25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | August 19, 2014

Richard Kadrey: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Richard Kadrey



Describe your latest book. The Getaway God is the sixth book in the Sandman Slim series. In it, the very unholy nephilim, James Stark, aka Sandman... Continue »
  1. $17.49 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$25.95
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Reference- Grammar and Style
25 Local Warehouse Linguistics- English Linguistics and Dialects
13 Remote Warehouse Art- General

This title in other editions

Shady Characters: The Secret Life of Punctuation, Symbols, & Other Typographical Marks

by

Shady Characters: The Secret Life of Punctuation, Symbols, & Other Typographical Marks Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Every day we rely on punctuation marks to help us say what we mean, but where did they come from? Consider the ampersand (&), which started life as Pompeian graffiti, or the at sign (@), which languished in obscurity for centuries until rescued by the Internet. These and a host of other intriguing marks populate Keith Houston’s rollicking and richly illustrated Shady Characters. From the Library of Alexandria to the halls of Bell Labs—across time, alphabets, and countries—readers will meet figures as diverse as Charlemagne, Vladimir Nabokov, and George W. Bush as they learn about marks as obscure as the interrobang, as omnipresent as the hashtag (#), and as divisive as the dash (—). Whether investigating what the pilcrow (¶) has to do with medieval Christianity or what became of many ill-fated attempts to produce a standard sarcasm mark, Shady Characters provides a charming and indispensable perspective on two thousand years of the written word.

Review:

"For fans of Lynn Truss's Eats, Shoots and Leaves, this bestiary of lesser-known punctuation marks is a wonder. Blogger Houston, though a self-admitted amateur in the world of typography, speaks with all the enthusiasm of a true geek. The book is liberally sprinkled with footnotes (and a hefty 50 pages of end notes), appropriate considering that nearly every punctuation symbol in this book gained its start from the annotation marks of monks, scribes, or scholars. (The chapter on daggers and asterisks, of course, uses those symbols to mark the asides.) Some game-changers, like the sudden confines of the typing press or the yet-more-restrictive typewriter, extend their influence across numerous chapters. Each character brings its own brand of intrigue, from the closed case of why paragraphs are now indented — the blank space was left for the pilcrow, ¶, which lazy or hurried scribes left out — to the murkier question of who named the octothorpe. The # is not, as Twitter might have you believe, officially called a hashtag. True, the differences between seven kinds of dashes and hyphens are not life-and-death matters, but for anyone interested in the quirks of English punctuation without a lecture about how grammar is dead, this book satisfies that curiosity nicely. 75 illus. Agent: Laurie Abkemeier, DeFiore and Company. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

The surprising stories of some well-known—and some outlandish—marks of punctuation.

Synopsis:

From ancient Greece to the Internet—via the Renaissance, Gutenberg, and Madison Avenue—Shady Characters exposes the secret history of punctuation.

Synopsis:

A charming and indispensable tour of two thousand years of the written word, weaves a fascinating trail across the parallel histories of language and typography.

About the Author

Keith Houston is the creator of the Shady Characters blog. He and his wife live in Edinburgh, Scotland.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780393064421
Author:
Houston, Keith
Publisher:
W. W. Norton & Company
Subject:
General Reference
Subject:
Reference - General
Subject:
Linguistics-English Linguistics and Dialects
Publication Date:
20130931
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Illustrations:
2-color; 75 illustrations
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
20.96 x 13.97 mm

Other books you might like

  1. Night Film
    Used Hardcover $9.95

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Art » Design History
Featured Titles » Culture
History and Social Science » Linguistics » English Linguistics and Dialects
History and Social Science » Linguistics » General
Reference » General
Reference » Grammar and Style

Shady Characters: The Secret Life of Punctuation, Symbols, & Other Typographical Marks New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$25.95 In Stock
Product details 352 pages W. W. Norton & Company - English 9780393064421 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "For fans of Lynn Truss's Eats, Shoots and Leaves, this bestiary of lesser-known punctuation marks is a wonder. Blogger Houston, though a self-admitted amateur in the world of typography, speaks with all the enthusiasm of a true geek. The book is liberally sprinkled with footnotes (and a hefty 50 pages of end notes), appropriate considering that nearly every punctuation symbol in this book gained its start from the annotation marks of monks, scribes, or scholars. (The chapter on daggers and asterisks, of course, uses those symbols to mark the asides.) Some game-changers, like the sudden confines of the typing press or the yet-more-restrictive typewriter, extend their influence across numerous chapters. Each character brings its own brand of intrigue, from the closed case of why paragraphs are now indented — the blank space was left for the pilcrow, ¶, which lazy or hurried scribes left out — to the murkier question of who named the octothorpe. The # is not, as Twitter might have you believe, officially called a hashtag. True, the differences between seven kinds of dashes and hyphens are not life-and-death matters, but for anyone interested in the quirks of English punctuation without a lecture about how grammar is dead, this book satisfies that curiosity nicely. 75 illus. Agent: Laurie Abkemeier, DeFiore and Company. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , The surprising stories of some well-known—and some outlandish—marks of punctuation.
"Synopsis" by , From ancient Greece to the Internet—via the Renaissance, Gutenberg, and Madison Avenue—Shady Characters exposes the secret history of punctuation.
"Synopsis" by , A charming and indispensable tour of two thousand years of the written word, weaves a fascinating trail across the parallel histories of language and typography.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.