Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | February 27, 2014

Rene Denfeld: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Rene Denfeld



Describe your latest book. The Enchanted is a story narrated by a man on death row. The novel was inspired by my work as a death penalty... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Enchanted

    Rene Denfeld 9780062285508

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Latin America- Mexico

This title in other editions

Intervention: The United States and the Mexican Revolution, 1913-1917

by

Intervention: The United States and the Mexican Revolution, 1913-1917 Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In May 1916, six American soldiers led by Lieutenant George S. Patton, Jr., surrounded a building near Rubio, Chihuahua. When the occupants burst out of the door, guns blazing, Patton and his men cut them down. A month later seventy American troopers charged into a strong Mexican position at Carrizal; ten were killed and twenty-three taken prisoner. In 1914, a powerful American naval force seized Mexico's principal seaport, Veracruz, and occupied the city for six months. Yet, all the while, Mexico and the United States were technically at peace.

The United States began its involvement in the Mexican Revolution in 1913 with President Woodrow Wilson's decision to remove Victoriana Huerta, leader of a military junta that overthrew and murdered Mexico's president, Francisco Madero. Diplomatic actions failing, Wilson occupied Veracruz, cutting off Huerta's supplies of arms from abroad. When in 1916 the legendary bandit Pancho Villa raided Columbus, New Mexico, Wilson sent General John J. Pershing into Chihuahua to capture him.

This story leads readers to increased respect for the people of Mexico and its revolutionary leaders--Zapata, Obregon, Carranza, and Pancho Villa. It shows that, while American troops performed well, U.S. intervention had no effect on the outcome of the Mexican Revolution. The American army had a taste of battle and Pershing went on to become the greatest American hero of the First World War.

Synopsis:

Powerful and compelling. . . . Eisenhower is not only an accomplished military historian, he's also a storyteller in the tradition of Bruce Caton and Shelby Foote."--Steve Neal, Chicago Sun-Times

About the Author

John Eisenhower is the author of several books, including The Bitter Woods, Allies: Pearl Harbor to D-Day, and So Far From God. He lives in Trappe, Maryland.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780393313185
Author:
Eisenhower, John S. D.
Publisher:
W. W. Norton & Company
Author:
Eisenhower, John S. D.
Subject:
Military - General
Subject:
History
Subject:
United States - 20th Century
Subject:
Mexico
Subject:
United States - 20th Century (1900-1945)
Subject:
Latin America - Mexico
Subject:
World History-Mexico
Copyright:
Series Volume:
The United States an
Publication Date:
19950731
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
416
Dimensions:
8.3 x 5.5 x 1 in 0.77 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Afghanistan and Central Asia New Trade Paper $61.75
  2. Arab-Syrian Gentleman & Warrior in...
    Used Trade Paper $9.95
  3. 1453: The Holy War for... Used Trade Paper $10.50
  4. Virtual History: Alternatives &... Used Trade Paper $5.50
  5. Mr. Kipling's Army: All the Queen's Men Used Trade Paper $7.95
  6. The Spanish War, an American Epic--1898 Used Trade Paper $9.95

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Latin America » Mexico
History and Social Science » Military » General History
History and Social Science » US History » 20th Century » General
History and Social Science » World History » General
History and Social Science » World History » Mexico

Intervention: The United States and the Mexican Revolution, 1913-1917 Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.95 In Stock
Product details 416 pages W. W. Norton & Company - English 9780393313185 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Powerful and compelling. . . . Eisenhower is not only an accomplished military historian, he's also a storyteller in the tradition of Bruce Caton and Shelby Foote."--Steve Neal, Chicago Sun-Times
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.