Poetry Madness
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Interviews | March 9, 2015

    Rhianna Walton: IMG Erik Larson: The Powells.com Interview



    Erik LarsonI've been a fan of Erik Larson's riveting brand of narrative history for years, and his latest book, Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania,... Continue »
    1. $19.60 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$17.99
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Burnside Children's Picture Books- General
2 Hawthorne Children's Picture Books- General
25 Local Warehouse Children's- Humor
14 Remote Warehouse Children's- Beginning Readers

More copies of this ISBN

The Incredible Book Eating Boy

by

The Incredible Book Eating Boy Cover

ISBN13: 9780399247491
ISBN10: 0399247491
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Like many children, Henry loves books. But Henry doesn't like to read books, he likes to eat them. Big books, picture books, reference books...if it has pages, Henry chews them up and swallows (but red ones are his favorite). And the more he eats, the smarter he gets — he's on his way to being the smartest boy in the world! But one day he feels sick to his stomach. And the information is so jumbled up inside, he can't digest it! Can Henry find a way to enjoy books without using his teeth?

With a stunning new artistic style and a die-cut surprise, Oliver Jeffer's celebrates the joys of reading in this charming and quirky picture book. It's almost good enough to eat.

Review:

"This story, inventively painted in mixed media on discarded bindings, book covers and tattered, yellowed pages of paper, may earn Jeffers (Lost and Found) a reputation as an incredible book-recycling artist. Jeffers introduces a boy named Henry who gobbles books, though red ones were his favorite. The information contained in each devoured tome directly enters Henry's brain, so the more he ate, the smarter he got (not unlike Susan Meddaugh's alphabet-soup-eating dog, Martha). Henry finds all content tasty — he wasn't fussy — and his knowledge exponentially increases until his excessive appetite starts giving him indigestion. After he gets sick, Henry tries reading books for a change: Henry discovered that he loved to read. And he thought that if he read enough he might still become the smartest person on Earth. It would just take a bit longer. Jeffers has created a book about books from books, in a collage style less abstract than Sara Fanellis. A whimsical die-cut in the shape of a toothy bite, taken from the lower rear corner of the final pages, further asserts the point that some habits die hard. Jeffers adeptly uses hyperbole throughout the tale so that the underlying message never feels preachy or didactic. Additionally, his beautiful handling of found materials ought to wow young artists who take a close look — though not so close as to leave tooth marks of their own. Ages 4–up." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"The cover is a pleasing shade of chocolate, and many of the pages look good enough to eat, with print, lines, and texture from the recycled book pages cropping up in unlikely places....Children will enjoy sinking their teeth into these detail-rich, delectable pictures." Booklist

Review:

"This well-done package will charm its audience. The snappy text works well for reading aloud, but older children will enjoy exploring the subtle details hidden in the illustrations and backgrounds." School Library Journal, starred review

Synopsis:

This hilarious tale of a friendship that develops over a love of books is the perfect picture book for fans of IT'S A BOOK and OFFICER BUCKLE AND GLORIA!

Everyone needs a little attention from time to time. Just ask our gorilla who will stop at nothing to be noticed by the boy with his eyes glued to the TV set. But for the gorilla, its going to take more than a quiet nudge to steal away the boys attention. When his usual antics fail to catch the boys eye—LOOK OUT! The gorilla has some other tricks up his sleeve.

 

Using only two words—LOOK and OUT—Jeff Mack relates an adorably hilarious story about an attention-loving gorilla, a television-loving boy, and a friendship that develops over books. Simple in construct yet richly creative, this interactive and colorful tale will leave children laughing and loving books for years to come.

Perfect for fans of It's a Book and Officer Buckle and Gloria. 

Praise for LOOK!:

 

"The personalities and emotions of the chunky, fluffy ape and the TV-entranced boy nearly vibrate off the page. Look, indeed! An energetic invitation to the joys of books."—Kirkus Reviews

"This is a fun read-aloud that will have children wanting to look and look again."—School Library Journal

