Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | June 18, 2014

Daniel H. Wilson: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Daniel H. Wilson



Like many writers, I'm constantly haunting coffee shops with a laptop out and my headphones on. I listen to a lot of music while I write, and songs... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$26.00
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z
2 Burnside Literature- A to Z
1 Hawthorne Literature- A to Z
25 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z
3 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z
25 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

Vienna Nocturne

by

Vienna Nocturne Cover

ISBN13: 9780345536372
ISBN10: 0345536371
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of Paula McLain’s The Paris Wife and Laura Moriarty’s The Chaperone comes a sweeping historical love story and a portrait of an age. Vienna Nocturne is a deeply moving debut novel that brings to life two extraordinary figures—a thirty-year-old Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and a young English soprano, Anna Storace, who was his muse—in prose as spirited, timeless, and touching as Mozart’s greatest compositions.

In late-eighteenth-century London, a young girl takes her first singing lessons with a mysterious castrato in exile. Her life is forever changed. Having learned everything he can teach her, Anna leaves behind all the security and familiarity of home and journeys to Naples and Venice to struggle and triumph in Italy’s greatest opera houses. Only sixteen, she finds herself in an intoxicating world of theaters, nobility, and vice, overwhelmed by her newfound freedom and fame. Her first bitter experience of love and heartbreak inevitably follows.

Within a few years, Anna is invited to sing in Vienna, the City of Music, by the emperor himself. There, in a teasing game of theft and play, Anna first meets Mozart, a young virtuoso pianist and striving, prodigiously talented composer. They are matched in intellect and talent, and an immediate and undeniable charge occurs between the two, despite both being married to others.

As her star rises in Vienna and her personal life deteriorates, Anna experiences an ultimate crisis. During this trying time, her only light is Mozart: his energy, his determination for her, and his art. She, in turn, becomes his hope and inspiration, and his joy, as he writes for her some of his most exquisite and enduring arias—music that will live on as his masterworks.

Rich in historical detail and beautifully wrought by Vivien Shotwell, an author who is herself an opera singer, Vienna Nocturne is a dramatic tour de force of a woman’s struggle to find love and fame in an eighteenth-century world that controls and limits her at every turn.

Advance praise for Vienna Nocturne

 

“You don’t have to be an opera buff to fall deep into Vienna Nocturne. Vivien Shotwell catapults you straight into the eighteenth century with abundant, vivid detail. I found Anna Storace’s journey from prodigy to prima donna an irresistible tale.”—Nancy Horan, author of Loving Frank and Under the Wide and Starry Sky

 

“Passionate and yet precise, dense with feeling yet as clean as a bird in flight: This novel emulates Mozart’s music even as it beautifully imagines his love for a memorable singer. What an excellent debut!”—Andrea Barrett, National Book Award–winning author of Archangel and Ship Fever

 

Vienna Nocturne is as finely intelligent as it is lushly romantic, and beautifully renders how much music can convey, even when it’s hardly the only expressive tool lovers have at hand. Very few novels have expressed as persuasively how it feels to be taken up by the kind of passions that, despite everything, can make a soul huge with life and joy.”—Jim Shepard, author of National Book Award finalist Like You’d Understand, Anyway

 

“Vivien Shotwell has written a novel that, like her heroine, the singer Anna Storace, is brilliant, warm, irresistible, and infinitely moving. Her descriptions of music, of her characters, of Venice and Vienna are so vivid and so richly compelling that I was amazed to look up from these pages and discover that I was still in Massachusetts.”—Margot Livesey, author of The House on Fortune Street and The Flight of Gemma Hardy

Review:

