The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lauren Owen: IMG The Other Vampire



It's a wild and thundery night. Inside a ramshackle old manor house, a beautiful young girl lies asleep in bed. At the window, a figure watches... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's Young Adult- General

More copies of this ISBN

Exposed

by

Exposed Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the dim light of the darkroom, I'm alone, but not for long.

As white turns to gray, Kate is with me.

The background of the dance studio blurred, so the focus is all on her

legs extended in a perfect soaring split.

The straight line to my squiggle,

my forever-best friend.

Sixteen-year-old Liz is Photogirl—sharp, focused and confident in what she sees through her camera lens. Confident that she and Kate will be best friends forever.

But everything changes in one blurry night. Suddenly, Kate is avoiding her, and people are looking the other way when she passes in the halls. As the aftershocks from a startling accusation rip through Liz's world, everything she thought she knew about photography, family, friendship and herself shifts out of focus. What happens when the picture you see no longer makes sense? What do you do when you may lose everything you love most? Told in stunning, searingly raw free verse, Exposed is Kimberly Marcus's gut-wrenching, riveting debut and will appeal to fans of Ellen Hopkins, Laurie Halse Anderson and Virginia Euwer Wolff.

Review:

"This provocative first novel, told in free-verse poems, offers a nuanced view of the ramifications of a rape, as seen through the eyes of 16-year-old Liz, an avid photographer. Marcus captures Liz's divided allegiances between the accused — her brother, a college student with whom Liz has an ambivalent but loving relationship — and her best friend, Kate, the victim ('My brother is a track star./ My brother is a partier.... My brother/ is not/ a rapist'). The stages of grief are well developed, as Liz negotiates the social consequences of the alleged rape, the loss of Kate as a friend, and her guilt for leaving Kate alone after a fight at a sleepover. In one poem, 'Distraction,' Liz claims to accept the loss, but says, 'And except for a few times/ every few minutes,/ I hardly think about Kate/ at all.' Liz's relationships with her parents and peers offer poignant moments, such as when she lies to protect her mother from the rumors she hears at school. Marcus presents a thought-provoking portrait of rape and its irreparable impact on victim and community. Ages 14 — up. (Feb.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)

Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Liz is Photogirl--sharp, focused, and confident in what she sees through her camera lens. Suddenly, as the aftershocks from a startling accusation rip through Liz's world, everything she thought she knew about photography, family, friendship, and herself shifts out of focus.

About the Author

KIMBERLY MARCUS lives with her husband and two children near the beach in Massachusetts, not far from the ferry to Martha's Vineyard. She is a clinical social worker specializing in the treatment of childhood and adolescent trauma. Exposed is her first novel. You can visit her on the Web at KimberlyMarcus.com.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375866937
Author:
Marcus, Kimberly
Publisher:
Random House Books for Young Readers
Subject:
Social Issues - Sexual Abuse
Subject:
Social Issues - Friendship
Subject:
Family - General
Subject:
Friendship
Subject:
Schools
Subject:
Situations / Sexual Abuse
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-Sexual Abuse
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Publication Date:
20110222
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 9
Language:
English
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
8.57 x 6.03 x .98 in .845 lb
Age Level:
from 14

Other books you might like

  1. The Running Dream
    Sale Trade Paper $4.98

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Sexual Abuse
Young Adult » General

Exposed Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 272 pages Random House Books for Young Readers - English 9780375866937 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "This provocative first novel, told in free-verse poems, offers a nuanced view of the ramifications of a rape, as seen through the eyes of 16-year-old Liz, an avid photographer. Marcus captures Liz's divided allegiances between the accused — her brother, a college student with whom Liz has an ambivalent but loving relationship — and her best friend, Kate, the victim ('My brother is a track star./ My brother is a partier.... My brother/ is not/ a rapist'). The stages of grief are well developed, as Liz negotiates the social consequences of the alleged rape, the loss of Kate as a friend, and her guilt for leaving Kate alone after a fight at a sleepover. In one poem, 'Distraction,' Liz claims to accept the loss, but says, 'And except for a few times/ every few minutes,/ I hardly think about Kate/ at all.' Liz's relationships with her parents and peers offer poignant moments, such as when she lies to protect her mother from the rumors she hears at school. Marcus presents a thought-provoking portrait of rape and its irreparable impact on victim and community. Ages 14 — up. (Feb.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)
"Synopsis" by , Sixteen-year-old Liz is Photogirl--sharp, focused, and confident in what she sees through her camera lens. Suddenly, as the aftershocks from a startling accusation rip through Liz's world, everything she thought she knew about photography, family, friendship, and herself shifts out of focus.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.