Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | March 17, 2014

Shawn Donley: IMG Peter Stark: The Powells.com Interview



Peter StarkIt's hard to believe that 200 years ago, the Pacific Northwest was one of the most remote and isolated regions in the world. In 1810, four years... Continue »
  1. $19.59 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$11.50
List price: $17.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Children's Picture Books- A to Z

The Artist Who Painted a Blue Horse

by

The Artist Who Painted a Blue Horse Cover

ISBN13: 9780399257131
ISBN10: 0399257136
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: None
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $11.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A brilliant new Eric Carle picture book for the artist in us all.

Every child has an artist inside them, and this vibrant picture book from Eric Carle will help let it out. The artist in this book paints the world as he sees it, just like a child. There's a red crocodile, an orange elephant, a purple fox and a polka-dotted donkey. More than anything, there's imagination. Filled with some of the most magnificently colorful animals of Eric Carle's career, this tribute to the creative life celebrates the power of art.

Review:

"The Blaue Reiter painter Franz Marc had his art banned by the Nazis, after he died at 36 in WWI. In his first book in more than four years, Carle does not tell Marc's story; he simply assumes his persona. 'I am an artist,' a mop-headed man says, 'and I paint... 'a blue horse and... a red crocodile and...' and the series continues, each animal dominating its spread. While Carle's creatures are constructed from his familiar, brilliantly colored painted-paper shapes, it is the strength and sinew of their forms that impresses — not coincidentally, the quality that distinguishes Marc's originals (two are reprinted on the final pages). As the book progresses, the colors of the animals stray farther and farther from reality (there's a purple fox and a polka-dot donkey), all but daring readers to think outside the box. 'I am a good artist,' the man declares in closing, expressing the satisfaction that comes from using one's creative powers to the fullest. An homage to Marc becomes testimony to Carle's gifts, too. A short afterword about Marc's life is included. Ages 3 – 5." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

From the creator of The Very Hungry Caterpillar comes a brilliant new Eric Carle board book for the artist in us all.

Every child has an artist inside them, and this vibrant picture book from Eric Carle will help let it out. The artist in this book paints the world as he sees it, just like a child. There's a red crocodile, an orange elephant, a purple fox and a polka-dotted donkey. More than anything, there's imagination. Filled with some of the most magnificently colorful animals of Eric Carle's career, this new board book edition is a tribute to the creative life and celebrates the power of art.

Praise for The Artist Who Painted A Blue Horse 

* "A testimony to Carle's gifts..." — Publishers Weekly, starred review

* "Simple and splendid." — Booklist, starred review

"Another masterpiece from a master artist." — School Library Journal

 

Synopsis:

From the creator of The Very Hungry Caterpillar comes a brilliant new Eric Carle board book for the artist in us all.

Every child has an artist inside them, and this vibrant picture book from Eric Carle will help let it out. The artist in this book paints the world as he sees it, just like a child. There's a red crocodile, an orange elephant, a purple fox and a polka-dotted donkey. More than anything, there's imagination. Filled with some of the most magnificently colorful animals of Eric Carle's career, this new board book edition is a tribute to the creative life and celebrates the power of art. Perfect for fans of La Oruga Muy Hambrienta, or for any emerging readers of Spanish.

Praise for The Artist Who Painted A Blue Horse 

* "A testimony to Carle's gifts..." — Publishers Weekly, starred review

* "Simple and splendid." — Booklist, starred review

"Another masterpiece from a master artist." — School Library Journal

 

About the Author

Eric Carle (www.eric-carle.com) divides his time between the Florida Keys and the hills of North Carolina. Visit the Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art (www.carlemuseum.org) in Amherst, Massachusetts.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780399257131
Author:
Carle, Eric
Publisher:
Philomel Books
Subject:
Art/Architecture
Subject:
Children s Animals-Animal Stories-General
Subject:
Children s Art-General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Board book
Publication Date:
20111031
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from P up to K
Language:
English
Pages:
22
Dimensions:
7 x 5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 3 up to 5

Other books you might like

  1. Old Bear and His Cub
  2. Butterfly Tree Sale Hardcover $4.50
  3. Frogs! (National Geographic Readers) Used Trade Paper $2.95
  4. Out from Boneville (Bone #1)
    Used Trade Paper $6.50
  5. Marcel Marceau: Master of Mime New Trade Paper $7.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Art » General
Children's » New Arrivals
Children's » Picture Books » A to Z
Children's » Picture Books » General
Children's » Sale Books

The Artist Who Painted a Blue Horse Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$11.50 In Stock
Product details 22 pages Philomel Books - English 9780399257131 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "The Blaue Reiter painter Franz Marc had his art banned by the Nazis, after he died at 36 in WWI. In his first book in more than four years, Carle does not tell Marc's story; he simply assumes his persona. 'I am an artist,' a mop-headed man says, 'and I paint... 'a blue horse and... a red crocodile and...' and the series continues, each animal dominating its spread. While Carle's creatures are constructed from his familiar, brilliantly colored painted-paper shapes, it is the strength and sinew of their forms that impresses — not coincidentally, the quality that distinguishes Marc's originals (two are reprinted on the final pages). As the book progresses, the colors of the animals stray farther and farther from reality (there's a purple fox and a polka-dot donkey), all but daring readers to think outside the box. 'I am a good artist,' the man declares in closing, expressing the satisfaction that comes from using one's creative powers to the fullest. An homage to Marc becomes testimony to Carle's gifts, too. A short afterword about Marc's life is included. Ages 3 – 5." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,
From the creator of The Very Hungry Caterpillar comes a brilliant new Eric Carle board book for the artist in us all.

Every child has an artist inside them, and this vibrant picture book from Eric Carle will help let it out. The artist in this book paints the world as he sees it, just like a child. There's a red crocodile, an orange elephant, a purple fox and a polka-dotted donkey. More than anything, there's imagination. Filled with some of the most magnificently colorful animals of Eric Carle's career, this new board book edition is a tribute to the creative life and celebrates the power of art.

Praise for The Artist Who Painted A Blue Horse 

* "A testimony to Carle's gifts..." — Publishers Weekly, starred review

* "Simple and splendid." — Booklist, starred review

"Another masterpiece from a master artist." — School Library Journal

 

"Synopsis" by ,
From the creator of The Very Hungry Caterpillar comes a brilliant new Eric Carle board book for the artist in us all.

Every child has an artist inside them, and this vibrant picture book from Eric Carle will help let it out. The artist in this book paints the world as he sees it, just like a child. There's a red crocodile, an orange elephant, a purple fox and a polka-dotted donkey. More than anything, there's imagination. Filled with some of the most magnificently colorful animals of Eric Carle's career, this new board book edition is a tribute to the creative life and celebrates the power of art. Perfect for fans of La Oruga Muy Hambrienta, or for any emerging readers of Spanish.

Praise for The Artist Who Painted A Blue Horse 

* "A testimony to Carle's gifts..." — Publishers Weekly, starred review

* "Simple and splendid." — Booklist, starred review

"Another masterpiece from a master artist." — School Library Journal

 

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.