Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 24, 2014

Jessica Valenti: IMG Full Frontal Feminism Revisited



It is arguably the worst and best time to be a feminist. In the years since I first wrote Full Frontal Feminism, we've seen a huge cultural shift in... Continue »
  1. $11.90 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer

The Maze Runner

by

The Maze Runner Cover

ISBN13: 9780385737951
ISBN10: 0385737955
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $6.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his first name. His memory is blank. But he's not alone. When the lift's doors open, Thomas finds himself surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade — a large, open expanse surrounded by stone walls.

Just like Thomas, the Gladers don't know why or how they got to the Glade. All they know is that every morning the stone doors to the maze that surrounds them have opened. Every night they've closed tight. And every 30 days a new boy has been delivered in the lift.

Thomas was expected. But the next day, a girl is sent up — the first girl to ever arrive in the Glade. And more surprising yet is the message she delivers.

Thomas might be more important than he could ever guess. If only he could unlock the dark secrets buried within his mind.

Review:

"An intensely suspenseful page-turner." School Library Journal

Review:

"A riveting suspense novel with an anti-behaviorist message that works...because it emerges only slowly from the chilling events." Kirkus Reviews

Synopsis:

When Thomas wakes up, he's surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade. Just like Thomas, the Gladers don't know why or how they got there. The next day, a girl arrives with a surprising message.

Synopsis:

The first book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series — The Maze Runner is a modern classic, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.

About the Author

James Dashner is the author of the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series as well as The Eye of Minds, which is the first book in the Mortality Doctrine, the 13th Reality series and The Infinity Ring. He was born and raised in Georgia, but now lives and writes in the Rocky Mountains. To learn more about James and his books, visit JamesDashner.com.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 4 comments:

Caden Francois, November 28, 2012 (view all comments by Caden Francois)
Maze Runner By: James Dashner

I think that the Maze Runner was a great, fast paced book. I liked how there was no rest between action, no “filler” words, as it were. Once each little piece of action came to an end, James Dashner neatly transitioned to another adventure. The book starts with Thomas, a boy with no memory but his name, and a group full of other such boys in the same predicament. They are trapped inside a giant maze with monsters roaming it’s corridors. Each night they are safely closed in, and each day they fervently track the maze, trying to find a way out. On page 186, Thomas thinks “Never before had the sheer size of the Maze truly hit him. Miles and miles and miles. With it’s walls that moves, every night, he finally understood why the Maze was so hard to solve.” It seemed that they were doomed to stay in the Maze until they were all killed by the monsters outside their home. The theme of this book is to never give up, no matter how bleak the situation is. Eventually you will prevail. I like this theme and how we can apply it to our lives, and I think that the Maze Runner is definitely on my list of top books.

Review by: Caden Francois
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 6 readers found this comment helpful)
Liz in the City, September 10, 2011 (view all comments by Liz in the City)
This book plays out like a long mystery, leaving you questioning everything you're seeing and hearing through the narrator's eyes. The Maze Runner has definite strains of Lord of the Flies, but I, personally, think it has much greater payoff in the end. I read this before knowing it was part of a trilogy and now I can't wait to see how the entire story ends. I'd recommend this for anyone who misses The Hunger Games or is looking to "hook" boys into reading.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 6 readers found this comment helpful)
Richard Tracey, September 1, 2011 (view all comments by Richard Tracey)
Midway through this YA novel, and the suspense is killing me. Just what is this maze? And who are the Creators?
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 7 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 4 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780385737951
Author:
Dashner, James
Publisher:
Nancy Paulsen Books
Subject:
Visionary & metaphysical
Subject:
Boys / Men
Subject:
Social Issues - Friendship
Subject:
Situations / Friendship
Subject:
Science fiction
Subject:
Amnesia
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Science & Technology
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback
Series:
Maze Runner Trilogy
Series Volume:
2
Publication Date:
20130926
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
12-17

Other books you might like

  1. Catching Fire (The Hunger Games #2)
    Used Hardcover $7.50
  2. The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
    Used Trade Paper $4.50

Related Subjects


Children's » Awards » Oregon Reader's Choice Award
Children's » Featured Titles
Children's » General
Children's » Sale Books
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Science Fiction
Children's » Situations » General
Featured Titles » Bestsellers
Featured Titles » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship
Young Adult » General

The Maze Runner Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Nancy Paulsen Books - English 9780385737951 Reviews:
"Review" by , "An intensely suspenseful page-turner."
"Review" by , "A riveting suspense novel with an anti-behaviorist message that works...because it emerges only slowly from the chilling events."
"Synopsis" by , When Thomas wakes up, he's surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade. Just like Thomas, the Gladers don't know why or how they got there. The next day, a girl arrives with a surprising message.
"Synopsis" by , The first book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series — The Maze Runner is a modern classic, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.