Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 18, 2014

    Lin Enger: IMG Knowing vs. Knowing



    On a hot July evening years ago, my Toyota Tercel overheated on a flat stretch of highway north of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. A steam geyser shot up from... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Cooking and Food- Gastronomic Literature

More copies of this ISBN

Everything But the Squeal: Eating the Whole Hog in Northern Spain

by

Everything But the Squeal: Eating the Whole Hog in Northern Spain Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

John Barlow, self-confessed glutton, found himself in a tricky situation: living in one of the most meat-loving places on earth, married to a vegetarian.
 
The Barlows live in Galicia, the misty-green northwest corner of Spain, and home to a population that reveres and consumes every part of the pig. This gets Barlow thinking about the nature of our relationship with food—whats delicious, whats nasty, and what sort of obligation we have to the animals we eat. Over the course of one glorious, bilious year, Barlow vows to eat everything but the squeal.
 
In his travels, Barlow takes part in the thousand-year-old antthrowing festival of Laza. He makes pig-bladder puddings for carnival. He washes down lots of pork with lots of wine.

In the tradition of Calvin Trillin and Anthony Bourdain, Everything but the Squeal is an adventure in extreme eating, a hilariously quirky travel book, and a perceptive look at how what we eat makes us who we are.

Review:

"Self-confessed glutton, travel writer and novelist Barlow (Eating Mammals; Intoxicated) doesn't scrimp on either culinary or cultural delights in this charmingly informative and witty narrative. Barlow, a resident of the relatively unknown corner of Spain, sets himself the task of consuming every part of the staple meat of rural Galicia. Traveling with his Spanish wife, a vegetarian, and his infant son, Barlow serves up vivid tales encountered during the year dedicated to his 'porco-graphical tour.' But this tale is more than a culinary treat. Barlow is a companionable guide expounding upon history, traditions and the personalities of Galicia. His writing style is quick, lively and filled with delicious details. He takes readers on a sublime journey of the senses, including three Carnivals, one in Laza, a thousand-year-old event, combining ant throwing and a 'pig head bacchanal.' He explores why the cousin of Fidel Castro lives at the end of a dark muddy lane in a pokey hamlet, and tracks down Antn, the most famous pig in Galicia. And he indulges in a 12-course meal, including ribs, at one of Spain's most lauded restaurants. 'As the ribs sit in the gentle heat, that glorious, fat-infiltrated meat is slowly transforming into what was for me one of the most spellbinding dishes I have ever eaten.'" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Calvin Trillin and Anthony Bourdain, "Everything but the Squeal" is an adventure in extreme eating, a hilariously quirky travel book, and a perceptive look at how what people eat makes them who they are.

About the Author

JOHN BARLOW studied English literature at Cambridge. He is the author of a collection of novellas, Eating Mammals, which won a Paris Review Discovery Prize, and the novel Intoxicated, which has been translated into four languages. He lives in Spain with his wife and son.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780374150105
Subtitle:
Eating the Whole Hog in Northern Spain
Author:
Barlow, John
Publisher:
Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Subject:
Restaurants
Subject:
Europe - Spain & Portugal
Subject:
Gastronomy
Subject:
Cookery (pork)
Subject:
General
Subject:
Essays & Travelogues
Subject:
Travel-Spain
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Publication Date:
20081028
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Frontispiece
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.50 in

Other books you might like

  1. Dark Water: Flood and Redemption in... Used Hardcover $12.50
  2. Backyard Ballistics Used Trade Paper $6.50
  3. A Coffin for Dimitrios (Vintage... Used Trade Paper $6.50
  4. Nudge: Improving Decisions about... Used Hardcover $7.95
  5. Traitor to His Class: The Privileged...
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  6. In an Antique Land: History in the... Used Trade Paper $4.95

Related Subjects

Cooking and Food » Food Writing » Gastronomic Literature
Cooking and Food » Food Writing » General
Travel » Europe » Spain
Travel » Travel Writing » General

Everything But the Squeal: Eating the Whole Hog in Northern Spain Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Farrar Straus Giroux - English 9780374150105 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Self-confessed glutton, travel writer and novelist Barlow (Eating Mammals; Intoxicated) doesn't scrimp on either culinary or cultural delights in this charmingly informative and witty narrative. Barlow, a resident of the relatively unknown corner of Spain, sets himself the task of consuming every part of the staple meat of rural Galicia. Traveling with his Spanish wife, a vegetarian, and his infant son, Barlow serves up vivid tales encountered during the year dedicated to his 'porco-graphical tour.' But this tale is more than a culinary treat. Barlow is a companionable guide expounding upon history, traditions and the personalities of Galicia. His writing style is quick, lively and filled with delicious details. He takes readers on a sublime journey of the senses, including three Carnivals, one in Laza, a thousand-year-old event, combining ant throwing and a 'pig head bacchanal.' He explores why the cousin of Fidel Castro lives at the end of a dark muddy lane in a pokey hamlet, and tracks down Antn, the most famous pig in Galicia. And he indulges in a 12-course meal, including ribs, at one of Spain's most lauded restaurants. 'As the ribs sit in the gentle heat, that glorious, fat-infiltrated meat is slowly transforming into what was for me one of the most spellbinding dishes I have ever eaten.'" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Calvin Trillin and Anthony Bourdain, "Everything but the Squeal" is an adventure in extreme eating, a hilariously quirky travel book, and a perceptive look at how what people eat makes them who they are.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.