Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | December 2, 2014

    Cary Elwes: IMG Cary Elwes: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Epitaph of a Small Winner

Epitaph of a Small Winner Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In these memoirs, Braz Cubas, a wealthy nineteenth-century Brazilian, examines (from beyond the grave) his rather undistinguished life in 160 short chapters that are filled with philosophical digressions and exuberant insights. A clear forerunner of Gabriel García Márquez and Jorge Luis Borges, Epitaph for a Small Winner, first published in 1880, is one of the wittiest self-portraits in literary history as well as “one of the masterpieces of Brazilian literature” (Salman Rushdie).

Synopsis:

“I am a deceased writer not in the sense of one who has written and is now deceased, but in the sense of one who had died and is now writing.” So begins the posthumous memoir of Braz Cubas, a wealthy nineteenth-century Brazilian. Though the grave has given Cubas the distance to examine his rather undistinguished life, it has not dampened his sense of humor. In the tradition of Laurence Sterns Tristram Shamdy, Epitaph of a Small Winner is one of the wittiest self-portraits in literary history.

About the Author

Machado de Assis (1839-1908) is considered one of Brazils greatest novelists.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780374521929
Subtitle:
A Novel
Translator:
Grossman, William L.
Translator:
Grossman, William L.
Author:
Grossman, William L.
Author:
Joaquim Maria Machado de Assis
Author:
Assis, Machado de
Author:
de Assis, Machado
Author:
de, Machado
Author:
Sontag, Susan
Author:
De Assis, Machado
Publisher:
Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Location:
New York :
Subject:
General
Subject:
Literary
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series Volume:
3
Publication Date:
19900801
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
236
Dimensions:
8.3 x 5.52 x 0.66 in

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Latin America

Epitaph of a Small Winner
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 236 pages Farrar Straus Giroux - English 9780374521929 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
“I am a deceased writer not in the sense of one who has written and is now deceased, but in the sense of one who had died and is now writing.” So begins the posthumous memoir of Braz Cubas, a wealthy nineteenth-century Brazilian. Though the grave has given Cubas the distance to examine his rather undistinguished life, it has not dampened his sense of humor. In the tradition of Laurence Sterns Tristram Shamdy, Epitaph of a Small Winner is one of the wittiest self-portraits in literary history.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.