoned to make a getaway, and then pin all the blame on him.  And when his childhood buddy Vinnie bails him out of jail, he agrees to partake in a scam Vinnie has put together that will make them all rich. The only problem is: while out fishing one day Johnnie reels in the biggest catch of his life... Vinnie's head on the end of the fishing line. Now mafia types, bounty hunters, and Vinnie's girlfriend are after him, and Johnnie LoDuco doesn't have a clue as to why. Plus, they all seem to want Vinnie's head, but Johnnie seems to have misplaced it in an ice cooler--and if he wants to live he needs to get it back.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.