Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Interviews | October 28, 2014

    Jill Owens: IMG Miriam Toews: The Powells.com Interview



    Some people are compelled by a restlessness from within; others are shaped by the unwieldy forces around them. In Miriam Toews's poignant new novel... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Science Fiction and Fantasy- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

Idlewild

by

Idlewild Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From a bold new talent comes a smart, stylish near-future thriller that fuses the fierce imagination of The Matrix with the chilling social vision of Minority Report.

Set in the day after tomorrow, Idlewild opens as a young man awakes with amnesia: He cannot remember who he is and doesn't recognize anything around him-all he knows for sure is that someone is trying to kill him. Not certain whom he can trust, he becomes reacquainted with eight companions, all of whom are being trained at a strange school run by an enigmatic figure named Maestro. Working to uncover the identity of the person who has attempted to murder him, the young man quickly starts to unravel a series of truths, making it clear that much more than just his life is at stake.

Taking the best of the genre and transcending it, Sagan's cool debut will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman and Orson Scott Card, while also drawing in readers of novels such as House of Leaves by Mark Danielewski and Lullaby by Chuck Palahniuk.

Review:

"Idlewild nips along quite nicely....Sagan may have more imagination than he knows what to do with — a wonderful thing in a new author." Kirkus Reviews (Starred Review)

Review:

"The tension is palpable from the first page....In his first novel, the son of Carl Sagan captures perfectly the voice and actions of a rebellious, extremely intelligent teenager." Sally Estes, Booklist

Review:

"[P]lods through terrain all too familiar to SF readers....Sagan may not be the next Philip K. Dick or William Gibson, but he shows enough talent here to suggest he can improve on pacing in the promised sequel." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"Sagan's novel lacks...richness and depth, occasionally reading more like a drawn-out short story rather than a novel. Still, disregarding publicity hype, it is a fine debut by a writer with potential to grow..." Library Journal

Review:

"A genuine page-turner. Absolutely fun, like a roller-coaster ride of fusion fiction: starts out like Amber meets The Matrix, and as it goes on, it turns into several something elses....Gripping...the kind of book you simply don't want to stop reading." Neil Gaiman, bestselling author of American Gods

Review:

"The essential read for the Matrix generation — download now! Sagan has a ferocious imagination; I caught echoes of Gibson, Egan, Stephenson. A great read!" Stephen Baxter

Synopsis:

A young man is suddenly startled awake. He has no memory. He knows only one thing for certain: Someone is trying to kill him.

Unsure of whom to trust, he is reacquainted with eight companions-trainees of an enigmatic figure known as Maestro. As he attempts to unearth his past and outwit an unseen enemy, skills he never knew he had come into play. And it soon becomes clear that there is far more than his life at stake...

About the Author

Nick Sagan has written for Hollywood for ten years, producing numerous screenplays and television scripts. Idlewild is his first novel. The son of the late astronomer Carl Sagan, he is at work on a new novel connected to Idlewild.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780399150975
Author:
Sagan, Nick
Publisher:
Putnam Adult
Location:
New York
Subject:
General
Subject:
Science Fiction - General
Subject:
Science fiction
Subject:
Virtual Reality
Subject:
Children's Baby - Fiction - Science Fiction
Subject:
General Fiction
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback
Series Volume:
107-261
Publication Date:
August 2003
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
9.36x6.36x.99 in. 1.19 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Debt of Bones Used Book Club Hardcover $2.95
  2. Venus Prime 2 :Clarke New Trade Paper $21.95
  3. Anansi Boys
    Used Mass Market $5.50
  4. Venus Prime Volume 5 Used Trade Paper $8.50
  5. Chindi
    Used Mass Market $4.50
  6. Venus Prime Volume 1 Used Trade Paper $8.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z

Idlewild Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.95 In Stock
Product details 288 pages G. P. Putnam's Sons - English 9780399150975 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Idlewild nips along quite nicely....Sagan may have more imagination than he knows what to do with — a wonderful thing in a new author."
"Review" by , "The tension is palpable from the first page....In his first novel, the son of Carl Sagan captures perfectly the voice and actions of a rebellious, extremely intelligent teenager."
"Review" by , "[P]lods through terrain all too familiar to SF readers....Sagan may not be the next Philip K. Dick or William Gibson, but he shows enough talent here to suggest he can improve on pacing in the promised sequel."
"Review" by , "Sagan's novel lacks...richness and depth, occasionally reading more like a drawn-out short story rather than a novel. Still, disregarding publicity hype, it is a fine debut by a writer with potential to grow..."
"Review" by , "A genuine page-turner. Absolutely fun, like a roller-coaster ride of fusion fiction: starts out like Amber meets The Matrix, and as it goes on, it turns into several something elses....Gripping...the kind of book you simply don't want to stop reading."
"Review" by , "The essential read for the Matrix generation — download now! Sagan has a ferocious imagination; I caught echoes of Gibson, Egan, Stephenson. A great read!"
"Synopsis" by , A young man is suddenly startled awake. He has no memory. He knows only one thing for certain: Someone is trying to kill him.

Unsure of whom to trust, he is reacquainted with eight companions-trainees of an enigmatic figure known as Maestro. As he attempts to unearth his past and outwit an unseen enemy, skills he never knew he had come into play. And it soon becomes clear that there is far more than his life at stake...

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.