Signed Edition Sweepstakes
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Mystery- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

City of Dragons

by

City of Dragons Cover

ISBN13: 9780312603601
ISBN10: 0312603606
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $4.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

February, 1940. In San Francisco's Chinatown, fireworks explode as the city celebrates Chinese New Year with a Rice Bowl Party, a three day-and-night carnival designed to raise money and support for China war relief. Miranda Corbie is a 33-year-old private investigator who stumbles upon the fatally shot body of Eddie Takahashi. The Chamber of Commerce wants it covered up. The cops acquiesce. All Miranda wants is justice — whatever it costs. From Chinatown tenements, to a tattered tailor's shop in Little Osaka, to a high-class bordello draped in Southern Gothic, she shakes down the city — her city — seeking the truth. An outstanding series debut.

Review:

"The proposed series kickoff, awash in period flavor, showcases a large and colorful supporting cast....For fans of Hammett and Chandler, she'll hit the sweet spot." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"Stanley has vividly re-created the atmosphere of the era....Her hard-boiled, strong female sleuth stalks Hammett's San Francisco and does the job with all the panache of Sam Spade." (Starred Review) Booklist

Review:

"Miranda Corbie has the potential to be a great series character....This atmospheric series debut by the author of Nox Dormienda...will appeal to fans of noir historicals." Library Journal

Review:

"True to another time and as spontaneous as right this minute. City of Dragons, with its brittle patter and its broken heart of gold, is a joy to read." San Francisco Chronicle

Review:

"The gritty City of Dragons works as an insightful look at racism and sexism. Stanley never misses a beat." South Florida Sun-Sentinel

Synopsis:

In San Francisco's Chinatown, private investigator Miranda Corbie stumbles upon the fatally shot body of Eddie Takahashi. The Chamber of Commerce wants it covered up, and the cops acquiesce. All Miranda wants is justice — whatever it costs.

Synopsis:

February, 1940. In San Francisco's Chinatown, fireworks explode as the city celebrates Chinese New Year with a Rice Bowl Party, a three day-and-night carnival designed to raise money and support for China war relief. Miranda Corbie is a 33-year-old private investigator who stumbles upon the fatally shot body of Eddie Takahashi. The Chamber of Commerce wants it covered up. The cops acquiesce. All Miranda wants is justice--whatever it costs. From Chinatown tenements, to a tattered tailor's shop in Little Osaka, to a high-class bordello draped in Southern Gothic, she shakes down the city--her city--seeking the truth. An outstanding series debut.

About the Author

Kelli Stanley is the author of the critically acclaimed Nox Dormienda, which won the Bruce Alexander Award for best historical mystery and was nominated for a Macavity Award. She lives in San Francisco, California.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Bill Cameron, March 1, 2010 (view all comments by Bill Cameron)
I had the privilege of reading this book in manuscript, and loved it then. With the actual book in hand, I read it again and this time enjoyed it even more. Stanley writes with a potent grasp of time and place, and with a deep understanding of the legacy of her chosen genre. Stanley's San Francisco Chinatown of 1940 is as alive and vibrant, and starkly dangerous, as our world today. Miranda is tough and brittle, bitter yet idealistic, a product of her time who also finds ways to transcend it.

The best books not only give to us, but ask something of us in return. Stanley challenges us to look past our own preconceptions to see into a world very different from our own, and to learn something important about what its darkness can reveal of our own. Miranda is not some enlightened 21st century anachronism plopped down out of time and place, she's a woman of her time, when the Depression still lingered for too many, when the world was inching toward turning upside down forever. She is both fascinating and at times difficult to love, but profoundly genuine. This beautiful, painful book is a must-read.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 4 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780312603601
Author:
Stanley, Kelli
Publisher:
Minotaur Books
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Historical
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Women Sleuths
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
Mystery
Subject:
Detective / Women Sleuths
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Subject:
Mystery & Detective/Private Investigators
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
A Miranda Corbie Mystery
Series Volume:
No. 1
Publication Date:
20100202
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
8.250 x 5.500 in

Other books you might like

  1. Nemesis
    Sale Mass Market $5.98
  2. The Shanghai Moon (Lydia Chin/Bill...
    Used Hardcover $4.50
  3. The Ghosts of Belfast
    Used Trade Paper $7.50
  4. Print the Legend (10 Edition) Used Hardcover $13.00
  5. A Quiet Belief in Angels Used Hardcover $4.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

City of Dragons Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.50 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Minotaur Books - English 9780312603601 Reviews:
"Review" by , "The proposed series kickoff, awash in period flavor, showcases a large and colorful supporting cast....For fans of Hammett and Chandler, she'll hit the sweet spot."
"Review" by , "Stanley has vividly re-created the atmosphere of the era....Her hard-boiled, strong female sleuth stalks Hammett's San Francisco and does the job with all the panache of Sam Spade." (Starred Review)
"Review" by , "Miranda Corbie has the potential to be a great series character....This atmospheric series debut by the author of Nox Dormienda...will appeal to fans of noir historicals."
"Review" by , "True to another time and as spontaneous as right this minute. City of Dragons, with its brittle patter and its broken heart of gold, is a joy to read."
"Review" by , "The gritty City of Dragons works as an insightful look at racism and sexism. Stanley never misses a beat."
"Synopsis" by , In San Francisco's Chinatown, private investigator Miranda Corbie stumbles upon the fatally shot body of Eddie Takahashi. The Chamber of Commerce wants it covered up, and the cops acquiesce. All Miranda wants is justice — whatever it costs.
"Synopsis" by ,
February, 1940. In San Francisco's Chinatown, fireworks explode as the city celebrates Chinese New Year with a Rice Bowl Party, a three day-and-night carnival designed to raise money and support for China war relief. Miranda Corbie is a 33-year-old private investigator who stumbles upon the fatally shot body of Eddie Takahashi. The Chamber of Commerce wants it covered up. The cops acquiesce. All Miranda wants is justice--whatever it costs. From Chinatown tenements, to a tattered tailor's shop in Little Osaka, to a high-class bordello draped in Southern Gothic, she shakes down the city--her city--seeking the truth. An outstanding series debut.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.