Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | November 7, 2014

    Carli Davidson: IMG Puppies for Sale? Read This First



    Shake Puppies contains an almost unsettling amount of cuteness. There is a good chance after looking through its pages you will get puppy fever and... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
List price: $13.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

The Three Miss Margarets

by

The Three Miss Margarets Cover

ISBN13: 9780375760884
ISBN10: 0375760881
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $5.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Miss Peggy, Dr. Maggie, and Miss Li'l Bit, friends and confidantes for nearly a lifetime, find it funny and bewildering that they have become icons in Charles Valley, Georgia. Little does the rest of the town know that beneath the irreproachable façades of its three doyennes lies an explosive decades-old secret that is about to be revealed.

Thirty-odd years ago the three Miss Margarets did something extraordinary, clandestine, and very illegal. Although their lives are haunted by the night that changed their lives, they believe that their crime was simply a matter of righting an egregious wrong. But when a stranger's arrival in town and a tragic death open the floodgate of memory, their loyalty, friendship, and honor are tested in ways they could never have imagined.

Review:

"[A] winning debut....[T]he three Miss Margarets are wholly imagined, rich creations whose reticence speaks volumes about their time and place." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"Shaffer unravels this tale with skill, building enough sense of foreboding to be enticing as she reveals the backgrounds of the major characters...and brings it all to a satisfying conclusion. This has likely appeal to book groups." Booklist

Review:

"Rich, funny....Fans of Fannie Flagg and Adriana Trigiani, take note. Shaffer has created a little piece of heaven." The Philadelphia Inquirer

Review:

"First fiction endangered by a life-threatening case of exposition." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"A romp of a read — warm but never smarmy, wise without pretense of profundity. Shaffer tells a good story that's part mystery but mostly an exploration of loyalty and friendship." St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Review:

"The Miss Margarets are treasures....Shaffer unfolds the story deftly....Each of the three Miss Margarets is a wonderfully realized character; each has a closely guarded secret life." The Boston Globe

Review:

"Shaffer has a knack for building complex characters with clever, cutting lines....[The] fractured [storytelling], combined with the melodrama of the plot...prevents the book from being as good as it might have been in Shaffer's entertaining hands." Book Magazine

Review:

"Louise Shaffer is a magnificent storyteller. She weaves a tale so rich and compelling, you will be unable to put it down. A triumph!" Adriana Trigiani, author of the Big Stone Gap trilogy

Review:

"What a pleasure it is to hear the voice of Louise Shaffer, and all the wonderful characters she brings to life in The Three Miss Margarets. An entire world is splendidly evoked, a gripping mystery heightens the tension, and always we are guided along with great skill by the fresh, funny voice of the author. I loved this book." Mark Childress, author of Crazy in Alabama

Review:

"Shaffer's neatly crafted tale is relatively short, but each of the major characters gets her due, and the final scene brings the whole to a satisfying close." Nancy Pate, Orlando Sentinel

Synopsis:

Little does the town of Charles Valley, Georgia, know that beneath the irreproachable facades of its three most famous doyennes lies an explosive decades-old secret that is about to be revealed.

About the Author

Louise Shaffer, a graduate of Yale Drama School, has written for television and has appeared on Broadway, in TV movies, and in daytime dramas, earning an Emmy for her work on Ryan's Hope. Shaffer and her husband live in the Lower Hudson Valley.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 3 comments:

Sprite, August 4, 2012 (view all comments by Sprite)
Perspective,to understand any situation a person needs to be willing consider other perspectives. It's a story about a small Georgia town~the three Miss Margarets, Laurel,drinking, friends,being a misfit,outcast for one reason or another and the comfort of long time friends. It's a breezy book, however that doesn't mean it doesn't have any heft~will be passing it along to a southern friend.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Madam Pince, September 28, 2008 (view all comments by Madam Pince)
Three strong-willed Southern women unite to keep an awful secret, without considering the young woman it accidentally damages. While I'm glad I read this novel, Ms. Shaffer would have done her tale more justice by creating a less abrupt ending. As it stands, an otherwise excellent story is amputated, rather than concluded.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 5 readers found this comment helpful)
rlslick, December 13, 2006 (view all comments by rlslick)
Loved it! It had a wonderful storyline, that kept you wanting to come back for more.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(4 of 8 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 3 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375760884
Author:
Shaffer, Louise
Publisher:
Ballantine Books
Subject:
General
Subject:
Psychological
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
fiction;georgia;friendship
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
August 2004
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
8.02x5.18x.73 in. .55 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. The Whore's Child: And Other Stories Used Trade Paper $3.95
  2. Lunch at the Piccadilly
    New Trade Paper $13.95
  3. The Corrections
    Used Hardcover $3.50
  4. The Prisoner Pear: Stories from the Lake
    New Trade Paper $16.25
  5. An American childhood Used Hardcover $2.95
  6. Consider the Lily Used Trade Paper $1.48

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

The Three Miss Margarets Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Ballantine Books - English 9780375760884 Reviews:
"Review" by , "[A] winning debut....[T]he three Miss Margarets are wholly imagined, rich creations whose reticence speaks volumes about their time and place."
"Review" by , "Shaffer unravels this tale with skill, building enough sense of foreboding to be enticing as she reveals the backgrounds of the major characters...and brings it all to a satisfying conclusion. This has likely appeal to book groups."
"Review" by , "Rich, funny....Fans of Fannie Flagg and Adriana Trigiani, take note. Shaffer has created a little piece of heaven."
"Review" by , "First fiction endangered by a life-threatening case of exposition."
"Review" by , "A romp of a read — warm but never smarmy, wise without pretense of profundity. Shaffer tells a good story that's part mystery but mostly an exploration of loyalty and friendship."
"Review" by , "The Miss Margarets are treasures....Shaffer unfolds the story deftly....Each of the three Miss Margarets is a wonderfully realized character; each has a closely guarded secret life."
"Review" by , "Shaffer has a knack for building complex characters with clever, cutting lines....[The] fractured [storytelling], combined with the melodrama of the plot...prevents the book from being as good as it might have been in Shaffer's entertaining hands."
"Review" by , "Louise Shaffer is a magnificent storyteller. She weaves a tale so rich and compelling, you will be unable to put it down. A triumph!"
"Review" by , "What a pleasure it is to hear the voice of Louise Shaffer, and all the wonderful characters she brings to life in The Three Miss Margarets. An entire world is splendidly evoked, a gripping mystery heightens the tension, and always we are guided along with great skill by the fresh, funny voice of the author. I loved this book."
"Review" by , "Shaffer's neatly crafted tale is relatively short, but each of the major characters gets her due, and the final scene brings the whole to a satisfying close."
"Synopsis" by , Little does the town of Charles Valley, Georgia, know that beneath the irreproachable facades of its three most famous doyennes lies an explosive decades-old secret that is about to be revealed.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.