"With her debut novel, classically trained singer Shotwell channels real life English-born soprano Anna Storace, a prodigy whose family eventually moves to the continent to further her career. Shotwell takes exuberant liberties with her teenage superstar, from Anna's voice training, beginning at age 11, by castrato Venanzio Rauzzini, to her early career in Milan and Venice — where the bold teenager embarks on a secret affair with randy 'primo buffo' star Francesco Benucci — and her sponsorship by the Holy Roman Emperor Joseph II in Vienna. It's 1783, Wolfgang Mozart is the toast of the town, and when the married composer meets Anna, the attraction is instant and undeniable. Theirs is a lush, passionate love story and, in Shotwell's capable hands, an astutely contemporary reflection on ambition, theater, and the politics of celebrity. Along the way, Anna will endure an abusive marriage to violinist John Fisher, who's been banned from Vienna for his brutality. She will also suffer the loss of her infant daughter (conceived with Benucci), and a near-career ending problem with her voice. Shotwell delivers a lyrical, youthful tale of love and loss set in the 18th century, but keeps it crisply modern with a blend of happy and tragic endings. The effort hits all the right notes, even for readers lacking any knowledge of opera." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

About the Author

Vivien Shotwell was born in Colorado and raised in Nova Scotia. A daughter of independent booksellers and a classically trained singer, she has received degrees in music and writing from Williams College, the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, and the Yale School of Music.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Melinda Ott, February 25, 2014 (view all comments by Melinda Ott)
My Thoughts:
I should have enjoyed this book more than I did. It seems to have so much going for it: a love story set in a rich historical period, colorful personalities, music. To be fair, these are things that would commend this book. However, it all just didn't come together for me.

The best way I can describe my experience reading this book is that there seemed to be a large pane of plexiglass between me and the action. I never felt that I got to know any of the characters, including the main character of Anna. She, like the rest of the characters, just didn't seem real to me. I have visited Vienna and was looking forward to Shotwell bringing it to life for me, but I never felt that. This could have taken place in London or Amsterdam or Paris as far as I was concerned.

The idea behind this is a good one--I was a bit surprised to find that Anna Storace was indeed a real person and was the inspiration for Mozart's Susannah in The Marriage of Figaro. I will say that I felt the pacing of the book was a bit off--this was supposed to be a love story between Mozart and Anna but, by the time Mozart ever came on the scene, I had the impression that this was instead a story of Anna and her conquests.

I will take responsibility on my pickiness here. It may be that I just expected too much from this book and another reader may have a different experience. Yet, this still isn't a book that I would recommend to another reader.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780345536372
Subtitle:
A Novel
Author:
Shotwell, Vivien
Publisher:
Ballantine Books
Subject:
Historical
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
historical fiction;music;mozart;fiction;opera
Subject:
historical fiction;historical novels;fiction;vienna;mozart;opera
Publication Date:
20140225
Binding:
Hardback
Language:
English
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
9.54 x 6.5 x 1.11 in 1.12 lb

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Contemporary Women

Vienna Nocturne New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$26.00 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Ballantine Books - English 9780345536372 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "With her debut novel, classically trained singer Shotwell channels real life English-born soprano Anna Storace, a prodigy whose family eventually moves to the continent to further her career. Shotwell takes exuberant liberties with her teenage superstar, from Anna's voice training, beginning at age 11, by castrato Venanzio Rauzzini, to her early career in Milan and Venice — where the bold teenager embarks on a secret affair with randy 'primo buffo' star Francesco Benucci — and her sponsorship by the Holy Roman Emperor Joseph II in Vienna. It's 1783, Wolfgang Mozart is the toast of the town, and when the married composer meets Anna, the attraction is instant and undeniable. Theirs is a lush, passionate love story and, in Shotwell's capable hands, an astutely contemporary reflection on ambition, theater, and the politics of celebrity. Along the way, Anna will endure an abusive marriage to violinist John Fisher, who's been banned from Vienna for his brutality. She will also suffer the loss of her infant daughter (conceived with Benucci), and a near-career ending problem with her voice. Shotwell delivers a lyrical, youthful tale of love and loss set in the 18th century, but keeps it crisply modern with a blend of happy and tragic endings. The effort hits all the right notes, even for readers lacking any knowledge of opera." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.