We Need Diverse Ya Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | June 15, 2015

    Matthew Quick: IMG Portia Kane's '80s Metal Mix



    Two of Love May Fail's main characters, Portia Kane and Chuck Bass — now in their early 40s — still love the metal music that was... Continue »
    1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Love May Fail

      Matthew Quick 9780062285560

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$22.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
25 Remote Warehouse Horror- General

Skarlet: Part One of the Vampire Trinity

by

Skarlet: Part One of the Vampire Trinity Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

When a new drug starts turning users into vampires, its open season on the living in this action-packed thriller in the tradition of Jonathan Maberry and The Walking Dead

 

Fear grips London as dozens of people die after taking a sinister new drug called Skarlet. But that's only the beginning. Forty-eight hours later, the dead partiers wake up and begin butchering the living for their blood. Soon, London gives a name to its terror: Vampires.

 

Jake Lawton, bitter and betrayed after the Iraq War, finds himself fighting another battle - against the growing army of immortal hunters and their human cohorts. Lawton joins forces with the journalist who brought about his downfall and the dealer tricked into distributing the drug. Together they take on the spineless authorities, the ruthless cohorts, and the hungry dead. But the vampire plague unleashed in London is nothing to what lurks beneath the streets.  Waiting to be fed ...Waiting to be resurrected ...Waiting to reign again over a city of human slaves.

 

 

Review:

"Emson (the Vampire Babylon trilogy) feeds fresh blood to the vampire genre in this visceral hybrid of plague, panic, and the paranormal, which launches a series worth watching. Unlikely allies and ferocious monsters populate a world gone mad with blood thirst as ancient conspiracies are realized through contemporary greed and corruption. Nightclub bouncer and disgraced ex-soldier Jake Lawton becomes a chief suspect when a lethal designer drug kills a group of clubbers, including Jake's estranged girlfriend, Jenna. He teams up with Christine Murray, a vindictive journalist, to unearth an ancient conspiracy as the dead rise to feed on the living. Furious pacing doesn't preclude harsh poetic imagery as human greed blurs lines between friend and foe, victim and victimizer. Lawton's personal crises enrich the splattery carnage, and the plot is lent pathos by a misguided human population as dismal as the undead. The vampires of this energetic and philosophical fable are the rotting, deadly creatures of folklore, and a refreshing change for readers who weary of the sexy undead." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

When a new drug starts turning users into vampires, its open season on the living in this action-packed thriller in the tradition of Jonathan Maberry and The Walking Dead

 

Fear grips London as dozens of people die after taking a sinister new drug called Skarlet. But that's only the beginning. Forty-eight hours later, the dead partiers wake up and begin butchering the living for their blood. Soon, London gives a name to its terror: Vampires.

 

Jake Lawton, bitter and betrayed after the Iraq War, finds himself fighting another battle - against the growing army of immortal hunters and their human cohorts. Lawton joins forces with the journalist who brought about his downfall and the dealer tricked into distributing the drug. Together they take on the spineless authorities, the ruthless cohorts, and the hungry dead. But the vampire plague unleashed in London is nothing to what lurks beneath the streets.  Waiting to be fed ...Waiting to be resurrected ...Waiting to reign again over a city of human slaves.

 

 

Synopsis:

Fear grips London as dozens of clubbers die after taking a sinister new drug. Forty-eight hours later, the dead clubbers wake up-and it's open season on the living, who are butchered for their blood. London gives a name to its terror: VAMPIRES. But the vampire plague unleashed in London is nothing to what lurks beneath the streets.

About the Author

THOMAS EMSON is a pseudonym for a Welsh writer who lives in Kent. Skarlet is his second English-language novel.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780312621704
Author:
Emson, Thomas
Publisher:
Griffin
Subject:
Horror
Subject:
Thrillers
Subject:
Fantasy - Paranormal
Subject:
Horror - General
Subject:
Thrillers/General
Subject:
Fantasy/Dark Fantasy
Subject:
Thrillers/Supernatural
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20121031
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Horror » General
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Fantasy » Paranormal

Skarlet: Part One of the Vampire Trinity New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$22.99 In Stock
Product details 384 pages St. Martin's Griffin - English 9780312621704 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Emson (the Vampire Babylon trilogy) feeds fresh blood to the vampire genre in this visceral hybrid of plague, panic, and the paranormal, which launches a series worth watching. Unlikely allies and ferocious monsters populate a world gone mad with blood thirst as ancient conspiracies are realized through contemporary greed and corruption. Nightclub bouncer and disgraced ex-soldier Jake Lawton becomes a chief suspect when a lethal designer drug kills a group of clubbers, including Jake's estranged girlfriend, Jenna. He teams up with Christine Murray, a vindictive journalist, to unearth an ancient conspiracy as the dead rise to feed on the living. Furious pacing doesn't preclude harsh poetic imagery as human greed blurs lines between friend and foe, victim and victimizer. Lawton's personal crises enrich the splattery carnage, and the plot is lent pathos by a misguided human population as dismal as the undead. The vampires of this energetic and philosophical fable are the rotting, deadly creatures of folklore, and a refreshing change for readers who weary of the sexy undead." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,

When a new drug starts turning users into vampires, its open season on the living in this action-packed thriller in the tradition of Jonathan Maberry and The Walking Dead

 

Fear grips London as dozens of people die after taking a sinister new drug called Skarlet. But that's only the beginning. Forty-eight hours later, the dead partiers wake up and begin butchering the living for their blood. Soon, London gives a name to its terror: Vampires.

 

Jake Lawton, bitter and betrayed after the Iraq War, finds himself fighting another battle - against the growing army of immortal hunters and their human cohorts. Lawton joins forces with the journalist who brought about his downfall and the dealer tricked into distributing the drug. Together they take on the spineless authorities, the ruthless cohorts, and the hungry dead. But the vampire plague unleashed in London is nothing to what lurks beneath the streets.  Waiting to be fed ...Waiting to be resurrected ...Waiting to reign again over a city of human slaves.

 

 

"Synopsis" by , Fear grips London as dozens of clubbers die after taking a sinister new drug. Forty-eight hours later, the dead clubbers wake up-and it's open season on the living, who are butchered for their blood. London gives a name to its terror: VAMPIRES. But the vampire plague unleashed in London is nothing to what lurks beneath the streets.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.