Warriors B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | May 12, 2015

    Mark Bittman: IMG Six Things You Can Do to Join the Food Movement Today



    People ask me all the time what they can do to help improve the food system. Given that some of the problems that need fixing (like unsustainable... Continue »
    1. $18.20 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$14.95
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
25 Local Warehouse Anthologies- United Kingdom Poetry
8 Remote Warehouse Classics- Medieval and Renaissance General

Sir Gawain and the Green Knight: A New Verse Translation

by

Sir Gawain and the Green Knight: A New Verse Translation Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

New York Times bestseller
 
“An incomplete but highly compelling retelling . . . An action-packed, doom-haunted saga, full of vivid natural description.”—New York Times Book Review

The Fall of Arthur recounts in verse the last campaign of King Arthur, who, even as he stands at the threshold of Mirkwood, is summoned back to Britain by news of the treachery of Mordred. Already weakened in spirit by Guineveres infidelity with the now-exiled Lancelot, Arthur must rouse his knights to battle one last time against Mordreds rebels and foreign mercenaries. Powerful, passionate, and filled with vivid imagery, this unfinished poem reveals Tolkiens gift for storytelling at its brilliant best. Christopher Tolkien, editor, contributes three illuminating essays that explore the literary world of King Arthur, reveal the deeper meaning of the verses and the painstaking work his father applied to bring the poem to a finished form, and investigate the intriguing links between The Fall of Arthur and Tolkiens Middle-earth.

“Compelling in pace, haunted by loss, it lives up to expectations.”—Daily Beast

“Erudite and beautiful.” - NPR.org

Synopsis:

Following in the tradition of Seamus Heaney's reworking of "Beowulf," Armitage, one of England's leading poets, has produced a virtuoso new translation of the 600-year-old Arthurian story with both clarity and verve.

Synopsis:

"Compulsively readable. ... Simon Armitage has given us an energetic, free-flowing, high-spirited version."--Edward Hirsch,

Synopsis:

The Fall of Arthur, the only venture by J.R.R. Tolkien into the legends of Arthur King of Britain, may well be regarded as his finest and most skillful achievement in the use of the Old English alliterative meter, but it depicts drama and adventure in language only Tolkien could have written. Edited by his son Christopher Tolkien, who also provides detailed commentary and notes.

Synopsis:

One of the earliest great stories of English literature after ?, ? is the strange tale of a green knight on a green horse, who rudely interrupts King Arthur's Round Table festivities one Yuletide, challenging the knights to a wager. Simon Armitrage, one of Britain's leading poets, has produced an inventive and groundbreaking translation that "[helps] liberate ?from academia" (?).

Synopsis:

"Promises to drive the green force of the old poem through the Armitage fuse and set it a-buddin' and a-bloomin' for the new millennium."'"Seamus Heaney, Nobel Laureate, best-selling translator of Beowulf

Com posed in the late fourteenth century by an anonymous author in the English provinces, this remarkable epic has enchanted readers for generations. The work itself is an unparalleled masterpiece of alliteration and rhyme, beginning at Christmastime in Camelot, when the festivities of the Round Table are interrupted by the sudden appearance of a fearful stranger, green from head to foot. A young knight, Gawain, rises to the challenge. What follows is a test of nerve and heart as Gawain travels north to meet his destiny at the Green Chapel in a year's time. Following in the tradition of Seamus Heaney, Simon Armitage, one of England's leading poets, has produced a virtuoso new translation that resounds with both clarity and verve.

About the Author

Simon Armitage, whose The Shoutwas a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award, has published ten volumes of poetry and has received numerous honors for his work. He lives in England.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780393334159
Author:
Armitage, Simon
Publisher:
W. W. Norton & Company
Author:
Tolkien, Christopher
Author:
Tolkien, J.R.R.
Subject:
Ancient, Classical & Medieval
Subject:
English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh
Subject:
Poetry
Subject:
Arthurian romances
Subject:
Knights and knighthood
Subject:
Classics-Medieval and Renaissance General
Subject:
Anthologies-United Kingdom Poetry
Subject:
Fantasy - Epic
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20081131
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
2 illustrations
Pages:
240
Dimensions:
8 x 6 in

Other books you might like

  1. Beowulf: A New Verse Translation
    Used Trade Paper $7.50
  2. Beowulf: An Illustrated Edition Used Trade Paper $13.50
  3. Sir Gawain and the Green Knight Used Trade Paper $8.00
  4. Don Quixote
    Used Trade Paper $9.00
  5. Gilgamesh: A New English Version Used Trade Paper $8.50
  6. Sir Gawain and the Green Knight,...
    Used Mass Market $3.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Classics » British Medieval and Renaissance
Fiction and Poetry » Classics » Medieval and Nordic
Fiction and Poetry » Classics » Medieval and Renaissance
Fiction and Poetry » Poetry » A to Z
Humanities » Literary Criticism » General

Sir Gawain and the Green Knight: A New Verse Translation New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$14.95 In Stock
Product details 240 pages W. W. Norton & Company - English 9780393334159 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Following in the tradition of Seamus Heaney's reworking of "Beowulf," Armitage, one of England's leading poets, has produced a virtuoso new translation of the 600-year-old Arthurian story with both clarity and verve.
"Synopsis" by , "Compulsively readable. ... Simon Armitage has given us an energetic, free-flowing, high-spirited version."--Edward Hirsch,
"Synopsis" by ,
The Fall of Arthur, the only venture by J.R.R. Tolkien into the legends of Arthur King of Britain, may well be regarded as his finest and most skillful achievement in the use of the Old English alliterative meter, but it depicts drama and adventure in language only Tolkien could have written. Edited by his son Christopher Tolkien, who also provides detailed commentary and notes.
"Synopsis" by , One of the earliest great stories of English literature after ?, ? is the strange tale of a green knight on a green horse, who rudely interrupts King Arthur's Round Table festivities one Yuletide, challenging the knights to a wager. Simon Armitrage, one of Britain's leading poets, has produced an inventive and groundbreaking translation that "[helps] liberate ?from academia" (?).
"Synopsis" by , "Promises to drive the green force of the old poem through the Armitage fuse and set it a-buddin' and a-bloomin' for the new millennium."'"Seamus Heaney, Nobel Laureate, best-selling translator of Beowulf

Com posed in the late fourteenth century by an anonymous author in the English provinces, this remarkable epic has enchanted readers for generations. The work itself is an unparalleled masterpiece of alliteration and rhyme, beginning at Christmastime in Camelot, when the festivities of the Round Table are interrupted by the sudden appearance of a fearful stranger, green from head to foot. A young knight, Gawain, rises to the challenge. What follows is a test of nerve and heart as Gawain travels north to meet his destiny at the Green Chapel in a year's time. Following in the tradition of Seamus Heaney, Simon Armitage, one of England's leading poets, has produced a virtuoso new translation that resounds with both clarity and verve.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.