The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.50
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

Breaking the Tongue

by

Breaking the Tongue Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

"This masterly novel is not only bold and challenging but also beautifully written. The reader will be left breathless by the ending."'"Library Journal "A moving accomplishment."'"Publishers Weekly, starred review "Vyvyane Loh's richly ambitious narrative weaves the personal and the political into an unforgettable novel."'"Claire Messud "In the tradition of Rushdie or Ondaatje, this is one of the most accomplished first novels I've ever seen."'"Andrea Barrett  "A revelatory book that is both novel and history, written with splendid and intelligent humanity."'"Shirley Hazzard, author of The Great Fire

This brilliant novel chronicles the fall of Singapore to the Japanese in World War II. Central to the story is one Chinese family: Claude, raised to be more British than the British and ashamed of his own heritage; his father, Humphrey, whose Anglophilia blinds him to possible defeat and his wife's dalliances; and the redoubtable Grandma Siok, whose sage advice falls on deaf ears. Expatriates, spies, fifth columnists, and nationalists'"including the elusive young woman Ling-Li'"mingle in this exotic culture as the Japanese threat looms. Beset by the horror of war and betrayal and, finally, torture, Claude must embrace his true heritage. In the extraordinary final paragraphs of the novel, the language itself breaks into Chinese. With penetrating observation, Vyvyane Loh unfolds the coming-of-age story of a young man and a nation, a story that deals with myth, race, and class, with the ways language shapes perceptions, and with the intrigue and suffering of war. Reading group guide included.

Synopsis:

"Dramatic....One of the most ambitious and accomplished debut novels in recent memory.'"Kirkus Reviews, starred review...""This masterly novel is not only bold and challenging but also beautifully written. The reader will be left breathless by the ending."'"Library Journal"A moving accomplishment."'"Publishers Weekly, starred review "Vyvyane Loh's richly ambitious narrative weaves the personal and the political into an unforgettable novel."'"Claire Messud "In the tradition of Rushdie or Ondaatje, this is one of the most accomplished first novels I've ever seen."'"Andrea Barrett ""A revelatory book that is both novel and history, written with splendid and intelligent humanity."'"Shirley Hazzard, author of The Great Fire.

Synopsis:

"This masterly novel is not only bold and challenging but also beautifully written. The reader will be left breathless by the ending."-- "A moving accomplishment."--, starred review "Vyvyane Loh's richly ambitious narrative weaves the personal and the political into an unforgettable novel."--Claire Messud "In the tradition of Rushdie or Ondaatje, this is one of the most accomplished first novels I've ever seen."--Andrea Barrett  "A revelatory book that is both novel and history, written with splendid and intelligent humanity."--Shirley Hazzard, author of  This brilliant novel chronicles the fall of Singapore to the Japanese in World War II. Central to the story is one Chinese family: Claude, raised to be more British than the British and ashamed of his own heritage; his father, Humphrey, whose Anglophilia blinds him to possible defeat and his wife's dalliances; and the redoubtable Grandma Siok, whose sage advice falls on deaf ears. Expatriates, spies, fifth columnists, and nationalists--including the elusive young woman Ling-Li--mingle in this exotic culture as the Japanese threat looms. Beset by the horror of war and betrayal and, finally, torture, Claude must embrace his true heritage. In the extraordinary final paragraphs of the novel, the language itself breaks into Chinese. With penetrating observation, Vyvyane Loh unfolds the coming-of-age story of a young man and a nation, a story that deals with myth, race, and class, with the ways language shapes perceptions, and with the intrigue and suffering of war. Reading group guide included.

About the Author

Vyvyane Loh was born in Malaysia and grew up in Singapore. She holds undergraduate and medical degrees from Boston University, and she graduated from the Warren Wilson College MFA Program for Writers. She now lives outside Boston.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780393326543
Author:
Loh, Vyvyane
Publisher:
W. W. Norton & Company
Subject:
General
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
Historical
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Publication Date:
20050331
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
416
Dimensions:
8.2 x 5.5 x 1 in 0.965 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Riven Rock Used Hardcover $6.95
  2. Ten Days in the Hills Used Trade Paper $2.50
  3. My son's story Used Book Club Paperback $2.95
  4. The Attack
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  5. The Summer Before the Dark Used Mass Market $2.50
  6. The Heart of Redness Used Trade Paper $5.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Breaking the Tongue Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.50 In Stock
Product details 416 pages W. W. Norton & Company - English 9780393326543 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , "Dramatic....One of the most ambitious and accomplished debut novels in recent memory.'"Kirkus Reviews, starred review...""This masterly novel is not only bold and challenging but also beautifully written. The reader will be left breathless by the ending."'"Library Journal"A moving accomplishment."'"Publishers Weekly, starred review "Vyvyane Loh's richly ambitious narrative weaves the personal and the political into an unforgettable novel."'"Claire Messud "In the tradition of Rushdie or Ondaatje, this is one of the most accomplished first novels I've ever seen."'"Andrea Barrett ""A revelatory book that is both novel and history, written with splendid and intelligent humanity."'"Shirley Hazzard, author of The Great Fire.
"Synopsis" by , "This masterly novel is not only bold and challenging but also beautifully written. The reader will be left breathless by the ending."-- "A moving accomplishment."--, starred review "Vyvyane Loh's richly ambitious narrative weaves the personal and the political into an unforgettable novel."--Claire Messud "In the tradition of Rushdie or Ondaatje, this is one of the most accomplished first novels I've ever seen."--Andrea Barrett  "A revelatory book that is both novel and history, written with splendid and intelligent humanity."--Shirley Hazzard, author of  This brilliant novel chronicles the fall of Singapore to the Japanese in World War II. Central to the story is one Chinese family: Claude, raised to be more British than the British and ashamed of his own heritage; his father, Humphrey, whose Anglophilia blinds him to possible defeat and his wife's dalliances; and the redoubtable Grandma Siok, whose sage advice falls on deaf ears. Expatriates, spies, fifth columnists, and nationalists--including the elusive young woman Ling-Li--mingle in this exotic culture as the Japanese threat looms. Beset by the horror of war and betrayal and, finally, torture, Claude must embrace his true heritage. In the extraordinary final paragraphs of the novel, the language itself breaks into Chinese. With penetrating observation, Vyvyane Loh unfolds the coming-of-age story of a young man and a nation, a story that deals with myth, race, and class, with the ways language shapes perceptions, and with the intrigue and suffering of war. Reading group guide included.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.