About the Author

Oliver Jeffers (www.oliverjeffersworld.com) makes art and tells stories. His books include How to Catch a Star; Lost and Found, which was the recipient of the prestigious Nestle Childrens Book Prize Gold Award in the U.K. and was later adapted into an award-winning animated film; The Way Back Home; The Incredible Book Eating Boy; The Great Paper Caper; The Heart and the Bottle, which was made into a highly acclaimed iPad application narrated by Helena Bonham Carter; Up and Down, the New York Times bestselling Stuck; The Hueys in the New Sweater, a New York Times Best Illustrated Book of the Year; and This Moose Belongs to Me, a New York Times bestseller. Originally from Belfast, Northern Ireland, Oliver now lives and works in Brooklyn, New York.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

rdame, July 4, 2013 (view all comments by rdame)
Following the basic morale of "read books, don't eat them", this book is a fun and rhyming read. My 4-year-old son and I had a great time talking over the possibilities of whether or not knowledge could be devoured from books via eating them vs. reading them and found ourselves giggling on almost every page. In the end, we agreed with the author that though they are tasty morsels to digest, we'll stick with reading books...rather than eating them.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780399247491
Author:
Jeffers, Oliver
Publisher:
Philomel Books
Author:
Mack, Jeff
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Subject:
Books & Libraries
Subject:
Food habits
Subject:
Books
Subject:
Boys
Subject:
Children s humor
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback - picture book
Publication Date:
20070531
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from P up to K
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
32
Dimensions:
10 x 10 in 1 lb
Age Level:
03-UP

Other books you might like

  1. Olive My Love Used Hardcover $6.50
  2. The Happy Lion New Trade Paper $6.99
  3. Skippyjon Jones
    Used Pamphlet $2.50
  4. The Earth and I Used Hardcover $6.50
  5. Peach & Blue Used Trade Paper $3.50
  6. The Tin Forest Used Trade Paper $3.50

Related Subjects

Children's » Books and Libraries
Children's » Cooking and Food » General
Children's » Humor
Children's » Picture Books » A to Z
Children's » Picture Books » General
Children's » Staff Picks

The Incredible Book Eating Boy New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.99 In Stock
Product details 32 pages Philomel Books - English 9780399247491 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "This story, inventively painted in mixed media on discarded bindings, book covers and tattered, yellowed pages of paper, may earn Jeffers (Lost and Found) a reputation as an incredible book-recycling artist. Jeffers introduces a boy named Henry who gobbles books, though red ones were his favorite. The information contained in each devoured tome directly enters Henry's brain, so the more he ate, the smarter he got (not unlike Susan Meddaugh's alphabet-soup-eating dog, Martha). Henry finds all content tasty — he wasn't fussy — and his knowledge exponentially increases until his excessive appetite starts giving him indigestion. After he gets sick, Henry tries reading books for a change: Henry discovered that he loved to read. And he thought that if he read enough he might still become the smartest person on Earth. It would just take a bit longer. Jeffers has created a book about books from books, in a collage style less abstract than Sara Fanellis. A whimsical die-cut in the shape of a toothy bite, taken from the lower rear corner of the final pages, further asserts the point that some habits die hard. Jeffers adeptly uses hyperbole throughout the tale so that the underlying message never feels preachy or didactic. Additionally, his beautiful handling of found materials ought to wow young artists who take a close look — though not so close as to leave tooth marks of their own. Ages 4–up." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "The cover is a pleasing shade of chocolate, and many of the pages look good enough to eat, with print, lines, and texture from the recycled book pages cropping up in unlikely places....Children will enjoy sinking their teeth into these detail-rich, delectable pictures."
"Review" by , "This well-done package will charm its audience. The snappy text works well for reading aloud, but older children will enjoy exploring the subtle details hidden in the illustrations and backgrounds."
"Synopsis" by ,
This hilarious tale of a friendship that develops over a love of books is the perfect picture book for fans of IT'S A BOOK and OFFICER BUCKLE AND GLORIA!

Everyone needs a little attention from time to time. Just ask our gorilla who will stop at nothing to be noticed by the boy with his eyes glued to the TV set. But for the gorilla, its going to take more than a quiet nudge to steal away the boys attention. When his usual antics fail to catch the boys eye—LOOK OUT! The gorilla has some other tricks up his sleeve.

 

Using only two words—LOOK and OUT—Jeff Mack relates an adorably hilarious story about an attention-loving gorilla, a television-loving boy, and a friendship that develops over books. Simple in construct yet richly creative, this interactive and colorful tale will leave children laughing and loving books for years to come.

Perfect for fans of It's a Book and Officer Buckle and Gloria. 

Praise for LOOK!:

 

"The personalities and emotions of the chunky, fluffy ape and the TV-entranced boy nearly vibrate off the page. Look, indeed! An energetic invitation to the joys of books."—Kirkus Reviews

"This is a fun read-aloud that will have children wanting to look and look again."—School Library Journal

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.