Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    On the Table | November 9, 2014

    Tracey T.: IMG New Cookbooks for October and November: Potluck Time!



    October/November is a favorite time in our offices. These are the months when scads of cookbooks are released, a deluge of cookbooks, a tornado of... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

The Story of a Million Years

by

The Story of a Million Years Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In his first novel, David Huddle tells a delicately nuanced story of relationships between men and women that is as old as human history itself. It begins with a startling secret affair between fifteen-year-old Marcy and the husband of her mother's best friend. Years later, the emotional fallout from the affair still echoes in unexpected ways through the lives of the people closest to Marcy: her husband and the couple who have remained their friends since high school. A multilayered tale unfolds through their eyes, in which each character seeks to recapture a kernel of long-forgotten goodness. In the tradition of John Updike and John Cheever, Huddle renders these complex relationships with clarity and depth. "For grownups with brains," said Richard Bausch of Huddle's earlier work. The same is true of The Story of a Million Years, a novel written with poetry, wisdom, and a masterly sense of humanity.

Synopsis:

The acclaimed poet and story writer David Huddle weaves a masterly portrait of two couples and their shared histories, desires, and secrets. Marcy, Allen, Uta, Jimmy — each becomes the hero of his or her own story, as all mine the past for evidence of goodness.

David Huddle moves with remarkable agility from the imagination of a precocious adolescent girl, to the fears of a man in midlife, to the longings of a wife whose reserve cloaks aching depths. Each of these convincing voices asks the questions central to all our lives: What stories are so important that you'd never reveal them to another person in a million years? How do secrets come to define us, for better or for worse? Honest, accomplished, and wonderfully subtle, THE STORY OF A MILLION YEARS portrays the basic human desire to love and be loved unconditionally.

About the Author

David Huddle's fiction, essays, and poetry have appeared in Esquire, Harper's Magazine, Story, the New York Times Magazine, and The Best American Short Stories. Among his books of short fiction are Tenorman, Intimates, and Only the Little Bone. The recipient of two NEA fellowships, he teaches writing at the University of Vermont and is on the Faculty of the Board Loaf School of English. The author currently resides in Burlington, Vermont.

Table of Contents

Contents

1 Past My Future....................................................1 2 Past Perfect.....................................................22 3 A.B.C............................................................33 4 The Story of a Million Years.....................................60 5 Goodness.........................................................93 6 The Lesson......................................................107 7 Girly-Man Recapitulates.........................................124 8 Summer Afternoon................................................148 9 News............................................................170 10 Silk Dress.....................................................173

Product Details

ISBN:
9780395966051
Author:
Huddle, David
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin
Author:
Huddle, David
Location:
Boston :
Subject:
General
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
Middle aged men
Subject:
Man-woman relationships
Subject:
Adultery
Subject:
Deception
Subject:
Married people
Subject:
Teenage girls
Subject:
Mistresses
Subject:
Couples.
Subject:
Bildungsromane.
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Publication Date:
September 1999
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
208
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.63 in 0.8 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Lolita Used Trade Paper $7.95
  2. Fly Fishing Through the Midlife Crisis Used Trade Paper $1.48
  3. The Pleasing Hour Used Hardcover $5.95
  4. Pure
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  5. Crows Used Mass Market $5.95
  6. Many Circles: New & Selected Essays New Trade Paper $15.25

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

The Story of a Million Years Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 208 pages Houghton Mifflin Company - English 9780395966051 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
The acclaimed poet and story writer David Huddle weaves a masterly portrait of two couples and their shared histories, desires, and secrets. Marcy, Allen, Uta, Jimmy — each becomes the hero of his or her own story, as all mine the past for evidence of goodness.

David Huddle moves with remarkable agility from the imagination of a precocious adolescent girl, to the fears of a man in midlife, to the longings of a wife whose reserve cloaks aching depths. Each of these convincing voices asks the questions central to all our lives: What stories are so important that you'd never reveal them to another person in a million years? How do secrets come to define us, for better or for worse? Honest, accomplished, and wonderfully subtle, THE STORY OF A MILLION YEARS portrays the basic human desire to love and be loved unconditionally.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.