This is the International Mystery Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | March 10, 2015

    J. C. Hallman: IMG One in the Oven; or, Why You Should Suck It Up and Meet Your Favorite Author



    At first, I was dead set against it. I would not try to meet Nicholson Baker while I was writing a book about Nicholson Baker. I had a good reason... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General

The Alchemyst: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel

by

The Alchemyst: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel Cover

ISBN13: 9780385612937
ISBN10: 0385612931
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $5.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

He holds the secret that can end the world.

The truth: Nicholas Flamel was born in Paris on September 28, 1330. Nearly 700 years later, he is acknowledged as the greatest Alchemyst of his day. It is said that he discovered the secret of eternal life.

The records show that he died in 1418.

But his tomb is empty.

The legend: Nicholas Flamel lives. But only because he has been making the elixir of life for centuries. The secret of eternal life is hidden within the book he protects — the Book of Abraham the Mage. It's the most powerful book that has ever existed. In the wrong hands, it will destroy the world. That's exactly what Dr. John Dee plans to do when he steals it. Humankind won't know what's happening until it's too late. And if the prophecy is right, Sophie and Josh Newman are the only ones with the power to save the world as we know it.

Sometimes legends are true.

And Sophie and Josh Newman are about to find themselves in the middle of the greatest legend of all time.

Review:

"Twin 15-year-old siblings Sophie and Josh Newman take summer jobs in San Francisco across the street from one another: she at a coffee shop, he at a bookstore owned by Nick and Perry Fleming. In the vey first chapter, armed goons garbed in black with 'dead-looking skin and... marble eyes' (actually Golems) storm the bookshop, take Perry hostage and swipe a rare Book (but not before Josh snatches its two most important pages). The stolen volume is the Codex, an ancient text of magical wisdom. Nick Fleming is really Nicholas Flamel, the 14th-century alchemist who could turn base metal into gold, and make a potion that ensures immortality. Sophie and Josh learn that they are mentioned in the Codex's prophecies: 'The two that are one will come either to save or to destroy the world.' Mayhem ensues, as Irish author Scott draws on a wide knowledge of world mythology to stage a battle between the Dark Elders and their hired gun — Dr. John Dee — against the forces of good, led by Flamel and the twins (Sophie's powers are 'awakened' by the goddess Hekate, who'd been living in an elaborate treehouse north of San Francisco). Not only do they need the Codex back to stop Dee and company, but the immortality potion must be brewed afresh every month. Time is running out, literally, for the Flamels. Proceeding at a breakneck pace, and populated by the likes of werewolves and vampires, the novel ends on a precipice, presumably to be picked up in volume two. Ages 12-up." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"While there is plenty here to send readers rushing to their encyclopedias of mythology and alchemy, those who read the book at face value will simply be caught up in the enthralling story. A fabulous read." School Library Journal

About the Author

An authority on mythology and folklore, Michael Scott is one of Ireland's most successful authors. Writing in genres of fantasy, science-fiction, horror, and folklore, he was hailed by the Irish Times as "The King of Fantasy in These Isles." He lives and writes in Dublin, Ireland.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 3 comments:

Mo, May 30, 2010 (view all comments by Mo)
This is a wonderful book. It is likely yo be a crowd pleaser. If you like 39 clues, The Lightning Thief, or Harry Potter i would highly recomend this book for you. It is filled with excitment, close shaves, monsters, and magic. This story slips in the importance of friendship and trust in itself.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(4 of 4 readers found this comment helpful)
Mo, May 30, 2010 (view all comments by Mo)
Very good. give it two thumbs up. Fans of Harry Potter and The Lightning Thief or 39 clues should check this one out.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
Mo, May 30, 2010 (view all comments by Mo)
I loved the book. It is a book full of adventure and i would highly recomend it if you like adventure, monsters, good vs. evil, tight escapes, and lots of magic. Fans of Harry Potter and the Lightning thief, prepare for another dose of good books.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 3 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780385612937
Subtitle:
The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel (Signed)
Author:
Scott, Michael
Publisher:
66 BOOKS
Binding:
HARDCOVER

Other books you might like

  1. Splendor (Luxe) Used Hardcover $5.96
  2. Envy: A Luxe Novel (Luxe) Used Trade Paper $6.50
  3. Flutterby (Serendipity)
    Used Trade Paper $2.95
  4. The Marvelous Misadventures of Sebastian Used Trade Paper $4.50
  5. Princess Ben
    Used Hardcover $5.50
  6. Blaze and the Forest Fire: Billy and... New Trade Paper $7.99

Related Subjects

Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Young Adult » General

The Alchemyst: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details pages 66 BOOKS - English 9780385612937 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Twin 15-year-old siblings Sophie and Josh Newman take summer jobs in San Francisco across the street from one another: she at a coffee shop, he at a bookstore owned by Nick and Perry Fleming. In the vey first chapter, armed goons garbed in black with 'dead-looking skin and... marble eyes' (actually Golems) storm the bookshop, take Perry hostage and swipe a rare Book (but not before Josh snatches its two most important pages). The stolen volume is the Codex, an ancient text of magical wisdom. Nick Fleming is really Nicholas Flamel, the 14th-century alchemist who could turn base metal into gold, and make a potion that ensures immortality. Sophie and Josh learn that they are mentioned in the Codex's prophecies: 'The two that are one will come either to save or to destroy the world.' Mayhem ensues, as Irish author Scott draws on a wide knowledge of world mythology to stage a battle between the Dark Elders and their hired gun — Dr. John Dee — against the forces of good, led by Flamel and the twins (Sophie's powers are 'awakened' by the goddess Hekate, who'd been living in an elaborate treehouse north of San Francisco). Not only do they need the Codex back to stop Dee and company, but the immortality potion must be brewed afresh every month. Time is running out, literally, for the Flamels. Proceeding at a breakneck pace, and populated by the likes of werewolves and vampires, the novel ends on a precipice, presumably to be picked up in volume two. Ages 12-up." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "While there is plenty here to send readers rushing to their encyclopedias of mythology and alchemy, those who read the book at face value will simply be caught up in the enthralling story. A fabulous read."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.