Mega Dose
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.50
List price: $16.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Hawthorne Mystery- A to Z

Other titles in the Quinn Colson Novel series:

The Lost Ones

by

The Lost Ones Cover

ISBN13: 9780425258644
ISBN10: 0425258645
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $10.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Fans of Justified and James Lee Burke will love Mississippi lawman Quinn Colson in this Edgar(R) Award Nominee for Best Novel from the author of The Ranger...

When Army Ranger Quinn Colson, the new sheriff of Tibbehah County, is called out to investigate a child abuse case, what he finds is a horrifying scene of neglect, thirteen empty cribs, and a shoe box full of money. Janet and Ramon Torres seem to have skipped town—but Colsons sure theyll come back for the cash.

 
Meanwhile, Colsons sister has returned—clean and sober for good, she says. His friend Boom has been drinking himself into oblivion and picking fights at the local bar. And his old flame is pregnant. But Colson cant focus on his personal problems. He and Deputy Lillie Virgil are convinced that Janet and Ramon have a taste for guns, drugs, and human trafficking. Soon Colson and Virgil find a link between the fugitive couple and a drug cartel that controls most of the Texas border, taking their investigation far beyond the rough hills of northeast Mississippi…

Synopsis:

?Mesmerizing?a tour de force from one of the best crime writers at work today.??Michael Connelly

White Shadow is a ?stunning? (Lee Child) noir thriller based on real-life events.

1955: Tampa, Florida is a city pulsing with Sicilian and Cuban gangsters, cigar factories, sweet rum, and violence. The death of retired kingpin Charlie Wall? the White Shadow?has shocked the city, sending cops, reporters, and associates scrambling to find those responsible. As the trail winds through neighborhoods rich and poor, enmeshing the innocent and corrupt alike all the way down to the streets and casinos of Havana, an extraordinary story of revenge, honor, and greed emerges. For Charlie Wall had his secrets?secrets that if discovered could destroy a criminal empire and ignite a revolution.

Synopsis:

"Compelling...[Atkins] captures the imminent end of the gangster heyday."

-Booklist

In July 1933, the gangster known as George "Machine Gun" Kelly staged the kidnapping-forransom of an Oklahoma oilman. He would live to regret it.

Once again Ace Atkins transforms real-life events into riveting, thrilling fiction. Infamous is a passionate blend of historical novel and crime story-set in the first days of the modern FBI, featuring an unexpected hero, some of the most colorful supporting characters in recent crime fiction, and the unforgettable Kathryn Kelly (George Kelly's wife), the Lady Macbeth of Depression-era crime.

About the Author

Ace Atkins is the author of White Shadow, Wicked City, Devil's Garden, and four Nick Travers novels. He lives on a farm outside Oxford, Mississippi.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

11bst, August 5, 2012 (view all comments by 11bst)
Although I was not certain I would enjoy a good old southern boy war hero book, I do tend to trust Powell's Staff picks and Atkin's first in this series, The Ranger, was recommended, so I gave it a try. It was a great read and I eagerly awaited another in the series. The second in this series, The Lost Ones, definitely did not disappoint. The characters are flawed humans you find yourself caring about, the pace is fast enough to keep you interested, and there's just enough humor to entertain.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780425258644
Author:
Atkins, Ace
Publisher:
Berkley Publishing Group
Subject:
Thrillers
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Popular Fiction - Adventure
Subject:
Popular Fiction-Contemporary Thrillers
Subject:
Mingo County
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Series:
A Quinn Colson Novel
Series Volume:
2
Publication Date:
20121231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
8.24 x 5.55 x 1 in 0.68 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Tamarack County
    New Trade Paper $16.00
  2. Trickster's Point New Trade Paper $16.00
  3. Brandon's Bride (Family Secrets Novels)
    Used Mass Market $5.50
  4. The Book of Questions: Revised and... Used Trade Paper $6.50
  5. Love Does: Discover a Secretly...
    Used Trade Paper $9.00
  6. The Goodbye Quilt Used Trade Paper $5.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Adventure
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Crime
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Suspense

The Lost Ones Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.50 In Stock
Product details 368 pages Berkley Publishing Group - English 9780425258644 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
?Mesmerizing?a tour de force from one of the best crime writers at work today.??Michael Connelly

White Shadow is a ?stunning? (Lee Child) noir thriller based on real-life events.

1955: Tampa, Florida is a city pulsing with Sicilian and Cuban gangsters, cigar factories, sweet rum, and violence. The death of retired kingpin Charlie Wall? the White Shadow?has shocked the city, sending cops, reporters, and associates scrambling to find those responsible. As the trail winds through neighborhoods rich and poor, enmeshing the innocent and corrupt alike all the way down to the streets and casinos of Havana, an extraordinary story of revenge, honor, and greed emerges. For Charlie Wall had his secrets?secrets that if discovered could destroy a criminal empire and ignite a revolution.

"Synopsis" by ,
"Compelling...[Atkins] captures the imminent end of the gangster heyday."

-Booklist

In July 1933, the gangster known as George "Machine Gun" Kelly staged the kidnapping-forransom of an Oklahoma oilman. He would live to regret it.

Once again Ace Atkins transforms real-life events into riveting, thrilling fiction. Infamous is a passionate blend of historical novel and crime story-set in the first days of the modern FBI, featuring an unexpected hero, some of the most colorful supporting characters in recent crime fiction, and the unforgettable Kathryn Kelly (George Kelly's wife), the Lady Macbeth of Depression-era crime.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.