25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 6, 2014

Graham Joyce: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Graham Joyce



The Ghost in the Electric Blue Suit is set on the English coast in the hot summer of 1976, so the music in this playlist is pretty much all from the... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer

A Living Nightmare: Book 1 in the Saga of Darren Shan (Cirque Du Freak: Saga of Darren Shan #01)

by

A Living Nightmare: Book 1 in the Saga of Darren Shan (Cirque Du Freak: Saga of Darren Shan #01) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of Anne Rice and Stephen King's 'Salem's Lot, Cirque Du Freak is the frightening saga of a young boy whose visit to a mysterious freak show leads him on a journey into a dark world of vampires. Author Darren Shan's vivid detail and original voice will have young readers glued to their seats in terror. Filled with grotesque creatures, murderous vampires, and a petrifying ending, Cirque Du Freak will chill, thrill, and leave readers begging for more.

Review:

"Fast-paced and compelling, full of satisfying macabre touches — Cirque Du Freak explores the powerful fascination of the dangerous and unnatural and also, movingly, the obligations of friendship....A plot full of twists which leaves the reader hungry for more." J.K. Rowling, author of the Harry Potter series

Review:

"Poised to capture a wide audience of series horror readers....The scenario is compelling, and the author mines the exploitative history of early 20th-century sideshows to create an artfully macabre Cirque Du Freak." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"The gripping plot moves forward at a lightning pace....[A] rip-roaring story full of oddities, low-key horror, and occasional, unexpected poignancy." Debbie Carton, Booklist

Review:

"Reluctant readers and fans of shows such as Buffy and Angel are the perfect targets for this first installment....This wry twist is sure to start some great urban legends about this vampire story and its origins." VOYA

Review:

"The author's choice of using a 'mock-umentary' style is a brilliant one....Readers will be howling for the sequel to this bone-chilling novel." Children's Literature

Review:

"The slowness of the plot in the beginning might turn some readers off, but once the supernatural enters, they will be hooked. The fun here is in the details and in the uniqueness of the non-evil vampire monster." School Library Journal

Review:

"If you love scary stories, read this one for the thrill of your life!" Kidsreads.com

Synopsis:

Now available in mass market paperback — the first two books in the bestselling horror series that introduced the world to the Vampire Prince.

Synopsis:

Darren Shan is just an ordinary schoolboy who loves to ride bikes and hang out with his three best friends. Then one day Darren and his friends stumble across an invitation to visit the Cirque Du Freak, a strange and mysterious freak show. The boys can only buy two tickets, so they draw straws to see who will go. Almost as if by destiny, Darren wins one of the tickets, and what follows is his horrifying descent into the dark and bloody world of vampires.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Stephen King's 'Salem's Lot, Cirque Du Freak is the frightening saga of a young boy whose visit to a mysterious freak show leads him on a journey into a dark world of vampires. Filled with grotesque creatures, murderous vampires, and a petrifying ending, Cirque Du Freak will chill, thrill, and leave readers begging for more.

About the Author

Darren Shan was born in London, but at an early age he moved to Limerick, Ireland, with his parents and younger brother. He grew up watching old Dracula horror movies and reading spooky comics, which were the inspirations for this book. Cirque Du Freak is Darren Shan's first novel for young readers. Visit the author's website at www.darrenshan.com.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780316905718
Author:
Shan, Darren
Publisher:
Little, Brown Young Readers
Subject:
Social Situations - General
Subject:
Horror & Ghost Stories
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Fiction - Horror
Subject:
Social Issues - General
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st U.S. mass market
Edition Description:
Mass Market
Series:
Cirque Du Freak: Saga of Darren Shan
Series Volume:
01
Publication Date:
April 2004
Binding:
Mass Market Paperbound
Language:
English
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
6.90x4.22x.73 in. .30 lbs.
Age Level:
09-12

Other books you might like

  1. Princess Diaries #01: The Princess... Used Mass Market $3.50
  2. Strays Like Us Used Trade Paper $1.25
  3. Knights of the Hill Country New Trade Paper $8.99
  4. Faerie Wars: The Faerie Wars...
    Used Trade Paper $1.25
  5. Hanging on to Max
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  6. Shades of Simon Gray Used Mass Market $1.50

Related Subjects

Children's » Scary Stories » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Horror
Young Adult » Fiction » Paranormal

A Living Nightmare: Book 1 in the Saga of Darren Shan (Cirque Du Freak: Saga of Darren Shan #01) Used Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.50 In Stock
Product details 272 pages Little Brown and Company - English 9780316905718 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Fast-paced and compelling, full of satisfying macabre touches — Cirque Du Freak explores the powerful fascination of the dangerous and unnatural and also, movingly, the obligations of friendship....A plot full of twists which leaves the reader hungry for more."
"Review" by , "Poised to capture a wide audience of series horror readers....The scenario is compelling, and the author mines the exploitative history of early 20th-century sideshows to create an artfully macabre Cirque Du Freak."
"Review" by , "The gripping plot moves forward at a lightning pace....[A] rip-roaring story full of oddities, low-key horror, and occasional, unexpected poignancy."
"Review" by , "Reluctant readers and fans of shows such as Buffy and Angel are the perfect targets for this first installment....This wry twist is sure to start some great urban legends about this vampire story and its origins."
"Review" by , "The author's choice of using a 'mock-umentary' style is a brilliant one....Readers will be howling for the sequel to this bone-chilling novel."
"Review" by , "The slowness of the plot in the beginning might turn some readers off, but once the supernatural enters, they will be hooked. The fun here is in the details and in the uniqueness of the non-evil vampire monster."
"Review" by , "If you love scary stories, read this one for the thrill of your life!"
"Synopsis" by , Now available in mass market paperback — the first two books in the bestselling horror series that introduced the world to the Vampire Prince.
"Synopsis" by , Darren Shan is just an ordinary schoolboy who loves to ride bikes and hang out with his three best friends. Then one day Darren and his friends stumble across an invitation to visit the Cirque Du Freak, a strange and mysterious freak show. The boys can only buy two tickets, so they draw straws to see who will go. Almost as if by destiny, Darren wins one of the tickets, and what follows is his horrifying descent into the dark and bloody world of vampires.
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Stephen King's 'Salem's Lot, Cirque Du Freak is the frightening saga of a young boy whose visit to a mysterious freak show leads him on a journey into a dark world of vampires. Filled with grotesque creatures, murderous vampires, and a petrifying ending, Cirque Du Freak will chill, thrill, and leave readers begging for more.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.