25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 8, 2014

Peter Mendelsund: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Water Music by Peter Mendelsund



We "see" when we read, and we "see" when we listen. There are many ways in which music can create the cross-sensory experience of this seeing...... Continue »
  1. $11.87 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.50
List price: $7.99
Used Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton SF- S

Halting State

by

Halting State Cover

ISBN13: 9780441016075
ISBN10: 0441016073
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $4.50!

 

Awards

2008 Hugo Award nominee — Best Novel
2008 Locus Award nominee

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Now in paperback — from the author of Saturn's Children.

In the year 2018, a daring bank robbery has taken place at Hayek Associates. The suspects are a band of marauding orcs, with a dragon in tow for fire support, and the bank is located within the virtual reality land of Avalon Four. But Sergeant Sue Smith discovers that this virtual world robbery may be linked to some real world devastation.

Review:

"This brilliantly conceived techno-crime thriller spreads a black humor frosting over the grim prospect of the year 2012, when China, India and the European System are struggling for world economic domination in an infowar, and the U.S. faces bankruptcy over its failing infrastructure. Sgt. Sue Smith of Edinburgh's finest, London insurance accountant Elaine Barnaby and hapless secret-ridden programmer Jack Reed peel back layer after layer of a scheme to siphon vast assets from Hayek Associates, a firm whose tentacles spread into international economies. The theft is routed through Avalon Four, a virtual reality world complete with supposedly robbery-proof banks. As an electronic intelligence agency trains innocent gamers to do its dirty work, Elaine sets Jack to catch the poacher. Hugo-winner Stross (Glasshouse) creates a deeply immersive story, writing all three perspectives in the authoritative second-person style of video game instructions and gleefully spiking the intrigue with virtual Orcs, dragons and swordplay. The effortless transformation of todays technological frustrations into tomorrows nightmare realities is all too real for comfort." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"[A] fast-paced, skillfully constructed computational mirror-maze." Kirkus Reviews (Starred Review)

Review:

"This is his tightest-plotted novel to date, a detective story with a million perfectly meshed moving parts, and a hundred magnificent surprises that had me gasping and shouting YES (to the general alarm of the guy in the next seat on my airplane)....[A] book that will change the way you see the way the world works." Cory Doctorow, BoingBoing

Review:

"Stross again displays his genius for envisioning a complex future society that appears all-too-inevitable." Booklist

Review:

"[A]nother winner for Charles Stross, a writer who has more than ably grabbed the high-tech baton from last century's forebears...and is still running laps with it, without any sign of tiring." SFReviews.net

Review:

"Hugo Award winner Stross's fast-paced sf techno-thriller shows promise as a series opener and belongs in most libraries." Library Journal

Synopsis:

In the year 2018, Sergeant Sue Smith of the Edinburgh constabulary is called in on a special case. A daring bank robbery has taken place at Hayek Associates, a dot-com startup company that's just been floated on the London stock exchange. The suspects are a band of marauding orcs, with a dragon in tow for fire support, and the bank is located within the virtual reality land of Avalon Four. For Smith, the investigation seems pointless. But she soon realizes that the virtual world may have a devastating effect in the real one — and that someone is about to launch an attack upon both...

About the Author

Charles Stross is a full-time writer who was born in Leeds, England in 1964. He studied in London and Bradford, gaining degrees in pharmacy and computer science, and has worked in a variety of jobs, including pharmacist, technical author, software engineer, and freelance journalist.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Yonathan, April 29, 2009 (view all comments by Yonathan)
I encountered to this book in the course of an hour-long hunt through cross-references ("people who bought this book also bought..."), best-seller lists, etc. looking for something new and good in the vein of William Gibson, Neal Stephenson, etc. - a work by an author who really gets how the present works and the near future is likely to work, and can be truly, literarily creative with it. I ordered it expecting something decent, and found that I had received a real gem. Not only is the tech background super-solid (it helps if you're a sysadmin, but if not, no worries), but the writing is great - the dialog and internal monologues are as sardonic and humorous as, say, Elmore Leonard, Carl Hiaason, or John Sandford. Finally, dear God, it's set in Scotland and reads like Ian Rankin tartan noir. What's not to like?
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(15 of 28 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780441016075
Author:
Stross, Charles
Publisher:
Ace Books
Subject:
Science Fiction - High Tech
Subject:
Science / General
Subject:
Virtual Reality
Subject:
Computer games
Subject:
Science fiction
Subject:
Edinburgh (scotland)
Subject:
Science Fiction and Fantasy-High Tech
Copyright:
Edition Number:
Reprint ed.
Edition Description:
MM Picture Book
Series:
Ace Science Fiction
Publication Date:
July 2008
Binding:
MASS MARKET
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
6.74x4.18x.90 in. .36 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Mainspring Used Mass Market $3.95
  2. The Space Opera Renaissance
    Used Trade Paper $13.00
  3. The New Weird
  4. Steampunk Used Trade Paper $7.50
  5. Merchant Princes #01: The Family Trade
    Used Mass Market $4.50
  6. Extraordinary Engines: The... Used Mass Market $5.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Adventure

Halting State Used Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.50 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Ace Books - English 9780441016075 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "This brilliantly conceived techno-crime thriller spreads a black humor frosting over the grim prospect of the year 2012, when China, India and the European System are struggling for world economic domination in an infowar, and the U.S. faces bankruptcy over its failing infrastructure. Sgt. Sue Smith of Edinburgh's finest, London insurance accountant Elaine Barnaby and hapless secret-ridden programmer Jack Reed peel back layer after layer of a scheme to siphon vast assets from Hayek Associates, a firm whose tentacles spread into international economies. The theft is routed through Avalon Four, a virtual reality world complete with supposedly robbery-proof banks. As an electronic intelligence agency trains innocent gamers to do its dirty work, Elaine sets Jack to catch the poacher. Hugo-winner Stross (Glasshouse) creates a deeply immersive story, writing all three perspectives in the authoritative second-person style of video game instructions and gleefully spiking the intrigue with virtual Orcs, dragons and swordplay. The effortless transformation of todays technological frustrations into tomorrows nightmare realities is all too real for comfort." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "[A] fast-paced, skillfully constructed computational mirror-maze."
"Review" by , "This is his tightest-plotted novel to date, a detective story with a million perfectly meshed moving parts, and a hundred magnificent surprises that had me gasping and shouting YES (to the general alarm of the guy in the next seat on my airplane)....[A] book that will change the way you see the way the world works."
"Review" by , "Stross again displays his genius for envisioning a complex future society that appears all-too-inevitable."
"Review" by , "[A]nother winner for Charles Stross, a writer who has more than ably grabbed the high-tech baton from last century's forebears...and is still running laps with it, without any sign of tiring."
"Review" by , "Hugo Award winner Stross's fast-paced sf techno-thriller shows promise as a series opener and belongs in most libraries."
"Synopsis" by , In the year 2018, Sergeant Sue Smith of the Edinburgh constabulary is called in on a special case. A daring bank robbery has taken place at Hayek Associates, a dot-com startup company that's just been floated on the London stock exchange. The suspects are a band of marauding orcs, with a dragon in tow for fire support, and the bank is located within the virtual reality land of Avalon Four. For Smith, the investigation seems pointless. But she soon realizes that the virtual world may have a devastating effect in the real one — and that someone is about to launch an attack upon both...
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.