Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | February 27, 2014

Rene Denfeld: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Rene Denfeld



Describe your latest book. The Enchanted is a story narrated by a man on death row. The novel was inspired by my work as a death penalty... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Enchanted

    Rene Denfeld 9780062285508

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
18 Remote Warehouse Science Reference- General
7 Remote Warehouse Science Reference- General

What Einstein Told His Barber: More Scientific Answers to Everyday Questions

by

What Einstein Told His Barber: More Scientific Answers to Everyday Questions Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

What makes ice cubes cloudy? How do shark attacks make airplanes safer? Can a person traveling in a car at the speed of sound still hear the radio? Moreover, would they want to...?

Do you often find yourself pondering life's little conundrums? Have you ever wondered why the ocean is blue? Or why birds don't get electrocuted when perching on high-voltage power lines? Robert L. Wolke, professor emeritus of chemistry at the University of Pittsburgh and acclaimed author of What Einstein Didn't Know, understands the need to...well, understand. Now he provides more amusing explanations of such everyday phenomena as gravity (If you're in a falling elevator, will jumping at the last instant save your life?) and acoustics (Why does a whip make such a loud cracking noise?), along with amazing facts, belly-up-to-the-bar bets, and mind-blowing reality bites all with his trademark wit and wisdom.

If you shoot a bullet into the air, can it kill somebody when it comes down?

You can find out about all this and more in an astonishing compendium of the proverbial mind-boggling mysteries of the physical world we inhabit.

Arranged in a question-and-answer format and grouped by subject for browsing ease, WHAT EINSTEIN TOLD HIS BARBER is for anyone who ever pondered such things as why colors fade in sunlight, what happens to the rubber from worn-out tires, what makes red-hot objects glow red, and other scientific curiosities. Perfect for fans of Newton's Apple, Jeopardy!, and The Discovery Channel, WHAT EINSTEIN TOLD HIS BARBER also includes a glossary of important scientific buzz words and a comprehensive index. -->

Book News Annotation:

Written in a humorous style, this book addresses such questions as "what really keeps and airplane up?" and "why do wet things look darker?" Wolke (chemistry, U. of Pittsburgh) provides simple explanations to complex phenomena like gravity and acoustics, as well as simple experiments to do at home that prove his points.
Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

About the Author

Robert L. Wolke is professor emeritus of chemistry at the University of Pittsburgh and researcher in both chemistry and physics. As an educator and lecturer, he enjoys a national reputation for his ability to make science understandable and enjoyable. He is the author of What Einstein Didn't Know: Scientific Answers to Everyday Questions; Impact: Science on Society; and Chemistry Explained, as well as dozens of scientific research papers. His bi-weekly column, "Food 101," in which he answers scientific questions about food, appears in The Washington Post. He lives in Pittsburgh.

Table of Contents

  1. Movin' and shakin' --Looky here
  2. Hot stuff
  3. Earth beneath our feet
  4. Heavens above
  5. All wet
  6. Stuff and things.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780440508793
Author:
Wolke, Robert L.
Publisher:
Dell Publishing Company
Author:
Wolke, Robert
Location:
New York :
Subject:
General
Subject:
Science
Subject:
Miscellanea
Subject:
Questions and answers
Subject:
General Humor
Subject:
Science Reference-General
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series Volume:
106-299
Publication Date:
20000331
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
8.32x4.99x.78 in. .55 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. The Science of Cooking New Trade Paper $77.50
  2. The Art of War (Shambhala Pocket... Sale Trade Paper $3.98
  3. Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of...
    Used Trade Paper $0.50
  4. The Butterball turkey cookbook Used Hardcover $1.00
  5. Setting Limits with Your...
    Used Trade Paper $8.95

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Humor » General
Reference » Science Reference » General
Reference » Science Reference » Philosophy of Science

What Einstein Told His Barber: More Scientific Answers to Everyday Questions New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.00 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Dell Publishing Company - English 9780440508793 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.