Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 22, 2014

Nick Harkaway: IMG The Florist-Assassins



The three men lit up in my mind's eye, with footnotes. They were converging on me — and on the object I was carrying — in a way that had... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Tigerman

    Nick Harkaway 9780385352413

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$13.50
List price: $18.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General

More copies of this ISBN

Other titles in the Legend Novels series:

Champion (Legend Novels)

by

Champion (Legend Novels) Cover

ISBN13: 9780399256776
ISBN10: 0399256776
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $13.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The explosive finale to Marie Lu's New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy — perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!

He is a Legend.

She is a Prodigy.

Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic — and each other — and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the governments elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republics border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country's defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has. With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu's bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.

Review:

"The conclusion to Lu's Legend trilogy opens on a stage set for personal resolution, maybe even a happy ending. With the political transition established and the Patriots quiet, June and Day appear to have the opportunity to close their romantic distance. But there are lessons neither has learned about how much power to grant the past, and it's easier to focus on the virtues of separation. That is, until geopolitical reality comes roaring back to complicate every bond and every choice. Moments of technical awkwardness, rare in Lu's work, do crop up, such as a lengthy spoken confession by June's old colleague Thomas ('A blade of guilt twisted painfully in my chest, but it was too late to turn back'). The story, however, remains masterfully true to its themes of loyalty, necessity, and dreams, eschewing any easy outs that the plot could offer. A happy-ever-after glow was never in the cards for these two, but Lu displays a hint of Charlotte Bronté in the resolution her characters find. Ages 12 – up. Agent: Kristin Nelson, Nelson Literary Agency." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Review:

“This exhilarating finale to the dystopian Legend trilogy delivers on the promises of the genre without ever being predictable about details. Ever respectful of the capacity of its readers, this series offers a satisfying conclusion of potential rather than a neatly wrapped denouement.” Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

About the Author

New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu (www.marielu.org) graduated from the University of Southern California and jumped into the video game industry, working for Disney Interactive Studios as a Flash artist. Now a full-time writer, she spends her spare time reading, drawing, playing Assassins Creed, and getting stuck in traffic. She lives in Los Angeles, California (see above: traffic), with one boyfriend, one Chihuahua mix, and two Pembroke Welsh corgis.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

BookListOfBooks, February 22, 2014 (view all comments by BookListOfBooks)
This book was absolutely brilliant! It provided a perfect conclusion to the series. There were some sad bits, but that's to be expected. It isn't a tear-jerking as other series concluders I have read. The ending of this book doesn't compare to anything else that I've read before. It was perfect!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780399256776
Author:
Lu, Marie
Publisher:
Putnam Juvenile
Subject:
Love & Romance
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Children s-Adventure Stories
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Legend
Series Volume:
3
Publication Date:
20131105
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 12

Other books you might like

  1. Hard Luck (Diary of a Wimpy Kid #8)
    Used Hardcover $8.00
  2. The Royal Ranger (Ranger's...
    New Hardcover $18.99

Related Subjects

Children's » Featured Titles
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Young Adult » Featured Titles
Young Adult » General

Champion (Legend Novels) Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$13.50 In Stock
Product details 384 pages Putnam Juvenile - English 9780399256776 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "The conclusion to Lu's Legend trilogy opens on a stage set for personal resolution, maybe even a happy ending. With the political transition established and the Patriots quiet, June and Day appear to have the opportunity to close their romantic distance. But there are lessons neither has learned about how much power to grant the past, and it's easier to focus on the virtues of separation. That is, until geopolitical reality comes roaring back to complicate every bond and every choice. Moments of technical awkwardness, rare in Lu's work, do crop up, such as a lengthy spoken confession by June's old colleague Thomas ('A blade of guilt twisted painfully in my chest, but it was too late to turn back'). The story, however, remains masterfully true to its themes of loyalty, necessity, and dreams, eschewing any easy outs that the plot could offer. A happy-ever-after glow was never in the cards for these two, but Lu displays a hint of Charlotte Bronté in the resolution her characters find. Ages 12 – up. Agent: Kristin Nelson, Nelson Literary Agency." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Review" by , “This exhilarating finale to the dystopian Legend trilogy delivers on the promises of the genre without ever being predictable about details. Ever respectful of the capacity of its readers, this series offers a satisfying conclusion of potential rather than a neatly wrapped denouement.”
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.