Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | July 20, 2015

    Jesse Ball: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Jesse Ball



    Describe your latest book. I woke up one day from a sort of daydream with an idea for a book's structure, and for the thread of that book, one... Continue »
    1. $16.80 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      A Cure for Suicide

      Jesse Ball 9781101870129

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.50
List price: $16.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Agriculture- General
1 Hawthorne Agriculture- General

This title in other editions

The Rural Life

by

The Rural Life Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

This is a collection of Klinkenborg's writings on the natural world and the changing seasons which appear frequently in a column entitled "The Rural Life" on the editorial page of the "New York Times."

Synopsis:

In the tradition of E. B. White and Henry David Thoreau, a yearlong meditation on the deep joys of country life by one of America's best loved writers. In the pages of the New Yorker, Harpers, the New York Times, and his acclaimed books Making Hay and The Last Fine Time, Verlyn Klinkenborg has mastered a voice of singular lyricism and precision. His subject is the American landscape: not the landscape admired from a scenic overlook, but one taken in from a rusty chair propped against the worn siding of a screened-in porch, or from the window of a pick-up driving down an empty highway in the teeth of an approaching storm. Klinkenborg gives us in The Rural Life a fresh view of our greatest subject, the ordinary beauty of our daily lives.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780316735513
Editor:
Baker, Deborah
Publisher:
Back Bay Books
Author:
Klinkenborg, Verlyn
Location:
Boston Mass.
Subject:
General
Subject:
Nature
Subject:
Essays
Subject:
Country life
Subject:
Natural history
Subject:
Personal Memoirs
Subject:
Biology-Reference
Copyright:
Edition Description:
1st Back Bay pbk. ed.
Series Volume:
no. 02-09-046
Publication Date:
20040131
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
224
Dimensions:
8.26x5.48x.59 in. .45 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Midnight Folk Used Trade Paper $3.50
  2. The Hydrogen Economy: The Creation... Used Hardcover $5.50
  3. Companion to a Sand County Almanac Used Trade Paper $14.00
  4. A Sand County Almanac: And Sketches...
    Used Trade Paper $6.95
  5. Passionate Nomad: The Life of Freya... Used Trade Paper $6.95

Related Subjects


Science and Mathematics » Agriculture » General
Science and Mathematics » Agriculture » Profiles and Biographies
Science and Mathematics » Biology » Reference

The Rural Life Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.50 In Stock
Product details 224 pages Back Bay Books - English 9780316735513 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of E. B. White and Henry David Thoreau, a yearlong meditation on the deep joys of country life by one of America's best loved writers. In the pages of the New Yorker, Harpers, the New York Times, and his acclaimed books Making Hay and The Last Fine Time, Verlyn Klinkenborg has mastered a voice of singular lyricism and precision. His subject is the American landscape: not the landscape admired from a scenic overlook, but one taken in from a rusty chair propped against the worn siding of a screened-in porch, or from the window of a pick-up driving down an empty highway in the teeth of an approaching storm. Klinkenborg gives us in The Rural Life a fresh view of our greatest subject, the ordinary beauty of our daily lives.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.