Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | April 8, 2014

Shawn Donley: IMG Gabrielle Zevin: The Powells.com Interview



Gabrielle ZevinThe American Booksellers Association collects nominations from bookstores all over the country for favorite forthcoming titles. The Storied Life of... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry

    Gabrielle Zevin 9781616203214

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
List price: $8.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General
1 Hawthorne Children's Young Adult- General

Saving Francesca

by

Saving Francesca Cover

ISBN13: 9780375829833
ISBN10: 0375829830
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $4.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

MOST OF MY friends now go to Pius Senior College, but my mother wouldnt allow it because she says the girls there leave with limited options and she didnt bring me up to have limitations placed upon me. If you know my mother, youll sense theres an irony there, based on the fact that she is the Queen of the Limitation Placers in my life.

Francesca battles her mother, Mia, constantly over whats best for her. All Francesca wants is her old friends and her old school, but instead Mia sends her to St. Sebastians, an all-boys school that has just opened its doors to girls. Now Francescas surrounded by hundreds of boys, with only a few other girls for company. All of them weirdosor worse.

Then one day, Mia is too depressed to get out of bed. One day turns into months, and as her family begins to fall apart, Francesca realizes that without her mothers high spirits, she hardly knows who she is. But she doesnt yet realize that shes more like Mia than she thinks. With a little unlikely help from St. Sebastians, she just might be able to save her family, her friends, andespeciallyherself.

From the Hardcover edition.

Synopsis:

A compelling story of romance, family, and friendship with humor and heart, perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Lauren Myracle.

Francesca is stuck at St. Sebastian’s, a boys' school that's pretends it's coed by giving the girls their own bathroom.  Her only female companions are an ultra-feminist, a rumored slut, and an impossibly dorky accordion player.  The boys are no better, from Thomas, who specializes in musical burping, to Will, the perpetually frowning, smug moron that Francesca can't seem to stop thinking about.

 

Then there's Francesca's mother, who always thinks she knows what's best for Francesca—until she is suddenly stricken with acute depression, leaving Francesca lost, alone, and without an inkling of who she really is.  Simultaneously humorous, poignant, and impossible to put down, this is the story of a girl who must summon the strength to save her family, hersocial life and—hardest of all—herself.

From the Hardcover edition.

Synopsis:

Francesca is stuck at St. Sebastians, a boys' school that's pretends it's coed by giving the girls their own bathroom.  Her only female companions are an ultra-feminist, a rumored slut, and an an impossibly dorky accordion player.  The boys are no better, from Thomas who specializes in musical burping to Will, the perpetually frowning, smug moron that Francesca can't seem to stop thinking about.

Then there's Francesca's mother, who always thinks she knows what's best for Francesca—until she is suddenly stricken with acute depression, leaving Francesca lost, along, and without an inkling who she really is.  Simultaneously humorous, poignant, and impossible to put down, this is the story of a girl who must summon the strength to save her family, her social life and—hardest of all—herself.

About the Author

Melina Marchetta lives in Sydney, Australia, and is also the author of Looking for Alibrandi and Jellicoe Road, winner of the Printz award.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Jenn, September 2, 2006 (view all comments by Jenn)
This is an excellent book set in Sydney Australia. Francesca is one of only 30 girls attending a (formerly) all boys school. Her mother is struggling with depression, and Francesca is having a hard time fitting in and enjoying her last year in high school.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(13 of 28 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375829833
Author:
Marchetta, Melina
Publisher:
Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Subject:
Girls & Women
Subject:
Children's 12-Up - Fiction - General
Subject:
Family life
Subject:
Schools
Subject:
Social Issues - Depression & Mental Illness
Subject:
Family
Subject:
Australia
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-Depression and Mental Illness
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20060531
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
8.34x4.86x.56 in. .42 lbs.
Age Level:
12-17

Other books you might like

  1. Al Capone Does My Shirts
    Used Book Club Paperback $2.95
  2. Chief Sunrise, John Mcgraw, and Me
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  3. Snakecharm: The Kiesha'ra: Volume Two Used Hardcover $3.95
  4. So B. It
    Used Book Club Hardcover $0.95
  5. Behind You Used Hardcover $1.75
  6. Bucking the Sarge (Readers Circle) Used Mass Market $2.50

Related Subjects


Children's » General
Children's » Sale Books
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Depression and Mental Illness
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Peer Pressure
Young Adult » General

Saving Francesca Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details 256 pages Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - English 9780375829833 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , A compelling story of romance, family, and friendship with humor and heart, perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Lauren Myracle.

Francesca is stuck at St. Sebastian’s, a boys' school that's pretends it's coed by giving the girls their own bathroom.  Her only female companions are an ultra-feminist, a rumored slut, and an impossibly dorky accordion player.  The boys are no better, from Thomas, who specializes in musical burping, to Will, the perpetually frowning, smug moron that Francesca can't seem to stop thinking about.

 

Then there's Francesca's mother, who always thinks she knows what's best for Francesca—until she is suddenly stricken with acute depression, leaving Francesca lost, alone, and without an inkling of who she really is.  Simultaneously humorous, poignant, and impossible to put down, this is the story of a girl who must summon the strength to save her family, hersocial life and—hardest of all—herself.

From the Hardcover edition.

"Synopsis" by , Francesca is stuck at St. Sebastians, a boys' school that's pretends it's coed by giving the girls their own bathroom.  Her only female companions are an ultra-feminist, a rumored slut, and an an impossibly dorky accordion player.  The boys are no better, from Thomas who specializes in musical burping to Will, the perpetually frowning, smug moron that Francesca can't seem to stop thinking about.

Then there's Francesca's mother, who always thinks she knows what's best for Francesca—until she is suddenly stricken with acute depression, leaving Francesca lost, along, and without an inkling who she really is.  Simultaneously humorous, poignant, and impossible to put down, this is the story of a girl who must summon the strength to save her family, her social life and—hardest of all—herself.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.