Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | November 28, 2014

    Eleanor Catton: IMG Eleanor Catton: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Beaverton Mystery- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

Crime of Privilege

by

Crime of Privilege Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of Scott Turow, William Landay, and Nelson DeMille, Crime of Privilege is a stunning thriller about power, corruption, and the law in America — and the dangerous ways they come together.

A murder on Cape Cod. A rape in Palm Beach.

All they have in common is the presence of one of America’s most beloved and influential families. But nobody is asking questions. Not the police. Not the prosecutors. And certainly not George Becket, a young lawyer toiling away in the basement of the Cape & Islands district attorney’s office. George has always lived at the edge of power. He wasn’t born to privilege, but he understands how it works and has benefited from it in ways he doesn’t like to admit. Now, an investigation brings him deep inside the world of the truly wealthy — and shows him what a perilous place it is.

Years have passed since a young woman was found brutally slain at an exclusive Cape Cod golf club, and no one has ever been charged. Cornered by the victim’s father, George can’t explain why certain leads were never explored — leads that point in the direction of a single family — and he agrees to look into it.

What begins as a search through the highly stratified layers of Cape Cod society, soon has George racing from Idaho to Hawaii, Costa Rica to France to New York City. But everywhere he goes he discovers people like himself: people with more secrets than answers, people haunted by a decision years past to trade silence for protection from life’s sharp edges. George finds his friends are not necessarily still friends and a spouse can be unfaithful in more ways than one. And despite threats at every turn, he is driven to reconstruct the victim’s last hours while searching not only for a killer but for his own redemption.

Review:

Crime of Privilege is not only a first-class legal thriller, it is an astute examination of our society and how we are corrupted by power and money. The rich are indeed different; they get away with murder. An absolutely engrossing read from beginning to end. Not only is it a well told story of crime and punishment, but also a finely nuanced tale of sin and redemption.” Nelson DeMille

Review:

Crime of Privilege is wonderfully written, and Walter Walker has a great talent, the God-given kind that can’t be taught or learned or acquired, and the reader knows it from the first paragraph of the book. The characters are complex and interesting yet also emblematic of all the players in the class war, which is the stuff of all epic stories. I love the protagonist, and I also love the portrayal of the world of the very rich. There is something about the very rich that is hard to describe, but Walter Walker got them in the camera’s lens perfectly.” James Lee Burke

Review:

“A gripping, chilling tale that pits privilege against pride, with a not-entirely-innocent man caught in the untenable middle.” Chris Pavone, New York Times bestselling author of The Expats

About the Author

Walter Walker is a trial lawyer in San Francisco. He lives in Marin County, California, and on Cape Cod.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780345541536
Author:
Walker, Walter
Publisher:
Ballantine Books
Subject:
Thrillers
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Publication Date:
20130631
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
432
Dimensions:
9.5 x 6.38 x 1.44 in 1.42 lb

Other books you might like

  1. A City of Broken Glass (Hannah Vogel) Used Hardcover $8.95
  2. The Golden Egg Used Hardcover $9.50
  3. A Dying Fall (Ruth Galloway Mysteries) New Trade Paper $14.95
  4. Gods and Beasts (Alex Morrow Novels) Used Trade Paper $7.50
  5. The Husband's Secret
    New Mass Market $12.50

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers

Crime of Privilege Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 432 pages Ballantine Books - English 9780345541536 Reviews:
"Review" by , Crime of Privilege is not only a first-class legal thriller, it is an astute examination of our society and how we are corrupted by power and money. The rich are indeed different; they get away with murder. An absolutely engrossing read from beginning to end. Not only is it a well told story of crime and punishment, but also a finely nuanced tale of sin and redemption.”
"Review" by , Crime of Privilege is wonderfully written, and Walter Walker has a great talent, the God-given kind that can’t be taught or learned or acquired, and the reader knows it from the first paragraph of the book. The characters are complex and interesting yet also emblematic of all the players in the class war, which is the stuff of all epic stories. I love the protagonist, and I also love the portrayal of the world of the very rich. There is something about the very rich that is hard to describe, but Walter Walker got them in the camera’s lens perfectly.”
"Review" by , “A gripping, chilling tale that pits privilege against pride, with a not-entirely-innocent man caught in the untenable middle.”
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.