Tournament of Books 2015
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | January 6, 2015

    Matt Burgess: IMG 35 Seconds



    Late at night on September 22, 2014, at a housing project basketball court in Brooklyn, a white cop pushes a black man against a chain link fence.... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
List price: $16.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

Zeno's Conscience

by

Zeno's Conscience Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Long hailed as a seminal work of modernism in the tradition of Joyce and Kafka, and now available in a supple new English translation, Italo Svevo’s charming and splendidly idiosyncratic novel conducts readers deep into one hilariously hyperactive and endlessly self-deluding mind. The mind in question belongs to Zeno Cosini, a neurotic Italian businessman who is writing his confessions at the behest of his psychiatrist. Here are Zeno’s interminable attempts to quit smoking, his courtship of the beautiful yet unresponsive Ada, his unexpected–and unexpectedly happy–marriage to Ada’s homely sister Augusta, and his affair with a shrill-voiced aspiring singer. Relating these misadventures with wry wit and a perspicacity at once unblinking and compassionate, Zeno’s Conscience is a miracle of psychological realism.

Synopsis:

Includes bibliographical references (p. xxvii).

Synopsis:

Long hailed as a seminal work of modernism in the tradition of Joyce and Kafka, and now available in a supple new English translation, Italo Svevos charming and splendidly idiosyncratic novel conducts readers deep into one hilariously hyperactive and endlessly self-deluding mind. The mind in question belongs to Zeno Cosini, a neurotic Italian businessman who is writing his confessions at the behest of his psychiatrist. Here are Zenos interminable attempts to quit smoking, his courtship of the beautiful yet unresponsive Ada, his unexpected-and unexpectedly happy-marriage to Adas homely sister Augusta, and his affair with a shrill-voiced aspiring singer. Relating these misadventures with wry wit and a perspicacity at once unblinking and compassionate, Zenos Conscience is a miracle of psychological realism.

About the Author

Italo Svevo, whose real name was Ettore Schmitz, was born in Trieste in 1861. He was educated in Trieste and in a commercial school in Germany and returned to his birthplace to begin a business career that he pursued successfully until his death. He published three novels (at his own expense): Una vita (1892; English translation: A Life), Senilità (1898; English translation: Emilios Carnival; also translated under the title As a Man Grows Older), and La coscienza di Zeno (1923; English translation: Zenos Conscience; also translated under the title Confessions of Zeno). After his first two novels were ignored, Svevo considered giving up writing and devoting himself full-time to business. Aiming to improve his English, he fell under the tutelage of James Joyce, twenty years his junior. Svevo read early portions of Dubliners, and Joyce read Svevos two novels and encouraged him to take up writing again. When Svevo completed Zenos Conscience, Joyce arranged to have it published in France, where Svevo was dubbed “the Italian Proust.” He soon emerged from obscurity in Italy, and his rank as a major writer was already established when he died in a car accident in 1928.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375727764
Translator:
Weaver, William
Preface:
Hardwick, Elizabeth
Preface by:
Hardwick, Elizabeth
Preface:
Hardwick, Elizabeth
Author:
Svevo, Italo
Author:
Weaver, William
Publisher:
Vintage Books USA
Location:
New York
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Psychiatrists
Subject:
Cosini, Zeno
Subject:
Conscience
Subject:
Psychologist and patient
Subject:
Psychological fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
fiction;novel;italy;literature;italian literature;20th century;psychoanalysis;modernism;smoking;1920s;classic;humor;narrativa italiana;classics;romance;marriage;unreliable narrator;psychology
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Vintage International
Series Volume:
no. 16
Publication Date:
20030231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
1 MAP
Pages:
464
Dimensions:
8.02x5.22x1.05 in. .73 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. The Book of Disquiet
    Used Trade Paper $13.95
  2. Leopard Used Trade Paper $5.50
  3. The Magic Lantern: Having a Ball and... Used Trade Paper $27.00
  4. Encyclopedia of the Dead (European... Used Trade Paper $10.50
  5. The Kingdom of This World Used Trade Paper $7.50
  6. The Sleepwalkers: A Trilogy Used Trade Paper $10.95

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Zeno's Conscience Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 464 pages Vintage Books USA - English 9780375727764 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Includes bibliographical references (p. xxvii).
"Synopsis" by , Long hailed as a seminal work of modernism in the tradition of Joyce and Kafka, and now available in a supple new English translation, Italo Svevos charming and splendidly idiosyncratic novel conducts readers deep into one hilariously hyperactive and endlessly self-deluding mind. The mind in question belongs to Zeno Cosini, a neurotic Italian businessman who is writing his confessions at the behest of his psychiatrist. Here are Zenos interminable attempts to quit smoking, his courtship of the beautiful yet unresponsive Ada, his unexpected-and unexpectedly happy-marriage to Adas homely sister Augusta, and his affair with a shrill-voiced aspiring singer. Relating these misadventures with wry wit and a perspicacity at once unblinking and compassionate, Zenos Conscience is a miracle of psychological realism.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.