The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
List price: $17.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Sociology- Urban Studies City Specific

Code of the Street: Decency, Violence, and the Moral Life of the Inner City

by

Code of the Street: Decency, Violence, and the Moral Life of the Inner City Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Inner-city black America is often stereotyped as a place of random violence; in fact, violence in the inner city is regulated through an informal but well-known code of the street. How you dress, talk, and behave can have life-or-death consequences, with young people particularly at risk. The most powerful force counteracting this code and its reign of terror is the strong, loving, decent family, and we meet many heroic figures in the course of this narrative. Unfortunately, the culture of the street thrives and often defeats decency because it controls public spaces, so that individuals with higher, better aspirations are often entangled in the code and its self-destructive behaviors. Writing in the tradition of Jane Jacobs and William Julius Wilson, the author delineates the true workings of city streets. His most interesting characters are not the bullies and dealers, but the decent folks, young and old, who through entrepreneurship and creative self-help strategies are forging a viable alternative, an escape from the code of the street. Winner of the Komarovsky Book Award, this incisive book examines the code as a response to the lack of jobs that pay a living wage, to the stigma of race, to rampant drug use, to alienation and lack of hope. An individual's safety and sense of worth are determined by the respect he commands in public--a deference frequently based on an implied threat of violence. Unfortunately, even those with higher aspirations can often become entangled in the code's self-destructive behaviors.

Synopsis:

Unsparing and important. . . . An informative, clearheaded and sobering book.--Jonathan Yardley, (1999 Critic's Choice)

About the Author

Elijah Andersonis the William K. Lanman, Jr. Professor of Sociology at Yale University.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780393320787
Subtitle:
Decency, Violence, and the Moral Life of the Inner City
Author:
Anderson, Elijah
Compiled:
Cram 101
Author:
Cram 101
Author:
Cram101 Textbook Reviews
Author:
Anderson, 1st Edition
Author:
Cram101 Textbook Reviews, Textbook Revie
Publisher:
W. W. Norton & Company
Location:
New York
Subject:
Social life and customs
Subject:
Afro-americans
Subject:
Sociology - Urban
Subject:
African American Studies
Subject:
Pennsylvania
Subject:
Inner cities
Subject:
African Americans
Subject:
Philadelphia
Subject:
Ethnic Studies - African American Studies
Subject:
Ethnic Studies - African American Studies - General
Subject:
Book Notes
Subject:
Inner cities -- Pennsylvania -- Philadelphia.
Subject:
Philadelphia (Pa.) Social life and customs.
Subject:
Sociology-Urban Studies
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st pbk. ed.
Series:
Cram101 Textbook Outlines
Series Volume:
104-887.
Publication Date:
20000917
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
8.3 x 5.5 x 1 in 0.875 lb

Other books you might like

  1. All Our Kin: Strategies for Survival... Used Trade Paper $4.50
  2. Celebration, U.S.A.: Living in... Used Hardcover $7.95
  3. Crime and Coercion: An Integrated... New Hardcover $136.25
  4. Dubious Conceptions: The Politics of... Used Hardcover $4.50
  5. The Time Bind: When Work Becomes... Used Hardcover $5.95
  6. The Divided Welfare State: The... New Trade Paper $38.25

Related Subjects

Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Medical Specialties
History and Social Science » African American Studies » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » Urban Studies » City Specific
History and Social Science » Sociology » Urban Studies » General
Science and Mathematics » Environmental Studies » Environment
Science and Mathematics » Mathematics » Algebra » General
Science and Mathematics » Physics » Astrophysics

Code of the Street: Decency, Violence, and the Moral Life of the Inner City Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 352 pages W. W. Norton & Company - English 9780393320787 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Unsparing and important. . . . An informative, clearheaded and sobering book.--Jonathan Yardley, (1999 Critic's Choice)
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.