Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 15, 2014

    Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



    There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$12.95
List price: $17.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's- Science Fiction and Fantasy
2 Burnside Children's Middle Readers- General

More copies of this ISBN

Books of Beginning #01: The Emerald Atlas

by

Books of Beginning #01: The Emerald Atlas Cover

ISBN13: 9780375868702
ISBN10: 0375868704
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 3 left in stock at $12.95!

 

Awards

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Two wondrous adventures in one special gift set!

 

Called “a new Narnia for the tween set” by the New York Times and perfect for fans of the His Dark Materials series, The Emerald Atlas and The Fire Chronicle brim with humor and action as they chart Kate, Michael, and Emma’s extraordinary adventures through an unforgettable, enchanted world.

 

These three siblings have been in one orphanage after another for the last ten years, passed along like lost baggage. Yet they are more remarkable than they could possibly imagine. Ripped from their parents as babies, they are being protected from a horrible evil of devastating power, an evil they know nothing about.

 

Until now.

 

Before long, Kate, Michael, and Emma are on a journey through time to dangerous and secret corners of the world . . . a journey of allies and enemies, of magic and mayhem.  And—if an ancient prophecy is correct—their actions have the power to change history. It is up to them to set things right.

Review:

"This promising first volume in debut author Stephens's Books of Beginning trilogy concerns siblings Kate, Michael, and Emma, who, when very young, were taken from their parents to protect them from unspecified forces of darkness. They have since spent 10 years in a series of unpleasant orphanages; the last of these — which, oddly enough, houses no children but themselves — is run by the eccentric Dr. Pym. While exploring their palatial yet decrepit new home tucked away in the Adirondacks, the children discover a magical green book, which transports them into the recent past. There they do battle with a beautiful witch who has terrorized and enslaved the local people in her unsuccessful search for the very book the children possess. Adventures follow, featuring murderous zombielike Screechers, time travel paradoxes, and multiple revelations about Dr. Pym. If Stephens's characterizations sometimes dip into cliché (grumpy, Scottish-ish dwarves; noble/heroic natives; an effete evil assistant), few will mind. This fast-paced, fully imagined fantasy is by turns frightening and funny, and the siblings are well-crafted and empathetic heroes. Highly enjoyable, it should find many readers. Ages 8 — 12. (Apr.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright PWyxz LLC)

Synopsis:

Angels and demons, mystery and magic cast a page-turning spell in this humorous middle grade fantasy debut.

Synopsis:

Jonathan Smith thinks hes a regular twelve-year-old living a normal life in England with his parents. His first clue to the contrary is the faceless monsters in suits and bowler hats that crash into his familys cottage. Its not until he wakes up alone in the unfamiliar village of Hobbes End that his true identity is revealed: his mothers a demon, his dads an angel, and his grandfather Gabriel is the villages angel-turned-clockmaker. As Jonathans one-of-a-kind angel-demon powers start to kick in, he wonders if he can prevent the archdemon Belial from taking over Heaven and Hell . . . let alone round up his parents. A swashbuckling fantasy debut!

Synopsis:

The third book in the quirky and enchanting Darwen Arkwright series, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society!

THE FIGHT FOR BOTH OUR WORLDS MUST COME TO AN END.

Mr. Peregrine has been kidnapped! Now it's up to Darwen, Rich, and Alexandra to rescue him. They'll embark upon a journey that will take them deeper into Silbrica than they've ever gone before, and there, on the other side of the mirror, they'll find the strangest sight of all: an exact replica of Hillside Academy. This is only the first of many connections that Darwen and his friends are about to discover between the human world and the world of Silbrica. And as the connections begin piling up, they'll be forced to confront the most horrifying realization of all: they've been lied to this entire time.

and#160;

