Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    On the Table | November 9, 2014

    Tracey T.: IMG New Cookbooks for October and November: Potluck Time!



    October/November is a favorite time in our offices. These are the months when scads of cookbooks are released, a deluge of cookbooks, a tornado of... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$12.50
List price: $17.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z
2 Burnside Literature- A to Z
1 Hawthorne Literature- A to Z

Revenge of the Lawn, the Abortion, So the Wind Won't Blow It All Away

by

Revenge of the Lawn, the Abortion, So the Wind Won't Blow It All Away Cover

ISBN13: 9780395706749
ISBN10: 0395706742
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Synopsis:

Three unforgettable Brautigan masterpieces reissued in a one-volume omnibus edition.

REVENGE OF THE LAWN: Originally published in 1971, these bizarre flashes of insight and humor cover everything from "A High Building in Singapore" to the "Perfect California Day." This is Brautigan's only collection of stories and includes "The Lost Chapters of TROUT FISHING IN AMERICA."

THE ABORTION: AN HISTORICAL ROMANCE 1966: A public library in California where none of the books have ever been published is full of romantic possibilities. But when the librarian and his girlfriend must travel to Tijuana, they have a series of strange encounters in Brautigan's 1971 novel.

SO THE WIND WON'T BLOW IT ALL AWAY: It is 1979, and a man is recalling the events of his twelfth summer, when he bought bullets for his gun instead of a hamburger. Written just before his death, and published in 1982, this novel foreshadowed Brautigan's suicide.

About the Author

Richard Brautigan (1935-1984) was a god of the counterculture and the author of ten novels, nine volumes of poetry, and a collection of short stories.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

lukas, January 9, 2014 (view all comments by lukas)
Sometimes called the last of the beats, Richard Brautigan is often overshadowed by his better known contemporaries like Kerouac and Ginsberg. He's funnier and wackier than both of them. This omnibus (there are two others) brings together three of his books: "Revenge of the Lawn," his only book of short stories, and the novels "The Abortion" and "So The Wind Won't Blow It All Away," which was his last novel before his suicide. He was a master of story titles as "Lawn" demonstrates: "April in God-damn," "Crazy Old Women Are Riding the Buses of America Today," "Complicated Banking Problems." "The Abortion" begins with the very Borges-ish premise of a library of unpublished books, turns into a love story and finds its way to Tijuana. "So the Wind Won't Blow It All Away," set in the Pacific Northwest, is maybe his most straight and moving novel, about a boy who fatefully buys bullets instead of a hamburger. Fans of Tom Robbins and Ken Kesey will do doubt grok Brautigan. Groovy.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
TrG, October 29, 2013 (view all comments by TrG)
Brautigan... his stories read like directions to life, like nature upon human form, he has the ability to boil minutes down to a simple cup of coffee. That feeling you get when someone walks into the room and looks at you for no reason other than you are sitting there. That is how his stories find me, sitting there, as he walks in. Our eyes meet and for a minute several pages turn and the story ends. And you want to read it again. That is how I read Brautigan.

Many reviews have been written about the Abortion, and Vancouver WA is now lucky to call the library home, but these other two collections in this volume are important too.

Revenge of the Lawn features one of my favorite Brautigan shorts titled Pacific Radio Fire, about just that, lighting a radio on fire and sitting and listening while it slowly boils down into melted useless plastic wires while music warbles out. Many other short stories are collected in Revenge as well, giving it almost a novella feeling, well worth the time.

So The Wind Won't Blow it All Away has been credited by the scholars to be a sum up of his life and self inflicted end to his life, but I choose to read it from a different point of view. I miss this guy, this Richard Brautigan.

Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780395706749
Author:
Brautigan, Richard
Publisher:
Mariner Books
Location:
Boston :
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Short Stories (Anthologies)
Subject:
Short Stories (single author)
Subject:
Anthologies (multiple authors)
Subject:
Short stories, American
Subject:
Anthologies-General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Series Volume:
91-19
Publication Date:
February 1995
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
544
Dimensions:
8.22x5.58x1.42 in. 1.22 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Very First Shoe Book Used Trade Paper $5.95
  2. The Power of Now: A Guide to...
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  3. Spanish menu guide & translator Used Trade Paper $4.95
  4. Mrs. Chiang's Szechwan Cookbook Used Hardcover $12.50
  5. Can Somebody Shout Amen!: Inside the... New Trade Paper $40.95
  6. The Golden Book of 365 Stories A... Used Hardcover $6.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
History and Social Science » American Studies » Popular Culture

Revenge of the Lawn, the Abortion, So the Wind Won't Blow It All Away Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$12.50 In Stock
Product details 544 pages Mariner Books - English 9780395706749 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
Three unforgettable Brautigan masterpieces reissued in a one-volume omnibus edition.

REVENGE OF THE LAWN: Originally published in 1971, these bizarre flashes of insight and humor cover everything from "A High Building in Singapore" to the "Perfect California Day." This is Brautigan's only collection of stories and includes "The Lost Chapters of TROUT FISHING IN AMERICA."

THE ABORTION: AN HISTORICAL ROMANCE 1966: A public library in California where none of the books have ever been published is full of romantic possibilities. But when the librarian and his girlfriend must travel to Tijuana, they have a series of strange encounters in Brautigan's 1971 novel.

SO THE WIND WON'T BLOW IT ALL AWAY: It is 1979, and a man is recalling the events of his twelfth summer, when he bought bullets for his gun instead of a hamburger. Written just before his death, and published in 1982, this novel foreshadowed Brautigan's suicide.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.