Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 24, 2014

Jessica Valenti: IMG Full Frontal Feminism Revisited



It is arguably the worst and best time to be a feminist. In the years since I first wrote Full Frontal Feminism, we've seen a huge cultural shift in... Continue »
  1. $11.90 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.50
List price: $10.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Hawthorne Children's Middle Readers- General

The Necromancer (Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel)

by

The Necromancer (Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Read the fourth book in the New York Times bestselling The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series, perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and Percy Jackson and the Olympians.

San Francisco:

   After fleeing to Ojai, then Paris, and escaping to London, Josh and Sophie Newman are finally home. And after everything they've seen and learned in the past week, they're both more confused than ever about their future. Neither of them has mastered the magics they'll need to protect themselves from the Dark Elders, they've lost Scatty, and they're still being pursued by Dr. John Dee. Most disturbing of all, however, is that now they must ask themselves, can they trust Nicholas Flamel? Can they trust anyone?

Alcatraz:

   Dr. Dee underestimated Perenelle Flamel's power. Alcatraz could not hold her, Nereus was no match for her, and she was able to align herself with the most unlikely of allies. But she wasn't the only one being held on the island. Behind the prison's bars and protective sigils were a menagerie of monsters-an army for Dee to use in the final battle. And now Machiavelli has come to Alcatraz to loose those monsters on San Francisco.

   Perenelle might be powerful, but each day she weakens, and even with Nicholas back at her side, a battle of this size could be too much for her. Nicholas and Perenelle must fight to protect the city, but the effort will probably kill them both.

London:

   Having been unable to regain the two final pages of the Codex, Dee has failed his Elder and is now an outlaw-and the new prey of all the creatures formerly sent to hunt down Flamel.

   But Dee has a plan. With the Codex and the creatures on Alcatraz, he can control the world. All he needs is the help of the Archons. But for his plan to work, he must raise the Mother of the Gods from the dead. For that, he'll have to train a necromancer. And the twins of legend will make the perfect pupils. . .

Praise for The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series:

The Alchemyst

[STAR] “[A] A riveting fantasy…While there is plenty here to send readers rushing to their encyclopedias…those who read the book at face value will simply be caught up in the enthralling story. A fabulous read.”—School Library Journal, Starred

 

The Magician

[STAR] “Readers will be swept up by a plot that moves smartly along, leaving a wide trailer of destruction and well-timed revelations.”—Kirkus Reveiws, Starred

 

The Sorceress

“Master yarnspinner that he is, Scott expertly cranks up the suspense while keeping his now-large cast in quick motion….This page –turner promises plenty of action to come.”—Kirkus Reviews

 

The Necromancer

“Unrelenting forward momentum….This book will thrill fans.”—School Library Journal

From the Hardcover edition.

About the Author

  Michael Scott is the New York Times bestselling author of The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series, an authority on mythology and folklore, and one of Ireland’s most successful authors. A master of fantasy, science fiction, horror, and folklore, Michael has been hailed by the Irish Times as “the King of Fantasy in these isles.” The Necromancer is the fourth book in the Nicholas Flamel series. Look for book one, The Alchemyst; book two, The Magician; book three, The Sorceress; book five, The Warlock; and book six, The Enchantress, all available from Delacorte Press. You can follow Michael Scott on Twitter @flameauthor and visit him at DillonScott.com.

From the Hardcover edition.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780385735322
Author:
Scott, Michael
Publisher:
Ember
Subject:
Legends, Myths, & Fables - General
Subject:
Legends, Myths, & Fables - Other
Subject:
Children s-Science Fiction and Fantasy
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel
Publication Date:
20110431
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Pages:
416
Dimensions:
8 x 5.18 x 1 in 0.7125 lb
Age Level:
from 12

Other books you might like

  1. Mr. Putter and Tabby Pour the Tea...
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  2. Dear Genius: The Letters of Ursula... Used Trade Paper $12.00
  3. Helen Keller: Her Life in Pictures... Used Hardcover $13.50
  4. Starcrossed
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  5. The Little Prince Pop-Up Sale Hardcover $19.98
  6. Guild Specialists #01: Operation Red...
    Used Hardcover $7.95

Related Subjects


Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » Featured Titles
Children's » Folk Tales » Mythical Creatures
Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Reference » Family and Genealogy
Children's » Sale Books
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Young Adult » General

The Necromancer (Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.50 In Stock
Product details 416 pages Ember - English 9780385735322 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.