Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 20, 2014

Julie Schumacher: IMG Dear Professor Fitger



Saint Paul, August 2014 Dear Professor Fitger, I've been asked to say a few words about you for Powells.com. Having dreamed you up with a ball-point... Continue »
  1. $16.07 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Dear Committee Members

    Julie Schumacher 9780385538138

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Literature- A to Z
1 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

Hunger

by

Hunger Cover

ISBN13: 9780316907194
ISBN10: 0316907197
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 3 left in stock at $5.95!

 

Review-A-Day

"[A] story wrought with sensuous detail....This diminutive volume holds a spare 133 pages and measures a mere four-and-a-half by seven inches. But, what it lacks in size it makes up for in elegant, beautifully descriptive prose." Ann Ellenbecker, Powells.com (read the entire Powells.com review)

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A spare and haunting story of love, memory, and appetite from one of modern Europe?s darkest times.

Traveling to the world?s remote places, a daring scientist has spent his life collecting rare plants for the Soviet Union's premier botanical institute. From the Saharan desert to the mountain passes of Afghanistan, from the rivers of South America to the Abyssinian interior, he has feared no danger to recover specimens that trace back to the ancient civilizations of Babylon and Assyria. Even at home with the wife he reveres, his memory brims with the beautiful women and luscious foods he has known in exotic climes.

But when German troops surround Leningrad in the fall of 1941, he too becomes a captive of the city. With food supplies dwindling, residents strip bark from trees, barter priceless antiques for bread, and trade sex for sugar. In the bleakest hours of the hunger winter, the institute's scientists make a pact: no matter how desperate conditions become, they will protect the precious cache of seeds that is their gift to their country's future.

Based on true events from the second World War, Hunger is the powerful story of a man?s confrontation with the riddle of his own morality. What is the meaning of cowardice or bravery, honor or betrayal, when life hangs on the smallest of decisions? Is survival the ultimate victory or the ultimate loss?

A stunning debut by a remarkable new writer, Hunger is a beautifully crafted exploration of the choices people make in extraordinary circumstances."

Review:

"...original and engrossing...an exploration of love and betrayal, as well as for some richly sensual evocations of the pleasures of eating." J. M. Coetzee, two-time Booker prize-winning author of Youth and Disgrace

Review:

"A striking debut....a wrenching existential drama that Blackwell handles with spare prose and abundant compassion." Elle

Review:

"Every detail — historical, geographical, botanical — is perfect and in its place, and thematerial itself is gripping. Yet the fiction, psychologically, remains penurious, brittle, unalive. Ambitiously conceived, carefully planned, impeccably researched — but, like a kind of term-paper — novel, curiously unmoving." Kirkus Reviews

Synopsis:

"Hunger" is a haunting and spare first novel about love and survival--and the beauty and pain that come with it--based on a heroic true story from the Siege of Leningrad.

Synopsis:

- As a tale of ordinary people caught up in extreme circumstances, HUNGER will appeal to readers of Ann Patchett's "Bel Canto, Sebastian Faulks's "Birdsong, and Wladyslaw Szpilman's "The Pianist.- A feat of imaginative storytelling--a novel that immerses the reader in passion and romance even as it puts a human face on some of the 20th century's darkest hours.- The novel's brevity and haunting power make it a perfect selection for reading groups. This paperback edition features a bound-in reading group guide.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

easyreeder, November 4, 2009 (view all comments by easyreeder)
Elegant, spare, lucid prose ... Blackwell unfolds the drama with quiet precision, and engulfs the reader with gripping illuminations.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 5 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780316907194
Author:
Blackwell, Elise
Publisher:
Back Bay Books
Subject:
General
Subject:
Literary
Copyright:
Publication Date:
May 2004
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Pages:
133
Dimensions:
7.18x5.04x.43 in. .26 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Johnny Too Bad: Stories Used Hardcover $1.95
  2. Any Human Heart
    Used Trade Paper $10.50
  3. Diary
    Used Hardcover $6.95
  4. Fresno Stories Used Trade Paper $7.00
  5. Hunger Bone : Rock and Roll Stories... Used Trade Paper $8.00
  6. Still Water Saints Used Hardcover $8.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Hunger Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 133 pages Back Bay Books - English 9780316907194 Reviews:
"Review A Day" by , "[A] story wrought with sensuous detail....This diminutive volume holds a spare 133 pages and measures a mere four-and-a-half by seven inches. But, what it lacks in size it makes up for in elegant, beautifully descriptive prose." (read the entire Powells.com review)
"Review" by , "...original and engrossing...an exploration of love and betrayal, as well as for some richly sensual evocations of the pleasures of eating."
"Review" by , "A striking debut....a wrenching existential drama that Blackwell handles with spare prose and abundant compassion."
"Review" by , "Every detail — historical, geographical, botanical — is perfect and in its place, and thematerial itself is gripping. Yet the fiction, psychologically, remains penurious, brittle, unalive. Ambitiously conceived, carefully planned, impeccably researched — but, like a kind of term-paper — novel, curiously unmoving."
"Synopsis" by , "Hunger" is a haunting and spare first novel about love and survival--and the beauty and pain that come with it--based on a heroic true story from the Siege of Leningrad.
"Synopsis" by , - As a tale of ordinary people caught up in extreme circumstances, HUNGER will appeal to readers of Ann Patchett's "Bel Canto, Sebastian Faulks's "Birdsong, and Wladyslaw Szpilman's "The Pianist.- A feat of imaginative storytelling--a novel that immerses the reader in passion and romance even as it puts a human face on some of the 20th century's darkest hours.- The novel's brevity and haunting power make it a perfect selection for reading groups. This paperback edition features a bound-in reading group guide.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.