Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 24, 2014

Jessica Valenti: IMG Full Frontal Feminism Revisited



It is arguably the worst and best time to be a feminist. In the years since I first wrote Full Frontal Feminism, we've seen a huge cultural shift in... Continue »
  1. $11.90 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$17.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Mystery- A to Z

This title in other editions

Where the Shadows Lie

by

Where the Shadows Lie Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

An ancient saga. A modern legend. A secret worth killing for.

Amid Icelands wild, volcanic landscape, rumors swirl of an ancient manuscript inscribed with a long-lost saga about a ring of terrible power. A rediscovered saga alone would be worth a fortune, but, if the rumors can be believed, there is something much more valuable about this one. Something worth killing for. Something that will cost Professor Agnar Haraldsson his life.

Untangling murder from myth is Iceland-born, Boston-raised detective Magnus Jonson. On loan to the Icelandic Police Force for his own protection after a Massachusetts drug cartel puts a bounty on his head, Magnus is eager work the Haraldsson case, a rare lethal crime for the island nation.  But his unorthodox investigative technique soon gets him into trouble with his more traditional superiors, intensifying his mixed feelings about returning to his native country—a place of tangled family loyalties haunted by his fathers unsolved murder—after nearly two decades. And as Magnus is about to discover, the past casts a long shadow in Iceland.

Binding Icelands landscape and history, secrets and superstitions in a strikingly original plot in the tradition of Arnaldur Indridason and Henning Mankell, Where the Shadows Lie is a heart-pounding new series from an established master.

Review:

"Ridpath (Fatal Error) smoothly melds history, legend, and a police procedural in this first of a crime series set in Iceland. When a Dominican drug cartel targets Sgt. Det. Magnus Jonson of the Boston PD's homicide unit, Magnus is taken out of harm's way and assigned to the Icelandic police force in a country where handguns are banned even for cops. Magnus joins the investigation of the murder of Agnar Haraldsson, a professor who specialized in Icelandic sagas and legends, which also are Magnus's lifelong hobby. Agnar uncovered a lost saga that may have been the basis for Tolkien's Lord of the Rings trilogy. In particular, the saga maintains that a powerful and extremely valuable ring is hidden in Iceland. The clues lead to a worldwide group of Tolkien fanatics and an in-debt art gallery owner. The tension rises after the Dominicans go after Magnus's loved ones in Boston and also travel to Iceland. Ridpath deftly explores the influence myths have on a contemporary, credit-strapped Iceland. (Aug.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

“A clever blend of murder mystery, myth and up-tothe- minute mayhem.. . Whether you’re a fan of orcs, Gimli and Legolas or Elmore Leonard and “The Sopranos”, there’s something in this. . . thriller for you.” —The London Times
 
Amid Iceland’s wild, volcanic landscape, rumours swirl of an ancient manuscript containing a long-lost saga about a powerful ring. The saga alone would be worth a fortune, but something about this one could be much more valuable. Something worth killing for.

Untangling murder from myth in the first installment of a thrilling new series is Boston detective Magnus Jonson. Seconded to the Icelandic Police Force for his own protection after a drug cartel puts a bounty on his head, Magnus is dubious about returning to his native country—the place where his father was murdered. And as Magnus is about to discover, the past casts a long shadow in Iceland.

Binding Iceland’s landscape and history, secrets and superstitions in a strikingly original plot perfect for fans of Arnaldur Indridason and Kjell Eriksson, Where the Shadows Lie is a heart-pounding new series from an established master.

About the Author

MICHAEL RIDPATH is the bestselling author of eight financial thrillers and has been published in 41 languages. He lives in London.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780312675035
Author:
Ridpath, Michael
Publisher:
Minotaur Books
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Mystery
Subject:
Detective/Police Procedural
Subject:
Crime
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Police Procedural
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Subject:
Mystery & Detective/International Mystery & Crime
Subject:
Thrillers/General
Series Volume:
1
Publication Date:
20110802
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in

Other books you might like

  1. Every Thing on It
    Used Hardcover $9.50
  2. The Story of Charlotte's Web: E. B.... Used Trade Paper $7.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Crime

Where the Shadows Lie Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.50 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Minotaur Books - English 9780312675035 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Ridpath (Fatal Error) smoothly melds history, legend, and a police procedural in this first of a crime series set in Iceland. When a Dominican drug cartel targets Sgt. Det. Magnus Jonson of the Boston PD's homicide unit, Magnus is taken out of harm's way and assigned to the Icelandic police force in a country where handguns are banned even for cops. Magnus joins the investigation of the murder of Agnar Haraldsson, a professor who specialized in Icelandic sagas and legends, which also are Magnus's lifelong hobby. Agnar uncovered a lost saga that may have been the basis for Tolkien's Lord of the Rings trilogy. In particular, the saga maintains that a powerful and extremely valuable ring is hidden in Iceland. The clues lead to a worldwide group of Tolkien fanatics and an in-debt art gallery owner. The tension rises after the Dominicans go after Magnus's loved ones in Boston and also travel to Iceland. Ridpath deftly explores the influence myths have on a contemporary, credit-strapped Iceland. (Aug.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,
“A clever blend of murder mystery, myth and up-tothe- minute mayhem.. . Whether you’re a fan of orcs, Gimli and Legolas or Elmore Leonard and “The Sopranos”, there’s something in this. . . thriller for you.” —The London Times
 
Amid Iceland’s wild, volcanic landscape, rumours swirl of an ancient manuscript containing a long-lost saga about a powerful ring. The saga alone would be worth a fortune, but something about this one could be much more valuable. Something worth killing for.

Untangling murder from myth in the first installment of a thrilling new series is Boston detective Magnus Jonson. Seconded to the Icelandic Police Force for his own protection after a drug cartel puts a bounty on his head, Magnus is dubious about returning to his native country—the place where his father was murdered. And as Magnus is about to discover, the past casts a long shadow in Iceland.

Binding Iceland’s landscape and history, secrets and superstitions in a strikingly original plot perfect for fans of Arnaldur Indridason and Kjell Eriksson, Where the Shadows Lie is a heart-pounding new series from an established master.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.