Video

About the Author

JOHN STEPHENS spent ten years in television, and was executive producer of Gossip Girls and a writer for Gilmore Girls and The O.C.  He holds an MFA from the University of Virginia and was inspired to write novels for children after reading Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials trilogy.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Richard Godsell-Jures, September 1, 2011 (view all comments by Richard Godsell-Jures)
Lately, I've been on a Young Adult reading kick. I guess I get tired of what Adult Fiction has to offer and look to this genue or it could be the nine year old living inside me. Whatever it is, I found The Emerald Atlas to be very exciting. This book has something for the young and the old. The story is about three orphans, Kate, Michael, and Emma being wisked away late at night by a friend of their parents and left at a home for orphans until the parents can come and get them. The children keep messing up their chances for adoption and are moved from one orphanage to another. Then the Mother-From-Hell decides to adopt them no matter what and the Journey begins. What a great read. I'm sure your inner child will love this book.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 3 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375868702
Author:
Stephens, John
Publisher:
Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Author:
Hartley, A. J.
Author:
Osborne, Emily
Author:
Pashley, Hilton
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Children s-Science Fiction and Fantasy
Subject:
fantasy;time travel;magic;orphans;adventure;fiction;ya;siblings;dwarves;family;young adult;wizards;juvenile;children;children s fiction;witches
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Series:
Darwen Arkwright
Series Volume:
2
Publication Date:
20110431
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 3 up to 7
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Chapter art
Pages:
448
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 8 up to 12

Other books you might like

  1. Warden of Greyrock Used Mass Market $5.95
  2. Fallen
    Used Hardcover $2.50
  3. Angel Burn (Angel (Candlewick)
    Used Trade Paper $6.95
  4. The Throne of Fire (The Kane...
    Used Hardcover $6.95
  5. Chasing Lincoln's Killer
    Used Hardcover $9.00
  6. Prom and Prejudice
    Used Hardcover $4.50

Related Subjects


Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General

Books of Beginning #01: The Emerald Atlas Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$12.95 In Stock
Product details 448 pages Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - English 9780375868702 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "This promising first volume in debut author Stephens's Books of Beginning trilogy concerns siblings Kate, Michael, and Emma, who, when very young, were taken from their parents to protect them from unspecified forces of darkness. They have since spent 10 years in a series of unpleasant orphanages; the last of these — which, oddly enough, houses no children but themselves — is run by the eccentric Dr. Pym. While exploring their palatial yet decrepit new home tucked away in the Adirondacks, the children discover a magical green book, which transports them into the recent past. There they do battle with a beautiful witch who has terrorized and enslaved the local people in her unsuccessful search for the very book the children possess. Adventures follow, featuring murderous zombielike Screechers, time travel paradoxes, and multiple revelations about Dr. Pym. If Stephens's characterizations sometimes dip into cliché (grumpy, Scottish-ish dwarves; noble/heroic natives; an effete evil assistant), few will mind. This fast-paced, fully imagined fantasy is by turns frightening and funny, and the siblings are well-crafted and empathetic heroes. Highly enjoyable, it should find many readers. Ages 8 — 12. (Apr.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright PWyxz LLC)
"Synopsis" by ,
Angels and demons, mystery and magic cast a page-turning spell in this humorous middle grade fantasy debut.
"Synopsis" by ,
Jonathan Smith thinks hes a regular twelve-year-old living a normal life in England with his parents. His first clue to the contrary is the faceless monsters in suits and bowler hats that crash into his familys cottage. Its not until he wakes up alone in the unfamiliar village of Hobbes End that his true identity is revealed: his mothers a demon, his dads an angel, and his grandfather Gabriel is the villages angel-turned-clockmaker. As Jonathans one-of-a-kind angel-demon powers start to kick in, he wonders if he can prevent the archdemon Belial from taking over Heaven and Hell . . . let alone round up his parents. A swashbuckling fantasy debut!
"Synopsis" by ,
The third book in the quirky and enchanting Darwen Arkwright series, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society!

THE FIGHT FOR BOTH OUR WORLDS MUST COME TO AN END.

Mr. Peregrine has been kidnapped! Now it's up to Darwen, Rich, and Alexandra to rescue him. They'll embark upon a journey that will take them deeper into Silbrica than they've ever gone before, and there, on the other side of the mirror, they'll find the strangest sight of all: an exact replica of Hillside Academy. This is only the first of many connections that Darwen and his friends are about to discover between the human world and the world of Silbrica. And as the connections begin piling up, they'll be forced to confront the most horrifying realization of all: they've been lied to this entire time.

and#160;

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.