Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 20, 2014

Julie Schumacher: IMG Dear Professor Fitger



Saint Paul, August 2014 Dear Professor Fitger, I've been asked to say a few words about you for Powells.com. Having dreamed you up with a ball-point... Continue »
  1. $16.07 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Dear Committee Members

    Julie Schumacher 9780385538138

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$18.95
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
3 Remote Warehouse US History- 20th Century

This title in other editions

Impounded: Dorothea Lange and the Censored Images of Japanese American Internment

by

Impounded: Dorothea Lange and the Censored Images of Japanese American Internment Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Censored by the U.S. Army, Dorothea Lange's unseen photographs are the extraordinary photographic record of the Japanese American internment saga. This indelible work of visual and social history confirms Dorothea Lange's stature as one of the twentieth century's greatest American photographers. Presenting 119 images originally censored by the U.S. Army—the majority of which have never been published—Impounded evokes the horror of a community uprooted in the early 1940s and the stark reality of the internment camps. With poignancy and sage insight, nationally known historians Linda Gordon and Gary Okihiro illuminate the saga of Japanese American internment: from life before Executive Order 9066 to the abrupt roundups and the marginal existence in the bleak, sandswept camps. In the tradition of Roman Vishniac's A Vanished World, Impounded, with the immediacy of its photographs, tells the story of the thousands of lives unalterably shattered by racial hatred brought on by the passions of war. A San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of 2006.

Synopsis:

"Unflinchingly illustrates the reality of life during this extraordinary moment in American history."—Dinitia Smith, The New York Times

Synopsis:

Censored by the U.S. Army, Dorothea Lange's unseen photographs are the extraordinary photographic record of the Japanese American internment saga.

Synopsis:

In these days of fear of the terrorist 'other', reading this measured, intelligent introduction to a time that is all-too possible to imagine recurring, and looking at Lange's photos... may be one of the most useful things one can do this Christmas.[The] images show Americans of Japanese extraction being relocated to 'assembly centers', labeled and processed like cattle and closeted away in dismal shacks for the duration of the war... No wonder her pictures were never used and disappeared for half a century.Through her discerning and sensitive eye, Lange's observations of the situation were too real and too critical for the government, and were consequently confiscated.[T]he bulk of the book is given over to Lange's photographs. Several of these are as powerful as her most stirring work, and the final image—of a grandfather in the desolate Manzanar Center looking down in anguish at the grandson between his knees—is worth the price of the book alone.

About the Author

Linda Gordon is the Florence Kelley Professor of History at New York University. She is the author of numerous books including Dorothea Lange and Impounded, and won the Bancroft Prize for The Great Arizona Orphan Abduction. She lives in New York.Gary Y. Okihiro is the author of Whispered Silences: Japanese Americans and World War II and Common Ground: Reimagining American History. He is a professor at Columbia University and lives in New York City.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780393330908
Author:
Gordon, Linda (edt)
Publisher:
W. W. Norton & Company
Editor:
Gordon, Linda
Editor:
Okihiro, Gary Y.
Author:
Gordon, Linda
Author:
Lange, Dorothea
Author:
Okihiro, Gary Y.
Subject:
Individual Photographer
Subject:
Subjects & Themes - Portraits
Subject:
Photoessays & Documentaries
Subject:
Modern - 20th Century
Subject:
Individual Photographers - General
Subject:
Censorship -- United States.
Subject:
Japanese Americans
Subject:
United States - 20th Century
Subject:
Photo Essays
Subject:
Photography-Anthologies and History
Copyright:
Publication Date:
20080231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
104 black-and-white photographs
Pages:
224
Dimensions:
9.2 x 7 x 0.6 in 1.25 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Captured Women Used Hardcover $19.95
  2. Motel Bizarre: Tales from the No... New Trade Paper $27.25
  3. Open All Night New Trade Paper $27.50
  4. Room with a View New Hardcover $31.50
  5. The Great Life Photographers
    Used Hardcover $19.95

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Photography » Anthologies and History
Arts and Entertainment » Photography » General
Arts and Entertainment » Photography » Photographers
History and Social Science » Ethnic Studies » Japanese American
History and Social Science » Military » General History
History and Social Science » US History » 20th Century » General

Impounded: Dorothea Lange and the Censored Images of Japanese American Internment New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$18.95 In Stock
Product details 224 pages W. W. Norton & Company - English 9780393330908 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , "Unflinchingly illustrates the reality of life during this extraordinary moment in American history."—Dinitia Smith, The New York Times
"Synopsis" by , Censored by the U.S. Army, Dorothea Lange's unseen photographs are the extraordinary photographic record of the Japanese American internment saga.
"Synopsis" by , In these days of fear of the terrorist 'other', reading this measured, intelligent introduction to a time that is all-too possible to imagine recurring, and looking at Lange's photos... may be one of the most useful things one can do this Christmas.[The] images show Americans of Japanese extraction being relocated to 'assembly centers', labeled and processed like cattle and closeted away in dismal shacks for the duration of the war... No wonder her pictures were never used and disappeared for half a century.Through her discerning and sensitive eye, Lange's observations of the situation were too real and too critical for the government, and were consequently confiscated.[T]he bulk of the book is given over to Lange's photographs. Several of these are as powerful as her most stirring work, and the final image—of a grandfather in the desolate Manzanar Center looking down in anguish at the grandson between his knees—is worth the price of the book alone.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.